Skip to content

1979 and stuff….

June 8, 2008

So, what were you doing in 1979?  Were you even born yet?  I was!  I was 18 years old in 1979.  Not yet a runner.  Not even thinking about running.  Yikes.  I just like this song, how about you?

The heat is on here in NY!  It’s about 90 degrees right now and extremely hazy.  I decided, rather happily not to run today.  For a few reasons:

1) I desperately needed a day off

2) It was 85 degress when i woke up

3) I really was tired

4) Did i mention i was tired?

Well, thats about it!  I am not stressing out about it.  No sireee!!!  Tomorrow is another day right? 

I’ve been looking through a Victoria’s Secret catalogue and believe it or not, i can now order some of their products.  When i say products i mean some cute PJ’s and maybe some tank tops and stuff.  Not the real sexy undies or bras.  I’m just not that person ya know?  Personally, most of the models in the catalogue look as if they are in the throes of orgasm as they gingerly touch their privates in an attempt to lure us all in.  Men?  What do you think?

There’s a lot to be said for running though.  Makes you look kinda sexy in a 1979 kind of way.  I like to always be running behind the guy with the spandex running shorts and a cool camo bandana.  The man butt is a powerful lure to finish 6 miles.   Unless of course the man butt belongs to an 80 year old and said man butt is flopping in the wind.  Not cool.  Apologies to any 80 year old man who has a flopping butt!

I ran 6 miles twice last week.  First time in:

1 hour 9 min (sucks)

1 hour 6 min (still sucks)

Someday i will get it down to 1 hour so it won’t suck as bad. 

This week i learned how to make nut cream cheese.  Real good on raw onion bread with some sprouts and avocado.  Makes a nice sandwich…

The weight loss challenge is coming along.  I did not lose any weight since last week so i am still being quite challenged.  There’s a lot to be said for staying the same weight weeks on end.  I think! 

I was a bad girl last night.  Let’s just say it involved icecream and lots of it.  Worth every cent and all the mental anguish i experienced afterwards.  Too good to pass up!  It’s summer after all.  Moments like these don’t happen very often.  Thanks Ralph’s ices and icecream!!!  Word!

I am inspired to run a race.  I want to run a race.  I am thinking the race for the cure in september….5K!  Dude, i am such a chicken shit.  More like i want to do a half marathon at some point.  I truly believe its doable for me.  Do you?

So, laundry done!  I am going to spend some quality time with myself and my bible!  Life simply cannot get any better than this!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2008 10:54 pm

    Hey M – I know the weather is such a bitch. I hate it. It was 95 degrees plus humidity makes it more miserable. Its difficult to run outside in this kind of temperature.
    Yes yes yes yes yes yes – you can do a half marathon. My wife is not a runner and she has not been trained at all. My wife signed up for half marathon (for the hell of it). She finished it in 3 hr and 20 mins by doing most of the walking. If she can do it, so can you. Although, I think you can do it in 2 hr and half.
    Stay cool in this miserable *expletive* heat wave.

  2. June 8, 2008 10:57 pm

    By the way, I was 15 years old back in 1979 living in Pittsburgh, PA. I think I was too busy collecting Playboy magazines back in 79. That is probably the only thing I can remember.

  3. June 9, 2008 2:08 am

    I love that song! I was such a cure-head! I was 17. And the ice cream – that was just “carbo loading” 😉

    I say go for that half marathon!

  4. June 10, 2008 12:14 am

    I got good news for you. I am tagging you so be sure to check my blog. *wink*

  5. June 12, 2008 5:35 pm

    You have been tagged Michelle… go to my blog to get your instructions:)

  6. michjoy61 permalink*
    June 13, 2008 1:23 am

    Yikes, i’ve been tagged 2X! What does this mean? Should i run an extra 5 miles??? Too much pressure! Nah, i will do it guys! This weekend, i promise!!!
    M

  7. BARB permalink
    June 13, 2008 8:14 pm

    HEY THERE JUST FOUND YOUR BLOG AND CHECKING IT OUT LOOKS NEAT SO FAR
    IN 1979 I WAS 17

  8. June 15, 2008 12:58 pm

    Wow, 1979. I was in Detroit, working midnights and probably either stoned or drunk. I did buy this great cottage on a lake in northern Michigan where we water-skiied all day and partyed all night. Those were some of the best days and worst days of my life.

Leave a Reply

