Skip to content

Runnin’ Down The Drain

October 16, 2009

calvin-and-hobbes

Yep, that is how I am feeling these days.  The dreams I’ve had have been perilously teetering on the brink of reality.  And then to think I can run down that dream, what the fuck?

All I do is try to run down and catch up.  I am given a few months of glorious running and then it is snatched away, like Hobbs telling Calvin that he is not real.  Or did he?  I don’t remember.

“Some days even my lucky rocketship underpants won’t help.”  And, believe me I wear those lucky rocketship underpants a lot.  Mostly when I run.  Get the picture.

So, no whining from me.  Just the facts ma’am.  The left hamstring is taking a bit longer to heal than I had hoped for.  I ran today and loved/hated every second of it.  SLOW run.  Just a 2 miler.  No need to push now.  Just need to be out there and moving.  I can’t let my legs get used to, you know ~ not moving.  That won’t do.  Plus, I’ve been cycling.  In the last 4 days I have ridden a total of 68 miles.  I really dig cycling a lot.  And I know I can be really good at it, except for the very small fact that my bike is just not meant for speed.  And I am.  Meant for speed, that is.

I adore the feeling of moving fast.  On a bike and most especially when running.  It is not really a feeling I can put into words, so I won’t even try.

So, WHO SAYS?

Who says I can’t get stoned
Turn off the lights and the telephone
Me in my house alone
Who says I can’t get stoned

Who says I can’t be free
From all of the things that I used to be
Rewrite my history
Who says I can’t be free

It’s been a long night in New York City
It’s been a long night in Baton Rouge
I don’t remember you looking any better
But then again I don’t remember you

Who says I can’t get stoned
Call up a girl that I used to know
Fake love for an hour or so
Who says I can’t get stoned

Who says I can’t take time
Meet all the girls in the county line
Wait on fate to send a sign
Who says I can’t take time

It’s been a long night in New York City
It’s been a long night in Austin too
I don’t remember you looking any better
But then again I don’t remember you

It is OCTOBER. The month of my birth and my most favorite month of the year. Not so much because it is my birthday month, but more because it is a new season and a change from the never ending humid hotness of summer when everyday is the same day. Autumn brings with it beautiful sunrises and an explosion of colors.

I am a fall junky. I love sweaters, rain, changing leaves, soup and pumpkin bread. Normally, the prospect of fall is dimmed by winter’s promise of cold, dark days, but after the summer we’ve had, I’m not intimidated. I love the crisp cool days where running is not only a pleasure but I crave it more now then ever.

Utter joy. Octoberfest and pumpkin ales, leaves changing colors and then slowly falling down for us to jump into and play. The crispness in the air, the first frost that kills the bugs …. Plus the thought of Thanksgiving and the upcoming holiday season is always anticipatory.

I found an awesome recipe today for Impossible Pumpkin Pie Cupcakes, that are really not impossible at all, at Baking Bites.  GO THERE.  I shall be baking these.

And so it goes.  On October 24th I am running a 10k.  The Nike Human Race.  The lofty goal has been reduced just a bit to let me run the thing and have fun while doing so.  Let my hamstring, the left one, be cool.

Then November 1st is a great day in NYC running.  You know, the day they close the city to allow 35,000 people to run through the streets without worrying about cars or buses or traffic of any kind.  I intend to be out there rooting for all my running buddies.

So, I will end by saying that if any of you feel the need to to fart, go into my office.   Ok, so I am watching “The Office”.

IMG00238

I was told I should smile more.  What do you think?

I am rockin the push ups.  Dude I am so there.  And by there, I mean I am nearing the end of week 6 and my last test.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. PunkRockRunner permalink
    October 16, 2009 2:02 am

    Sorry to hear about the injury BUT I’m glad to hear that your riding during recovery. Of course, I already knew this via Twitter but I’d rather read about your adventures in this format.

    A happy birthday to you. It’ll be cool to be able to finally legally drink in NYC. Oh, and smile more, ride more, run when you can and enjoy the fall season in the Big Apple.

    All the best!

    Ron

  2. October 16, 2009 12:05 pm

    running the thing and having fun is what i’m all about. hope you can achieve that.

    yeah, you should smile more. :-)

  3. October 16, 2009 2:44 pm

    hammies are so fickle. really. I need some of your mojo. Can I adopt you? I lurve soup and pumpkin, and bread, and running slow. :-)

  4. October 16, 2009 2:46 pm

    Get those pushups done! I like going fast too, mostly by bike these days.

  5. October 16, 2009 10:04 pm

    i LOVE your smile!!! :)

  6. October 18, 2009 11:38 pm

    Rest up and heal! so great you have biking to fall onto!

    That November 1st in NYC sounds amazing….

  7. October 20, 2009 12:56 am

    Wow, nice pull on the calvin and hobbs reference. Well played.

    Fall is BY FAR my fav time of year. Enjoy it!! It will be winter soon. Ewww

  8. October 20, 2009 4:09 pm

    Wow! Week 6 of pushups! I am definitely impressed. I fell off that wagon ;) glad you are able to do a little running again, and hopefully the healing will speed up from here!

  9. October 20, 2009 8:04 pm

    October is MY favorite month too! Its so beautiful out! Especially watching the trees change colors and the warm fall days are just my FAVORITE! They put me in the BEST mood ever!!! I wish i could do a pushup… i probably couldnt do 10 to save my life!

  10. October 21, 2009 3:19 am

    yuck. sorry about the hammy.. but yes, speed on the bike is fun. enjoy!

  11. December 11, 2009 3:34 pm

    Seems like you are a real professional. Did ya study about the topic? lol

  12. Carolyn permalink
    June 25, 2013 5:09 pm

    This is awesome when sports bring you pleasure and inspiration! To make my body able to take any workout more like pleasure than tough routine, I am taking proper nutrition enforced by dietary supplements. Military Grade Nutritionals provide me with perfect energy supply and naturally enhance my endurance and strength.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

