Skip to content

Shut up and let me go…

May 25, 2008

I’m feeling kinda ornery and stubborn today.  Not really sure why.  I didn’t run today, but thats not it.  I guess maybe i am impatient about things to come!  Wondering is all?

So, here is a photo of myself and my best friend with our very first all raw feast!  We worked very hard.  You would think that since there was literally no cooking involved, it would be easier to execute.  It wasn’t.  It took us the most part of a day to do all this.   There’s a nice big salad with edible flowers, some raw tacos, some amazing raw sushi and really good raw pizza!  Everything was so tasty and delicious. 

When preparing raw food, a lot of different spices are used to make the dishes delicious to the palate.  Cayenne, jalepeno peppers, cumin, hot red pepper, sea salt.  If you can imagine, it is even better than the cooked alternatives.   Does it make you want to try some raw food?  Or as i like to call it “living food”?  I wish i could prepare a dinner like this for each and every one of you…

It’s fun cooking with a friend.  It’s fun bonding.  We both have very different styles in the kitchen.  Karen is quick and easy, i am much slower and more methodical.  She left me to make the salsa for the tacos.  Took me way longer than really necessary.  I didn’t like how i cut up the tomatoes so i had to sort of recut them to the sizes i felt were appropriate for a salsa.  Nuts right??? 

Speaking of nuts…the cheese for the pizza is not cheese!  It’s nuts.  Yep, nut cheese is what us raw foodists call it.  Oh so good too!!  It has an incredible cheesy taste and i bet if i didn’t tell you it was nuts you would all say….”YUM, thats some good cheese you got going on!!!

So, this is a wonderful drink that i made for Karen.  ..it is made with white peaches and edible flowers with some coconut water! I call it Michelle’s special flower drink for Karen! MSFDFK for short!!! Hope she liked it!

Of course the best part of the day was sharing this dinner with her family who do not eat raw.  They all seemed to like it.   It was just a lot of fun for me.   Like i said, bonding time. 

I hope each and every one of you are having an amazing Memorial day weekend!  The weather cannt be better and tomorrow i hope for a 5 mile run in the sun!!

A Prayer of Trust

Protect me, God
I come to you for safety.
You are my Lord,
All good things I have come from You.

How good are the Lord’s faithful people!
My greatest joy is to be with them.

You, Lord are all I have,
And You give me all I need.
My life is in Your hands.
How wonderful are Your gifts to me,
How good they are!

I praise You Lord because You guide me,
I know You are always with me.
Nothing can make me afraid
Because You are near.

Show me the path that leads to life
Your presence fills me with joy.

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2008 10:19 pm

    I’d love to try a raw meal sometime. I suspect that fact that I’m allergic to nuts might be a problem though…

  2. May 26, 2008 6:30 pm

    That looks like an AMAZING raw feast.. you guys can come “uncook” for me anytime… I’m too darn lazy to do the involved, exotic recipes!
    Have I mentioned before how great your smile is??

  3. May 27, 2008 3:22 am

    Makes me want to try some of this raw menu!
    Also, what a great prayer to God.

  4. May 28, 2008 1:29 am

    Boy, I have been drooling all over my keyboard by just looking at the pictures of the raw foods. You are making me hungry. I love going to health food store and just pick out all kind of vegetables and fruits to put together. It does your body and mind good!

  5. May 31, 2008 11:33 am

    I wish you could prepare a living meal for me, looks interesting. What do you use for the base for the pizza?

  6. June 19, 2008 1:53 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Effluvium.

Leave a Reply

