Skip to content

I’m a little nervous…

April 11, 2008

 

“You need chaos in your head to give birth to a dancing star” Friedrich Nietzsche

Let me tell you why! I thought and i thought, and i really wanna share this with someone. Not really too sure why though. So, just go with it OK?

Portraits, before and after death!  Yep, i posted it! 

“This somber series of portraits taken of people before and after they had died is a challenging and poignant study. The work by German photographer Walter Schels and his partner Beate Lakotta, who recorded interviews with the subjects in their final days, reveals much about dying – and living.”

These photos are simultaneously haunting and beautiful, and I’ve been riveted for the last half hour. Having looked at every photo I feel like I need to get up, walk outside and let the warm air hit my face for a while. Be sure to read the text accompanying the photos.

Let me just say, if you feel queasy or uncomfortable looking at death, then by all means do not click!  I do think its important to take a look though!  It’s quite peaceful and sobering.

See, i’m not always funny and lighthearted.  I have feelings, thoughts, worries, loves, strong emotions, and most of all i love life!  I really do!  So, why look at death???  Because, it teaches you how to live.  Makes you just a little more appreciative of everything you have and are able to do.

Money, nah!  Just life!  Living it, and loving it.  Maybe, i think too much.  Try to analyze and understand.  This, to me is important.

Check this out:

“Our own power can be terrifying. It can be very uncomfortable. Most of us try to get rid of our power by doing things that dampen or drain our power. Most of us aren’t used to the power that raw food gives us – the sheer physical energy, the mental agility, the spiritual clarity. What to do about this? What not to do is to be negative. This will amplify to the point that it’ll drive you crazy. You’ll have to raise your spiritual vibration up to match up with your enhanced physical vibration. Prayer, meditation, discipline, yoga, volunteering, kindness, forgiveness, philanthropy, helping, creativity, love, writing, singing, dancing, working out – these can help us handle our excess energy! Its like becoming wealthy after being poor. You may still have just as many problems, they are just a different set of problems. Being healthy brings on a different set of problems than those we had when we were unhealthy. Or one could look at them as lessons, rather than problems.”

So, yeah now i’m all like worried that people will be afraid of me!  I’m intense, sure but hey you guys know me!  I’m funny and fun to be around!

Please, if you feel so inclined i would love to hear from you, what you think of the photo portrait!  You can tell me you hate it, or better yet how peaceful it made you feel!

I ran 1 solid hour today!  Just ran and ran.  Felt damn good too!!  I love running so much!  I really do!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2008 8:06 pm

    Good for you. BTW, I did 10 today and I’m sitting here with a vat of pineapple. I will not piss this away with a burger and fries. 😀 Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. April 11, 2008 8:15 pm

    I liked it. Certainly makes you want to slow down, take stock, enjoy what you have. Lots of lessons in the piece.

  3. April 11, 2008 9:52 pm

    Again, I feel intrigued by your writing. I looked at the link feeling quite somber, only to think of my own father who now deals with dementia and seems a shell of what I remember. Sad, yet makes me feel my next visit will be all the more worth the while. I do think you have a great view on life.

  4. April 11, 2008 10:03 pm

    I looked at a couple of the pictures, and it’s interesting. But then I stopped, since in my beliefs, we don’t look at death because we prefer to remember people living. (Even though I didn’t know these people, it’s still odd to me to look at them.)

    Good on the solid run. I can’t wait to get out tomorrow, even though the weather is supposed to be pretty bad. (but recently, I’ve been moving toward running no matter the weather. I’ll do a post about it one of these days.)

  5. michjoy61 permalink*
    April 11, 2008 10:26 pm

    Rahn, i understand, same in my beliefs or religion (jewish). At first i was very scared to look, but then i thought that the power of it all was so intense that i couldn’t not look ya know? But…i do not think i would ever want any of my family members to be photographed like that, not sure why…when my 95 year old great-aunt passed, they asked if we wanted to look at her one last time and i chose to look. Big mistake! I couldn’t sleep for days!!
    Solid runs are great aren’t they? Question for you all…how many days off if any do you take? I have a hard time taking days off now that the weather is so great!!!

    KC: I am sorry about your dad! But i am glad if next time you see him, you have a good productive visit!! Life is meant to be lived to the fullest! You have to, no choice!!!

    Nancy you are rockin!!! No slowing down on the running, but in other things sure!!! Smell the roses is what i always say!!!

    If you can’t be right, be wrong at the top of your lungs! YEAH!!!

  6. April 18, 2008 10:51 pm

    Michelle,
    The portraits are haunting and at the same time beautiful. Death is something that our culture especially, is so afraid to look at. Maybe my coming from a long line of undertakers gives me a different perspective – my brother and I would perform burials for wild birds when we were children (very Wednesday Adam-ish, I know.)

    I think a large part of why I like those portraits so much (besides the fact the the photos are incredible) is because the artists themselves brought respect and spiritual depth to this project and their gentleness really shows.

    What you had to say about discipline, volunteer work, kindness and forgiveness really hit home with me – especially this week as I have struggled with some of my less desirable character traits.

    Yes, you are intense and that is one of the wonderful things about your spirit and what makes you such a damn good writer.

  7. michjoy61 permalink*
    April 19, 2008 1:32 am

    Jenny, my friend thanks so much for your humbling comment! I feel proud to be able to share my thoughts with the world. Maybe, i am too open? I do not know but this is me and i feel the need to share my thoughts and writings. Sometimes, i lose track of the fact that this is my “running blog” but i always try to bring it back to my love of running!

    Have a great weekend! Good luck on the 1/2, let me know how you do!

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

