Skip to content

Stuff you didn’t know….

April 18, 2008

It was discovered on a space mission that a frog can throw
up.The frog throws up its stomach first, so the stomach is dangling out of
it’s mouth.Then the frog uses its forearms to dig out all of the
stomach’s contents and then swallows the stomach back down again.

Ha, whatcha think of that?  Can you imagine if us humans were able to do that?  I can just picture our tummy’s hanging out of our mouths, and seeing what we consumed that day.  A hunk of meat?  Some congealed cow’s milk?  A half cooked egg?   And lets not forget the parasites and worms that may conveniently call your tummy home!  It’s kinda gross but the truth will set you free!

Funny stuff:

 

The following is a recent conversation my friend had with his daughters Sienna, age 10, and Rachel, age 8.
Friend  “Rachel, if you don’t sit down right now I’m going to sell you to the gypsies.”
Rachel: “The gypsies? Where do the gypsies live?”
Sienna: “Duh. Egypt.”
Friend: “Egypt?”
Sienna: “Well, yeah. Egypsies.”

So cute huh?  Out of the mouths of babes comes such gems. 

I also discovered, out of the mouths of runners comes such bullshit!  Well, not runners, but me to be specific.  I’m like all “Hey guys, today i’m gonna run a 10K”!!!   They applaud me and say cool dude!  I’m nearing 3 miles and thinking “ummm, it sure feels like i ran a 10K just now”!!  I carefully check my watch and see that somehow the time does not equal the distance i thought i ran.  I’m confused to say the least.  So, what should i do?  Keep running?  Stop and regroup a bit?  Go home, change my outfit and start over???  Because i now think that my sports bra is not matching my kleenex tissues i took to blow the snot out of my ever running nose.

I face a dilemma.  My buddies are quite amused at me by now and sort of laughing at me, not with me.  This irritates me to no end.  Sure, i like to be the clown in the group, but when they laugh at “MY RUNNING” i take offense.  So, i decide to keep going.  They applaud me once again.  We fall into the familiar running pattern of me on the far right, my mentor on the far left (running on the horizontal slats) and the slower runner in the middle.  We always seem to slow down for her too! 

Now its 4 miles and once again, i’m thinking YES i did a 10K!  Ooops, check watch, time not equal distance.  Dilemma…keep going.  Yep!  5 miles!  YES!  Suddenly, it becomes clear to me.  Why the fuck a 10K today?  The answer:  Not a clue. 

So, just like Forest Gump, i just stopped.  My buddies keep going slowly turning to see i was standing still.  They looked, smiled, waved and continued their run home.  I, on the other hand started strutting.  I once again wedged my in-ear headphones back into my ears, put volume on full blast and listened to the Beastie Boys all the while strutting home.  I was not walking, strolling or even skipping.  I was strutting.

So, this is what i go through daily.  It’s a part of who i am.  I can easily tell people i just meet for the first time…Hey, i’m Michelle and I AM A RUNNER!  Sometimes, i say my name second.  Hey, I AM A RUNNER, and oh yeah my name is Michelle.  Either way, i feel so proud to be part of such a wonderful community. 

I read in Nancy’s blog about sort of endorsing the products you use, and maybe getting some free stuff!  I was really excited about the prospect of doing that when i realized i don’t really know what to write about.  I love products and new things to try when running but somehow when i looked in my running drawer, everything that was old was new again.  I am loving my sort of capri running pants, i believe i have some Brooks, Nike, Adidas too.  I just looked at the Adidas running pants, and i swear it doesn’t look like it would fit a barbie doll.  IT FITS ME!  Makes me look all slender and lithe!  Or as my mentor likes to say athletically slim.

Different story when i get home, desperately try to take the running pants off and notice my tummy sort of drooping over the top of the pants.  This is quite unflattering to say the least.  I don’t care really.  I am still proud of myself.  Everyday, when i complete a run i am proud.  I am happy.

I love running.  I really do!

The longest place-name still in use is
Taumatawhakatangihangakoauauotamateaturipukakapikimau
ngahoronukupokaiwenuakitanatahu, a New Zealand hill.  Wanna run up it and then down it?  Let me know!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2008 5:40 pm

    Remember – 95% of running a race is mental 😉

  2. April 20, 2008 11:10 pm

    Hey, I know that feeling…I wanted to turn around a mile into my run today…gave it another mile. Then decided it was too far to turn around (which doesn’t make sense, since it was 6-8 miles further to circle around the lake. hmmm…)

Leave a Reply

