Skip to content

The last 1/2 mile…

February 7, 2008

boardwalk.jpgTo the ego, the mind is private.

Today i’m wearing my running shoes
And when i wear them i never lose
But something’s different in my world today
And i’d be lucky to come in last
I see you out there, you’re watching me
I’ll show you something you won’t believe
I’ll turn my future into history
And then i’ll trip upon my past
*i’m just half a mile away
And i hardly know what from
Just half a mile away
And i may never know how far i have come*
Aiming high shooting low
Put it together just can’t make it go
I’m speeding up, it’s these shoes they’re slow
I’d be lucky to come in last kick it higher, kick it in i can’t win

So, today the last 1/2 mile was harder than usual.  My mind said go but my body was rebelling.   I had to really push through to accomplish running 3 miles.  It hurt.  It made me realize that i was no longer a young runner.  I am now a middle aged runner.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that…its just kind of mind boggling to me.  I am middle aged in number but not middle aged in my mind.  I still think of myself as a 25 year old able to run 8 minute miles.  While i may be able to do that again, i may not as well.  So, i have to accept and utilize my mind and body so that i can achieve the little things that can add up to the big things…it’s all relative i guess.  So, today the last 1/2 mile was harder than usual, but you know that just gives me so much more to strive for and conquer!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

