Skip to content

Knitting…

February 29, 2008

blanket.jpg

No longer shall I paint interiors with men reading and women knitting. I will paint living people who breathe and feel and suffer and love.    Edvard Munch

I want to learn to knit!  It’s fascinating to me how something so wonderful can be created by stitch one, pearl two!  A little yarn and your off.  Isn’t knitting a bit like running?  Think about it.  Each stitch takes you closer to the hat or scarf you are trying to create.  As each stitch is completed, you can more clearly see the hat or scarf that you want to wear when its real cold out.

Same as running.  Each step takes you closer to the mile or finish line.  As each step is completed, you can more clearly see the mile or finish line.

So, today when i was running, i thought about knitting.  You can see, my mind wanders.  Somehow, i like that though.  I’ve been running sans ipod for a few days to see how i like it.  It’s a whole different ballgame!

Speaking of ballgame, i run past a wonderful ball park called Keyspan Park!
KeySpan Park is a minor league baseball stadium in the Coney Island section of Brooklyn, New York City, USA. The home team is the New York Mets-affiliated Brooklyn Cyclones of the New York – Penn League. Official seating capacity is 7,500. 

When i run past Keyspan Park my mind takes me to the dog days of summer when there is a baseball game practically every weekend.  I’ve yet to attend a game, but i’ve heard its great fun!

Back to knitting.  Another similarity to running is that knitting is quite relaxing, so i’ve heard.  You sort of zone out while knitting and the stitches just flow out of your fingers.  Same thing when you run.  Zone out and the steps just flow right out of your feet.

I suppose you can make an analogy about just about anything.  Today, its running and knitting!  Who knows what tomorrow will bring!

Letter to my legs:

Dear Legs,

Thanks!!!!!

Love Michelle

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2008 1:27 am

    Hee hee. Learning to knit is easy. I bought a book and taught myself last year. Everyone got scarves for awhile. It was lots of fun. If only I didn’t have to have a job, I’d have a million hobbies. 😀

    I love driving to the post office, it takes me by my old training routes. I felt so strong and righteous! My mind wanders when I run too. Isn’t it awesome?

  2. March 2, 2008 3:52 pm

    I’m going to have to start running without my ipod in another few weeks to get back into the sans ipod groove. I agree that it’s a whole different ballgame!

Leave a Reply

