Skip to content

Am i a runner without a garmin?

February 15, 2008

garmin.jpg

 “Even if you fall flat on your face, at least you are moving forward.”

Today, i discovered the garmin.  Seems to be all the rage with the running community.  I currently do not own one but would like to do some research and ask around.  Am i a runner without it?  Should i be concerned with time, pace, gps, what the tempurature is on mars?  I kinda think i should be.  Especially, the mars thing!  Hey you never know where you might be on your next long run.

Here’s where you can read about the various garmins that are available for purchase:   Garmin

Wow, i especially like that touch bezel feature on the forerunner 405 (newest model i think)   Now, here’s my quandry.  I run religiously with my ipod.  So, now i would have my click wheel ipod plus a touch bezel.  I might get confused and look for a playlist on the garmin and ask my ipod for my pace!  I am far from tech savvy but i like to be in the loop.  i like to know whats happening and whats hip and cool.  Are garmins cool?  Are garmins hip?  Do you have to have a MBA from Harvard in order to figure out how to work it?  These are the questions i ponder.

So, my question is….Am i a runner without a garmin?  I’d like to think so, but again here’s my question….Will i feel more like a runner with a garmin straped to my wrist?   Anybody?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2008 10:41 pm

    You just got a Garmin? Oh…man. Love love love.

    That being said, why don’t you just get the Nike+ system on the iPod and kill two birds with one stone? No?

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    February 16, 2008 12:37 am

    Hey love, nope i do not have a garmin! To be totally honest, i never heard of a garmin before today…see i do live with my head in a hole!! :O) What is the Nike+ system? God, i am so out of it!!!
    Michelle

  3. February 16, 2008 1:09 am

    My Ironman triathlon watch is many, many years old, but it works just fine. Sure, I may not be able to get the ‘latest stats’ from it after a run, but that’s fine. I think you are a runner, regardless of what you may have on your wrist or not.

    But is you DO come across a couple of these Garmins, my birthday is coming up. 🙂

  4. michjoy61 permalink*
    February 16, 2008 1:27 am

    Haha Mike, you got it!!! I too have a ironman triathlon watch (at least i think thats what it is)…i suppose i’d be happier with a snazzy pair of running shoes that doesn’t cause blisters!!! Of course, i need to coordinate the color of my shoes with my running outfit! Everything needs to match!!! :O)

Leave a Reply

