Skip to content

One mile at a time…

February 4, 2008

mile.jpg“I have met my hero, and she is me.”

I think that one mile at a time is something i can and will strive for!  It takes someone like me to be able to say that and mean it!  Sue once said to me “with you, its all or nothing”.  True.

Well, let me start at the beginning.  The beginning can go as far back as 1995.  I was a real runner back then.  What i mean by real is that i did at least 5 miles a day, everyday!  I had running friends that relied on me to be there at 7am every morning.  I relied on them too.  We were a small but growing running community up on the “boards”.  As i progressed, i started racing practically every weekend.  Central Park was the usual destination.

Fast forward a few years and my running came to a grinding halt!  Injuries, sadness, emotional turmoil took a toll and i just stopped.

Now, i am back!  Doing the best i can with the body GOD gave me.  I was once told i run like a gazelle!  YEAH!  That was the ultimate compliment and i will never forget it.  So, today i ran 3 miles.  3 miles in 35 minutes.  My legs were rubbery, but my mind said one mile at a time!  And so the saga continues……

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sue permalink
    February 6, 2008 4:51 pm

    liked the Sue quote, ha ha
    Excellent writing, keep up the good work and remember not only one mile at a time but one step at a time

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    February 6, 2008 6:09 pm

    Thanks sis! :O)

Trackbacks

  1. One Year Ago Today - February 4, 2008 « Runnin’ Down A Dream
  2. Bon anniversaire TWO 2 TWO Le petit bonheur « Runnin’ Down A Dream

Leave a Reply

