Skip to content

Yesterday…

March 8, 2008

womanrunner.gif

Running in circles
Around and around
(I said) I’m running in circles
And I can’t get you out of my mind

Is that how i look when running?  Skinny legs and all, hmmm NOPE!  But, i have to admit, my most prized possession, my legs are looking pretty damn good latey!

Yesterday, when i got up to the boards i was dismayed to discover a sheet of ice covering the entire boardwalk.  I stood there for a moment looking both ways, wondering what i should do.  Then it occured to me that i am quite accident prone or in other words…i am a klutz!

So, i quickly left the boards and decided on running around the park.  Now, i normally do not enjoy running in circles, even big circles but i really had no choice.  I decided on my usual 52 min which i think ends up to be about 4 miles.

The run was tedious and felt so much longer than 52 minutes or 4 miles to be exact.  If i did not have my ipod with me, i would never have made it.  You know the saying the mind is willing but the body is not?  Is that a real saying?  Or did i just make it up?  Well, that is exactly how i felt!

But, and here’s the whole point….i did it.  I completed the run because that is what i set out to do in the first place.  There was no room in my mind for quitting.  None at all.  And so, whether or not i enjoyed the run is irrelevant isn’t it?  I did it.  I ran what i set out to run yesterday!  So, after 52 minutes or 4 miles i felt damn good about myself!  I patted myself on the back and walked back home with a smile!

Today, YES…today is my day off!  I’m not sure if i am happy about that or just accepting that i do need to listen to my body, my legs and rest when needed.  Tomorrow, is another day isn’t it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2008 12:52 pm

    Good job. I could not have kept that up for so long. I get bored very fast…

  2. March 10, 2008 2:44 pm

    Nice job on the run.

  3. March 10, 2008 6:14 pm

    YEAH for you. Dang, I need to get out there too. Good decision on the icy-ness.

    The run part of my tri is 33 little circles. I am so gonna die of boredom.

    Nice running. I’m sure the legs are H.O.T. 😀

Leave a Reply

