Skip to content

Alone time….interruptus

March 23, 2008

“Im afraid that some times you’ll play lonely games too. Games you can’t win ’cause you’ll play against you. All alone! Whether you like it or not, Alone will be something you’ll be quite a lot”  

First off, i thought i’d finally post the video and song that inspired me to start this running blog.  Tom Petty – Running down a dream…here’s some of the lyrics 

I felt so good like anything was possible
I hit cruise control and rubbed my eyes
The last three days the rain was un-stoppable

it was always cold, no sunshine

Yeah runnin’ down a dream
That never would come to me
Workin’ on a mystery, goin’ wherever it leads
Runnin’ down a dream

Somehow this song resonates with me.  I am, in a way running my dreams.  Everytime i run, my dreams get a little happier and lighter.  More expressive and life like.  It’s fun.

Now, alone time….interruptus.  What does this mean?  Exactly what it sounds like.  It’s not coitus interruptus nor is it anything else involving sex.

I wanted to run this morning alone.  I felt like i needed to.  I wanted to go my own pace and speed and just run with my music.  So, i went out to run and bumped into my running buddies…when i said to one buddy “i’m going to keep going, i’ll see you on the way back”…he just stopped and looked at me kind of questioningly as if to say  “what you don’t want to run with us today?”…

So, i begrudgingly turned and slowed my pace and ran with my buddies.  I was disappointed in myself because i couldn’t stand my ground and just say i wanna run alone today.  So, my run was a series of starts and stops and turn arounds and slowing down.

In the end, i did do about 5 1/2 miles with the last mile (ran alone) at 10.29 min pace.  And, the best part is i feel good, have no aches and pains and i know come tomorrow i am up at 6am for another run.

I guess its all in the way you react to things.  Now that i look back and really think about it, i was running.  I was doing what i love to do with people i love.  The weather was lovely, sunny, crisp, and altogether inspiring!  So, alone time….interruptus, not a bad thing after all…

Happy Easter my running peeps!  Purim too!!
 
 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2008 2:44 pm

    GREAT blog !!!! Terrific. I have enjoyed it. Again, my name is Ted and I am also a runner. Nice to meet you.

  2. March 24, 2008 11:38 pm

    Hi M – Thanks for leaving a comment in my blog. I am from Little Silver, NJ. Keep blogging !!!

  3. March 25, 2008 12:38 am

    Hi Michelle, thanks for stopping by my blog. I enjoyed reading about your ‘raw’ diet. I tend to still struggle some with my diet, but i’m trying hard to incorporate more vegetables. I’ve always eaten lots of fruit, but still am addicted to red meat and breads. I think I will try to take the raw approach to eating more often.

    I was a lone runner for most of my first couple years (except for running with my daughter) but have joined a club and now enjoy both the group runs and my own lone runs. You sure have a lot of time to think when running alone, I guess thats why I started a blog, to document some of my thoughts.

    Stop by anytime and I hope to read more on yours

  4. March 26, 2008 5:58 pm

    I guess its all in the way you react to things.

    So true. I wish I could be as positive as you sound!!

Leave a Reply

