Skip to content

60 feels like 90, you do the math!

March 4, 2008

runners.jpg

Nothing gives one person so much advantage over another as to remain always cool and unruffled under all circumstances.

It is about 60 degrees here today!  It was 56 degrees at 6am.  Yes, i thought this is my first opportunity to show off my shockingly pale legs!  Yes, the legs i love!

So, when i found the shorts i wanted to wear and put them on, i first had to take a look in the mirror to make sure i was presentable to the outside world.  There i was in all my glory with these amazingly pale, pasty looking legs!

I didn’t care.  Well, i did but you know how that goes.  I just wanted to be able to feel the wonder that is springtime!  If only for one day, i didn’t care i just needed to be out there.

Unfortunately, i wasn’t quite sure how to dress my upper body and i erred on the side of caution and lets just say i overdressed! If you err on the side of caution when you are deciding what to do, you end up doing what is safe instead of taking a risk!

Heck, i take risks all the time!  Yes i do! If I take a risk and it works out, I tell everyone. If there was no risk, it’s not interesting (remarkable) and that’s the end of that.

Taking risks is not about the risk, it is about how confident you are in yourself. I have been working on obtaining this level of confidence for almost a year. Finally, I feel that I can take this off my list. It wasn’t that I was afraid of risks, it was that I was not confident to take them when the opportunity arose. I feel that I am in general a risk taker, and I like that about myself.  

Do not fear risk. All exploration, all growth is calculated. Without challenge people cannot reach their higher selves. Only if we are willing to walk over the edge can we become winners.

So, today i was willing to walk over that edge!  Put on those sexy biking shorts, overdressed just a bit and ran out the door!  My run was lovely. (i seem to use that word a lot lately)…4 miles in 56 degree weather.  Simply brilliant!  But, it did kinda feel like 90 degrees!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

