Skip to content

Pretty amazing grace and my fastest mile!!

July 1, 2008

Pretty amazing grace is what You showed me
pretty amazing grace is who You are
I was an empty vessel
You filled me up inside
and with amazing grace restored my pride

Pretty amazing grace is how You saved me
and with amazing grace reclaimed my heart
love in the midst of chaos
calm in the heat of war
showed with amazing grace what love was for

You forgave my insensitivity
and my attempt to then mislead You
You stood beside a wretch like me
Your pretty amazing grace was all I needed.

Stumbled inside the doorway of Your chapel
humbled in God by everything I found
beauty and love surround me
freed me from what I fear
ask for amazing grace and You appear

You overcame my loss of hope and faith
gave me a truth I could belive in
You led me to a higher place
showed Your amazing grace
when grace was what I needed

look in a mirror I see Your reflection
open a book You live on every page
I fall and You’re there to lift me
share every road I climb
and with amazing grace You ease my mind

Came to You with empty pockets first
when I returned I was rich man
didn’t believe love could quench my thirst
but with amazing grace You showed me that it can

In Your amazing grace I had a vision
from that amazing place I came to be
into the night I wandered
wandering aimlessly
found Your amazing grace to comfort me.

You overcame my loss of hope and faith,
gave me a truth I could believe in.
You led me to that higher place
showed me that love and truth and hope and grace were all I needed.

I wanted to include not only the video to this amazing song, but the lyrics as well!  Come on now guys, first of all, who doesn’t like, excuse me, love NEIL DIAMOND!  This man rocks my world.  This man wrote such an incredible song that speaks directly to me!!  TO ME!!!

My god!  How simply incredible is this??  First of all, he played at the Glastonbury Music Festival!!!  Check out that lineup!!  Friggin Neil Diamond!  Now while i admit, my musical tastes run the gamit from Christian rock to folk to hip hop but i shall always have a special place on my ipod for Mr. Diamond.  He’s my homeboy!  A fellow Brooklynite!  SWEET!!!  I love this dude so much!

Want to hear the best part?  I am going to see him in concert on August 15th!  YES!!  Madison Square Garden!  Now, the venue is not perfect only because its very big and i like a much more intimate setting, but hey its Neil! 

Here is Mr. Neil at a secret Myspace concert in NYC at a very small venue called The Bitter End!  How neat!!!  CHERRY CHERRY!!! 

See how music lifts up my heart?  It really makes an OK day so much better!  You too??

So, now on to some running stuff.  June 29th was officially 5 months since i started back on my running since my broke my toe last year!!!  So, in 5 months i’m up to 5-6 miles.  Not bad huh?  But today, i did my fastest mile since i started.  Ready?  I did a mile in 9 min 19 sec!!  WOOHOO!!!

I ran as if my life depended on it!  I don’t know why really.  It just had to be done.  Of course, i thought i had run a 7 minute mile with the amount of energy expended so i was kinda scratching my head in disbelieve afterwards, but then i thought hey michelle dude, give yourself just a little credit OK?  So, i did. 

I realized i do not have many most excellent running photos of myself, so here i am partaking in some caffeine afterwards!  HA!  UGH, this photo is horrible!  Weight wise i am down 35lbs!  Pretty amazing!!  I feel great, look dorky and run like the dickens!! 

Next stop is Ashland Oregon!  July 23rd!  Yikes!  More on that later, promise!  Nerves are settling a bit, but still there!  Here is a nice prayer i’d like to end with:

 

The Prayer of Saint Francis

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace,
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
where there is sadness, joy;
O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood as to understand;
to be loved as to love.

For it is in giving that we receive;
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

A bit heavy, but it really means a lot to me!  So, in turn i hope it touches you too!!  Love you guys!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2008 8:53 pm

    35 pounds really??!! A nine minute mile??!! You have no idea how jealous I am. Of seeing Neil too.

    NICE WORK.

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    July 2, 2008 9:22 pm

    Yeah baby 35lbs! I was a porker!!! And it was 9 min 19 sec Nancy, after that mile i was spent and couldn’t do anymore even if someone was dangling 1,000,000 in my face!!!

    WOOHOO NEIL!

  3. July 3, 2008 12:59 am

    Good job on the 9:19 mile.

    Enjoy that concert!

  4. July 3, 2008 4:14 pm

    That is my favorite song on the new album…. I love Mr Diamond! Enjoy the show, I’m totally jealous!!

    And great job on both the weight loss and the kick ass fast mile!

  5. July 4, 2008 5:50 am

    Michelle,

    Awesome on everything, the mile, the great job you are doing on your body and health, your strong and growing faith – all of it! Way to go woman!

  6. July 6, 2008 12:09 am

    9:19 Get out !!! Unbelievable !!! You totally rock chick ! That is quite phenomenal. WTG ! You have to pat on your shoulder for this great job you did. Keep up the good work and pretty soon, you will be neck to neck with a crooner at MSG !

  7. July 6, 2008 11:40 am

    Hey, we just listened to some Neil Diamond on our roadtrip the other week.

    Good job on the pace. 9:19 a good clip.
    My only problem on that speed is that I can’t keep it up much more than a mile. Oh well, once of these days.

  8. Michelle permalink*
    July 6, 2008 4:46 pm

    Oh me too! I cannot keep up that pace for more than 1 mile either!!!

    Thanks to all my running buddies for your encouraging comments!!! Love you guys!!!

Leave a Reply

