Skip to content

All good things….All this beauty!!

June 1, 2008

I have been on a journey of sorts.  Spiritually i’ve been all over the place!  I finally found a place in my life for prayer.  It works folks!  I lived to tell the tale and the power of prayer is out there for all to behold.  I can think of 1 million ways that incorporating praying into your life will make you a better person AND a better runner!  Just know it simply IS!

My running is taking a path and i am following.  Here’s what i have decided.  I do not want to feel stressed out before each run.  I do not want to feel i have to run a certain distance to be called a runner.  I know i am a runner.  I am.  Nobody told me this.  It’s just a fact.  So, what i do now is arise each day, make sure its not raining and get dressed to run.  I then run.  Now, don’t get me wrong here folks.  Of course i want to set goals and possibly run a few races.  I do set goals.  But, i do not start my run thinking….today i must run 5 miles.  Must is not a good word for me.  Neither is should.  How about think about what you “could” do. 

I could do 5 miles today if i so choose!  I think about what the benefits are to doing that.  Will i end the run in pain?  Will i end the run in tears?  Will i end the run and have to limp home?  If the answers to these questions are YES, then 5 miles is not my goal for the day.

On Friday May 30th i ran 6 miles!  This is the most i ran in a very long time.  I ran it in 1 hour and 9 minutes.  69 minutes.  I think thats about an 11.5 min pace.  It was an awesome run.  It felt right and i felt strong.  It made me very happy when i was done.  It was hard though.  Sure, i felt strong but the run inself tuckered me out.  My legs were a bit shakey and tight afterwards. 

Today, on the other hand i literally could not go a step over 3 miles.  It was hot and i didn’t think i should push.  I hear the word acclimate being discussed.  I know the word.  I guess i’m in the middle of acclimating.  So i ran 3 miles in 34.02.  Again just about an 11.5 min pace.  At least i’m consistent right?

So, i just read with interest….Liv is doing a weight loss challenge for all us bloggers!  See this is just what i would have loved to do but great Liv beat me to it!

WOOHOO, i am so there!  1 month really gives me the push i need to lose the last 15lbs or so that i want to lose!  Thanks Liv!  You ROCK!!!  So, i guess i can say here that my starting weight is 129lbs.  I want to and will go down to 115lbs.  YES!!!  NO!!!  YESSSSSSSSS!!!

I am also sort of gearing up for my July 24th hiking trip.  I simply cannot wait.  Can you tell i am psyched??  I will of course talk more about it closer to the date, but i will say its in Southern Oregon and its 3 days of hiking/camping out!  I am going with my BFF, the woman i sometimes talk about, my sista in the lord, my tatt sista, my best friend!  It’s going to ROCK!  You can read all about it here!  Its all friggen raw!!!!  Can you imagine?  I may hide 1 or 2 candy bars in my backpack!  Nah, i won’t!

So my soul searching is nearly complete.  It will never be 100% complete because, then life would be dull, dull, dull!  I learn A LOT while running.  Maybe too much!  I need to rein it in a bit.  As my friend Karen says “you need to chill”.  Its just that i feel happy.  At least today i do!

I’d like to mention that i am going through a surgical procedure on June 19th.  I am kinda scared and a very big chicken!  What needs to be done, needs to be done!  There is the tiny chance that it could be worse, the biopsy will tell me that.  My doc said 99.9% it is NOTHING!  I believe her!  So, maybe you guys can say a prayer for me?  If you want!

I am getting a bit into wheatgrass!  Its an amazing thing, wheatgrass!! 

Why should I drink wheatgrass juice?

Growing and juicing your own wheat sprouts is not only decorative and fun, but also highly nutritional. Wheatgrass is full of vitamins, minerals and amino acids. The juice has many health benefits due to the high concentration of chlorophyll, Vitamins B-12, B-6, K & C, and beta-carotene.

Wheatgrass has the following properties:
•Detoxifies the liver
•Cleanses the colon
•Leads to a tangible energy boost
•Boosts the immune system
•Purifies blood as Chlorophyll has similar molecular structure to hemoglobin – a component of blood
•Very rich in chlorophyll
•Contains 97 enzymes, vitamins, phytochemicals and minerals made famous in the US by Dr. Ann Wigmore in treatment of cancer
•Experience less colds as your resistance to infection increases
•Contains more protein per once than beef

Good stuff huh?  Again, i’d like to stress that eating live foods or raw foods is only good for you if you WANT to do it!  Not because someone else does it ya know?  It is quite delicious though!  Bee pollen, honey, superfoods, hempseeds, chia seeds, raw cacao, fruit smoothies with aloe, fruit, nuts, seeds, …gosh the list goes on and on!  Next Saturday i am taking my sister out to Pure food and Wine in Manhattan and i will fully report on our dinner, including photos!! 

So, running…what can i say?  It has delighted me throughout the 20 years or so and has definitely made me a better person.  Of that i have no doubt!  Socially, mentally, physically, every which way you can think of!  I love it so, and i love you all!!!

I think i am literally Runnin’ down a dream each and every day i am out there!

“I make a great second impression.
Most people don’t know that.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2008 12:11 am

    Glad you’ve found a place in your life for prayer. I’ve joined Liv’s Independence Weight Loss Challenge, too. I need to get rid of 5-9 pounds and it seemed like a good weigh (pun intended) to stay motivated.

  2. June 2, 2008 11:40 am

    Love your attitude!!! I agree with you that you shouldn’t think in mileage. Be a minuteman (Opps, you can be a minutewoman!) Just say, hey, I am going out for half hour or one hour run. After that, you can figure out how many miles you did. You can say, Whoa, I did five miles.
    It’s euphoria to explore new foods as a way to improve your whole being. I am into organic foods because it does the wonder to your body + mind. I hate the concept of eating food that contain chemicals. There is one thing I haven’t done but too chicken to try and that is yoga. I do believe yoga is the master control of the universe for your mind and body. Maybe some day!

  3. June 3, 2008 6:38 pm

    I love the attitude! It feels so good to just go out the door and run with no tangible goal in mind. It’s so freeing! Good luck with the weight loss.. you can do it… I’ll be rooting for you!

  4. June 8, 2008 2:16 pm

    Michelle, first of all, you are a runner.

    Your thoughts have reminded me when I used to just go out on a Sunday morning with no goal in mind. I would chose a new route and pretend I was Forrest Gump, running till I felt like stopping. I enjoyed those runs more than any. I think I’ll do that today. Thanks

Leave a Reply

