Skip to content

One Pure Thought.

August 24, 2009

Ted “Road Runner” vs. Michelle “Wile E. Coyote” Showdown!

Mr. Ted “Road Runner” has hit the 100 mile mark.  He is currently at 107 miles for the month of August.  Big props to grasshopper!!!  I should hit my 100 miles today so I am excited about that!!

EDIT:  Michelle “Wile E. Coyote”  has hit 100 miles for the month of August today with her 5 mile run this morning and is planning on going over 100 miles for the month!!

Just a note about Ted.  He is one of my best running/friends.  He is consistently there for me with motivation and he makes me laugh.  Nuff said.

IMG00034

Yikes.  First let me say that running is my first love.  I will always put running in the #1 position but I have been thinking a lot about cycling.  I have also been thinking a lot about purchasing a new bike.  The kind of bike I want costs just a bit too much right now for my budget, so I had the brilliant idea of taking my old Mongoose mountain bike to my bike shop to be resurrected and brought back to the land of the living.  Would you believe that after a long hiatus all it needed was brand new tires and some fine tuning?  The guy even said the bike is a “classic” whatever that means.

I have to say, I am really digging riding my bike.  When I run I find I am really concentrating and I don’t really see the world going on around me.  When I bike the world is all there and it’s as if I am watching a really cool TV show all around me.

Here is what I wrote on Daily Mile:

I was itching to take my bike out again. It was just a leisurely ride all over my “hood”. Started up on the boardwalk, but it was kind of crowded. I saw an older russian gentleman on his bike and I thought he was wearing a black sweater. Except, it wasn’t a sweater, he was just really hairy and was actually shirtless. Off the boards, through Sheepshead Bay, over the little bridge where I had my one and only mishap. I almost fell but somehow grabbed the side of the bridge and only the bike went down. It was fun. Looking forward to more rides and further distances.

Wow, I am slow.

It’s a lot of fun to ride around my hood.  I do have to get used to riding where there are cars though.  I am kinda frightened about that but I won’t let that stop me.   I will ride about 15 miles and ramp it up to 20 and then continuously add mileage all the while running daily.

I have been a bit discouraged lately about how my running is going.  Frustrating to say the least.  My darn broken toe seems to be the culprit.  Well, not the toe but looking back, I realize that I lost my speed when I broke my toe.  I am really looking for my speed to come back to me, so this coming Wednesday evening I will join the Nike Pacers speed workouts and going forward I will attend this workout once a week.

I also truly think that once the weather becomes more fall like and crisp I will automatically run faster.

I have a 10K on the horizon.  The Human Race 10K which is being run in my own backyard.  Prospect Park.   I am really looking forward to this race being it is in October and only 3 days before my birthday.  I really want to run a fast race.  And guess what??

On October 24, runners from all over the world will take part in a global 10K. Want to join them?

The Human Race 2009 is a virtual event – no need to get to a venue – you can run your 10K any where, any time on race day.

So, my running buddies, you can all run the Human Race on October 24th.

I am currently running in these:

47e46da0d11cd25de52455a37d3429ea

Brooks Defyance

And these:

875c2b744e87c46cb1314e851da20304

Brooks ST4’s

Now thinking of trying these:

fcca0893842852058f33a68e7ffe5690

Brooks Ravenna

Yes, I am a Brooks girl.  I will be writing up a review on the Defyance and ST4’s in my next post.  Also, thank you to Frayed Laces for her help with the kicks.

I am also doing the 100 Push Up Challenge, the 200 Sit up Challenge and the 200 Squats Challenge. Plus planks, because lets face it, a girl needs to plank.

So running:

I have been running pretty consistently since the NYC Half Marathon and other than a bit of quad pain I am feeling really good.  The humidity has really been horrible lately and makes me drag my ass along on these runs.  I am still loving running though.  I usually hit around 5 miles daily.  Some days consistent pace, some days all over the place.  Drives me bonkers but I am ok with that.  For now!

IMG00035

The quaint seaside village otherwise known as Sheepshead Bay – Brooklyn.  This was the view of part of my bike ride.  Pretty awesome huh?

The Truth Is That Running Hurts “Unknown”

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 10:35 am

    Busy, busy, busy! Don’t you ever stop?

    Keep up the great work, but don’t do too much!

    I think everyone is looking forward to the cooler Fall weather, so you’re not alone there. At least the Russian guy has his sweater ready….

    Thanks for mentioning the push-ups, sit-ups and squats challenges. Tremendous dedication!

    Have a great week,

    –Steve

  2. August 24, 2009 11:36 am

    get back on that bike! everything old is new again. i used an old mountain bike for a long time. But a road bike makes all the difference in the world. the gears are different, and having the harder tires makes the world seem faster.

  3. August 24, 2009 11:47 am

    May your tires stay inflated as you explore the world by bike!!

    Sometimes I get discouraged about my speed (or lack thereof), but other times I realize that going slower mean more time to enjoy the scenery!!

  4. August 24, 2009 12:41 pm

    Great, and I second you comments about Roadrunner Ted. In addition to being a great running motivator, he’s also the most supportive blog reader I know. The two of you deserve “best motivator” medals for sure!

  5. August 24, 2009 1:02 pm

    Enjoy the bike!!

  6. August 24, 2009 1:44 pm

    I have never heard of the human race, thanks for talking about it. I think I will give it a try. Good luck with bike…I am scared too of riding with cars. Maybe one day I will give it a try!

  7. August 24, 2009 2:08 pm

    I cant believe you ride and bike in the same day! Thats awesome! I have the same bike from when i was 12! LOL I should invest in a new one but i think i’m gonna wait until i have a big girl job and my own house n stuff. I dont have extra time for biking right now, but would LOVE to do a biathalon some day!

    Sounds like your quite the rockstar with both! Keep up the great work and congrats on 100 running miles this month! WOOT! :)

  8. August 24, 2009 4:03 pm

    bike riding, and swimming for that matter, will make you a better runner. I don’t know about these challenges though. Too much like torture ;-)

  9. August 24, 2009 11:15 pm

    Hey sista… Thanks for the shout out! You rock dudette. I am tickled that you are now riding your bike. Move over Lance Armstrong… here comes Michelle, the one who gonna tear up Brooklyn in half with her bike.

    Now do I smell a triathlon here ???

    (((((hugs))))))

  10. August 24, 2009 11:56 pm

    boy are you busy and active! running, biking, the challenges… wile e coyote for sure :) congrats on hitting 100 miles for the year, keep racking them up. the bike will be a great way to get in some more exercise while you try to get your toe back to 100%!

  11. michelle permalink*
    August 25, 2009 12:22 am

    Thanks Lindsay! Actually its 100 miles for the month of August. It would be sad if I only ran 100 miles in 8 months huh? Thanks for the nice comment!!

  12. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 25, 2009 12:24 am

    Thanks Lindsay! Actually its 100 miles for the month of August. It would be sad if I only ran 100 miles in 8 months!!!! Thank you for the nice comment!!!

  13. August 26, 2009 2:26 am

    This post was great!

    So, first 100 miles – AWESOME.

    You know, I’ve been thinking about a bike too. I’m not sure what it is about the season, but I am jealous that you had a ‘classic’ at home that you could just fix up. The bike I want is a bit too expensive too.

    No worries about losing your running mojo. Keep plugging away. You really banged your foot up and it is going to take some time. BUT, the bike will certainly help that. (I agree with Ted…. Tri it up! :)

  14. August 26, 2009 12:53 pm

    By the way, picked up my own Brooks Ravenna on Monday. Ran in them last night for the first time. Very nice! First time I’ve ever used Brooks…

    Have fun at Nike Speed, and, the weather is starting to turn. Supposed to be really nice Thurs and Fri and I think we can say goodbye to the 80’s!

    Awesome that you are bike riding now. It is a lot of fun, especially now when it is warm out. Not so fun from Oct – March.

  15. August 26, 2009 11:22 pm

    Congrats on hitting 100 miles for the month.

  16. August 26, 2009 11:32 pm

    Congrats on hitting 100 in August – Awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

