Skip to content

10K on the 10th of May….

May 5, 2008

No, he is not my brother, neighbor or boyfriend.  What he is, is my running pacer!  Forgive me for i do not know exactly what the job of the pacer is but i have some ideas.

He/she is somebody who pushes you to finish what you started.

He/she keeps a constant pace that you must follow

He/she cracks some jokes to make you giggle

He/she hands you water/gatorade/beer along the way

He/she talks about politics and when he/she sees that you are frowning changes subject fast!

He/she does not allow you to stop at any time during said run.

He/she comments on your fully matching and coordinated outfit.

He/she makes sure you cross the finish line!!!

And last but most important

He/she makes sure there are bagels with creamcheese and some herbal coffee to partake in after the run.  Yes, i did say herbal coffee!  Check it out here.

Is this right?  Did i hit on some key things that a pacer does?  Hope so!  My pacer’s name is cool dude.  I figured since i am cool dudette i need a cool dude in my corner.  I just hope he decides to change his outfit for our run.  His package needs to be more contained IMHO. 

So, this coming Saturday May 10th 2008 i will run a 10K.  Thats really it.  It’s that easy.  And it is easy.  Isn’t it?

Hey, today i was out running.  I stopped at the end to talk to my mentor and saw a woman who picks up the trash on the boards.  She looks and screams out….YO, is that you???  I look at her and she’s all like what happened to your butt???  You look so skinny, your legs look like twigs, last time i saw you, you were fat, YO, like what up girlfriend?  I could only smile and start my run back home!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2008 12:21 am

    You must be listening to Beastie Boys on your iPod. Your post really cracked me up. ROFLMAO ! All of those things you mentioned about the pacers are correct. To me, pacers are like rabbit to me. You just follow the rabbit to the finish line. BTW, I am really enjoying your blog lately.

  2. May 6, 2008 3:35 am

    HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!!!

    Hilarious. You are so cute. And cool dude is the perfect pacer for you. He will keep you going (and knowing that you have to write up a quick report to all of us!). Don’t worry about his package. He’ll be fine. And, it’s so exciting to hear the race is motivating you. It’s already served it’s purpose!!

    I love that the litter lady gave you props. Way to go. That must’ve felt fantastic. Cool dude will give you props too, if you need them.

    Glad you are having fun with it!!

    I just had a fun run along the Charles River in Boston. Hope to get in one or two more!!

    Nanc

  3. May 6, 2008 5:50 pm

    Just tell her you “ran your ass off”…

  4. May 10, 2008 1:13 am

    I need to get me one of those pacer dudes. Sounds most useful!

    Good luck with your race tomorrow. I’ll eat a piece of my not-famous beer bread for you, so you’ll have extra energy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

