Skip to content

Sunny day + the will to do it = 5 miles…

March 3, 2008

five.jpg

 Begin at the beginning and go on till you come to the end; then stop.

Today, i just felt like i needed to do something to take it up a notch! (as emeril would say…bam!)  I thought about it and decided to go where no man has gone before!  Yes, folks the dreaded 5 miles.

I’m pretty sure running 5 is the turning point for runners right?  It gives you the right to brag to friends and neighbors alike.  You can brag on your blog too if you want.  Do non-runners realize the significance of running for 5 miles?  I think not!

Here’s some facts:

I burned 500 calories extra today running 5 miles

Running 5 miles keeps my blood pressure low, maximizes my lungs potential and strengthens my heart!

Running 5 miles makes me feel intense exhilaration and euphoria!  I like that runners high!

Running 5 miles improves my sleeping and makes me feel more relaxed!

Running 5 miles enables me to chug down a beer or two!

Running 5 miles is a natural tranquilizer (studies show)

So, at this point in time, i can honestly say i am addicted to running.  In a good way!  As i run i grow stronger physically and emotionally.  There truly comes a time when running transforms from a painful and dreaded torture into a wonderful and rewarding experience!

For me running is not about who can run the furthest or fastest.  It’s a place where i can escape my problems and enter into a world where, if only for 5 miles i am invincible!

Letter to my legs:

Dear wonderful legs,

Today you ROCKED.  Yes you did.  I love you legs!

Sincerely Michelle

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2008 7:36 pm

    Nice work, I haven’t been back to 5 lately but I need to soon. Very soon.

  2. March 4, 2008 1:50 pm

    5 miles is an accomplishment. Personally I think once you run a 5k you can brag! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

