Skip to content

A new stream of consciousness…

March 15, 2008

blogparty.gif

 All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become.

As the Beastie Boys say…”You gotta fight, for your right…to PARTY!!!  Yes and…..

Consciousness is regarded to comprise qualities such as subjectivity, self-awareness, sentience, and the ability to perceive the relationship between oneself and one’s environment. It is a subject of much research in philosophy of mind, psychology, neuroscience, and cognitive science.

Some philosophers divide consciousness into phenomenal consciousness, which is subjective experience itself, and access consciousness, which refers to the universal availability of information to processing systems in the brain.  Phenomenal consciousness is being something and access consciousness is being conscious of something.

Cool stuff huh?  I’m thinking of how i feel when i run.  Am i conscious of my surroundings and/or body or am i so in the zone that i experience phenomenal consciousness? 

This is all so new to me and i really enjoy reading about it.  Please, folks i am not some new-age hippie philospher joining a cult, just somebody who wants to be enlightened.

Something like this:

The American Enlightenment is a term sometimes employed to describe the intellectual culture of the British North American colonies and the early United States. (as they became known following the American Revolution). It was a part of a larger intellectual movement known as the Age of Enlightment. Influenced by the scientific revolution of the 17th century, the Enlightenment took scientific reasoning and applied it to human nature and society. There was a shift from God-centered thinking to human being centered. Instead of going through life unhappy and thinking they had to suffer so they could enjoy the afterlife – people began to think about what they could accomplish on earth.

I guess what i’m trying to say is that i want to learn!  Listen to this…i have a friend, someone i know for in excess of 20 years.  In the 20 years that i know him, he has not changed one bit!  He’s just the same, stagnant and kind of boring.  Shall i say dull?  So, today he IM’s me with his usual “whatcha doing idiot?”  I decided to try to kick start a convo that involved more than just idle chit chat.  Nope!  He was having none of it.  He said to me…”Michelle, you changed, your werid”!….to which i replied “why is being different weird to you?”  He couldn’t really come up with an answer and so thats where it ended.

I’m pretty sure, he may not want or need to talk to me again.  Thats ok though, sometimes a change is inevitable, especially a good change!  Why don’t people like change?  Is it scary?  I’m not scared, i’m estatic!  I soak it all up like a sponge.  Then i squeeze the sponge and soak up more!  Hey, thats just me.  I enjoy learning new things.  If this is weird than so be it.

If somebody asked me to describe myself 5 years ago and today this is what i’d say:

Michelle (2003)  Scared, unfocused, disheartened, inadequate, ashamed and distant.  A non-runner!  Skeptical and very vulnerable!  Quite directionless, a bit foggy and totally uncertain as to my future!

Michelle (2008) Exuberant, hopeful for the furture, respected, loved!  A runner!  I feel jubilant, quite alive and content!  I feel at peace within my mind!

Who would you rather know?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 2:06 pm

    Do you attribute the change to running or is that only a part of it? I was a non-runner too and have looked for this to help me make changes in other areas. I perservere and stay more positive about running than anything in my life. It has helped me see some things, but it definitely hasn’t totally spilled over into my personal life. I’m glad you’ve found all this joy and hope and confidence. 😀

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    March 18, 2008 2:00 am

    Hi Nancy, the change is a comglomerate of many things, running being one of them for sure!!! Only thing, i really get down on myself when i can’t or don’t run what i set out to do…i should really just say “hey i did 2 miles more than nothing” ah, easy to say right???

    Thanks Nancy, for your kind comments! I really appreciate them a lot!!!

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

