Skip to content

Things i used to do…things i do now!

April 30, 2008

 

1)  I used to be able to run 5 miles in 40 minutes (yes, i did)

2) I used to be able to go to a chinese buffet and eat 3 plates full

3) I used to eat cow’s meat

4) I used to run in multi colored tights

5) I used to not know what a blog is (for real)

6) I used to be shy (still am a little)

7) I used to litter (a little bit)

8) I used to text message while driving

9) I used to frown a lot

10) I used to drink a lot of coffee!

So, there are some of my used to’s!  You know its kinda funny because as i evolved as a raw foodist and as someone who loves the earth, i slowly incorporated a very different way of living and even running.

I am a much happier person now.  More now then ever actually!  I think i went through a lot in the last 8 years or so.  Too much to really talk about here, but lets just say they were hard years.  But…i came out the other side a better person.  Smarter, more interesting and able to hold my own in social situations.  You simply cannot imagine how shy and sort of sad i used to be.  You’d never know huh?

Running.  What can i say!  Running has practically saved my life.  Well, not my life really but my mind, my spirit, my love of moving fast..just everything.  I love it so.  My one and only fear right now is getting an injury that would sideline me for the summer!  I dread it!  Yet, i push.  I run as fast as possible and sometimes longer than i should.  I know this.  I always say to myself…1 more mile couldn’t hurt, could it?  It could.  I know this.  I do it anyway.

If anything bad happens i will only have myself to blame.  We’ll see.  You would think after 20 years i would learn.  Now, see what i am doing here.  Is this a self-fulfilling prophecy? 

The definition of a self fulfilling prophecy is that negative beliefs predict negative behavior but, surprisingly, NOT that positive beliefs predict positive events. This flies in the face of the law of attraction. The original definition of a self fulfilling prophecy from Robert Merton is “a false definition of situation evoking a new behavior which makes the original false conception come true.”

What you believe will come true because you will subconsciously and consciously act in ways that cause the event to happen. Self fulfilling prophecies are powerful.

Whether he cheats or not, it’s not your fault. A self fulfilling prophecy is simply a cause-and-effect scenario that has been repeatedly proven true.

So, am i being too negative here?   Negative beliefs produce negative behavior…hmmm, so is my negative behavior running too much, and believing that soon i will get injured?  Who knows?  I guess time will tell.

Right now i am enjoying the running, mostly.  Except when i think too much about it.  Try to analyze. 

Things i do now:

1) Run 5 miles in 57 minutes

2) Go to eat sushi and just eat one plate of food

3) I eat mostly raw (NO COW”S MEAT)

4) I run in cool clothes that actually match (most of the time)

5) I blog, therefore i am!

6) Not so shy anymore.  (just a little)

7) Absolutely no littering (ever)

8) Text messaging?  Whats that?

9) I smile a lot

10) I drink coconut water a lot!

Little changes that mean a lot to me!  Oh, i pray too!  That should really be up there at number 1 but i thought i’d devote a paragraph to it.  Praying is wild.  It can be anything you want it to be.  I don’t necessarily pray for “things”.  I pray for strength and i pray for hope and mostly i pray for the people that need it the most!  I’ll leave it at that!

Think i’ll leave you with this quote:

“Hey, people who still say ‘don’t go there,’ no one is going there anymore, so you can stop saying it now.”

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 3, 2008 9:49 pm

    Holy &*^&%$# ! You blew me away. I love your posting. You got me into a lot of thinking, dudette. Actually, I have to agree with you about running. Running is one form of therapy as I see it. Truthfully, running is my prozac. I was in a lot of deep shit for the past several years. Running elevates my mood. Running helps clear my mind. Running promotes my inner self-esteem. I tend not to think about what could cause me to sideline from running. I don’t even want to think about it. There is an old saying that if nothing kills me will makes me a stronger person.
    At last, I love number 5 about blogging.
    P.S. Thanks for the suggestion on playlist…. and one more thing… if there is any good race in the NY/NJ region in the future, we shall meet.

Leave a Reply

