Skip to content

My caring running community…

May 21, 2008

Ilene, is my running mentor.  She is a pediatrician and a friend to me for a very long time.  I missed about 3 days of running and yesterday when i came out, Ilene said to me “Where were you women?”  I was starting to worry!

That did my heart good.  Made me feel like i was actually part of a running community that cared about its runners.  It’s so simple really.  People do care about others.  Whoever tells you otherwise, is bullshitting you!

I know in my house growing up, we were a family of carers (new word).  So, i guess that rubbed off on me and i am now a carer as well.  Sometimes, its a great thing and sometimes it can be not so great!  For example, you care, someone else doesn’t give a crap.  So, what do you do?  Still care?  Absolutely!!!

Everything in perspective…the people here reading my blog all care!  I’ve gotten wonderful supportive comments and i so appreciate it all.  Sometimes, it may seem i am absent a bit but i am always here reading, lurking and caring! 

So, i am part of two running communities.  My own little running community on the boards AND a bigger community here in the blogosphere.  I feel like i know each and every one of you personally.  That makes me smile and feel good.

I feel as though i am being watched over by you guys and guided sort of.  Yes, i am very spiritual and sometimes i may over think things.  I just read about this and i find it quite interesting.  I believe in a hodge podge of things and everyday i learn new things to either incorportate into my life, or discard.

I have been reading the Jewish bible too!  Lots of great scriptures and history.  Believe me folks, i am not preaching here or trying to slam religion down your throats, all i’m saying is believe in something.  The GOD of running is a good start huh? 

 Now i’m all like GOD dude, i am going on my run soon, make it a good one please!!!  Ok, i know i’m being silly but for me there is a lot of truth to praying and believing and loving.  Why be rigid?  Look up in the sky and whatever you see is brought to you by GOD!  Or by whatever it is you believe. 

Eating raw has brought me to many realizations.  We are not meant to eat cooked food and GOD always provides us with enough food to survive.  Just walk outside your home, i bet there are tons of stuff to forage.  Wild greens, fruit tree…lots of stuff.  Just open your eyes and look around.   I’m curious, i’d like to know whats out there!

My life is an open book here.  I don’t hold back because i have nothing to hide really.  I’m not famous or pretty even, just a simple girl trying to run every single day.  Not too much to ask from GOD dude.  So far, so good!!

1 Thessalonians 5:16  Rejoice evermore

P.S.  I ran 5 miles this morning!  56.40!  The last mile was excruciating but i got into a zone and just kept going.  I may have cursed myself out at some point, but right now i feel amazing so it was worth it!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2008 3:50 pm

    I think somewhere in Leviticus is says something like “I am the lord…of running” and stuff.
    Eh, maybe I didn’t translate the Hebrew well. I’m a little rusty.

  2. May 23, 2008 11:43 am

    Glad to hear that 5 miler felt great!

    I think that running helps us get in touch with our spiritual side – the simple act of using our bodies as god intended – running – and marvelling at the incredible biomechancial machine that is the human body – it’s simply amazing!

  3. June 1, 2008 1:54 pm

    Nice job on the five. Are you running this week?

    It certainly is wonderful all the cool people out there that care about us and our running.

    I finished my race yesterday but it was a fairly tough day. Hope to have some time to blog about it.

    Hugs.

Leave a Reply

