Skip to content

Wind and frost on the boards…

February 19, 2008

The older you get the stronger the wind gets – and it’s always in your face.”

boards.jpg

I woke up at 6.15 and quite literally jumped out of bed.  First thing i usually do is drink some lemon water to kick start my digestion!  Plus i love lemons!  35 degrees, not too bad i thought!

Out the door at 6.40 only to realize that it was quite windy and i know what that means.  A hard run.  At least one way on the boards the wind will slow me down considerably.

I got up to the boards and waited patiently for my running buddies.  Looking as far ahead as i possibly can i saw them.  I can recognize their strides and hand motions from a mile away! 

I’m not going to get into the time or pace or mileage, all i want to talk about today is the wind and the dreaded frost.  For some reason, i get very nervous and tight when i have to run on frost or ice.  My stride totally changes and i don’t feel loose.  Instead of concentrating on the world around me, i focus deeply on taking the next step and staying upright.  My buddies seem to have an innate ability to get over that feeling and go with the flow.

So, wind plus frost made for a very uncomfortable run today.  I suppose i should be used to it but somehow i never am.  Don’t get me wrong, these 2 things will not stop me from rising up and going for a run.  Never!  I feel like i need the run just as much as the run needs me.  At least for a little while, i feel one with the world and i need that!  I want that!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

