Skip to content

Orthorexia???? HUH?

July 11, 2008

[redlasso id=”10f07d0c-d348-404e-a29d-f45189190088″]

So, i just read about this today in a friends blog!  Orthoreixa??  This is a new one to me.  I mean sure i “want” to eat healthy and for the most part i do eat healthy but i’ll be damned if i’m going to be labeled an orthoreixic!  To me this is just the psychologists of the world trying to rake in more $$$$.  Right?  Are you with me on this???

Does this look like the face of a person with Orthorexia???  I think not!  I am stunned at this.  Maybe, its not so new but its way way off base, IMHO! 

Leave it to a medical doctor to determine that too much healthy eating is BAD! I mean come on! I agree that eating disorders of any kind are not funny and should be treat with respect and sensitivity. This video didn’t reflect or show any Orthorexians that I saw, just talked about how it exists.   The food showed in this video, to me looked amazingly delicious! 

Rant over!!!

So, i’ve run 5 days in a row.  Mostly 4 miles, 5 miles twice i think.  I’m still at about 53 minutes for the 5 miles.  9 min 19 seconds being my fastest mile.  I cannot seem to get below that number but honestly if i ask myself why i need to, i cannot come up with a solid answer!  So, i’m happy where i’m at right now.  Plus, the weather has been really humid and sticky.  I come home sweating profusely.  It’s kinda embarrassing sometimes.  Not too concerned really.

My hiking trip is coming up fast.  12 days away now!  I am getting exceedingly nervous and tense.  Lots of reasons that i’d rather not get into just yet but i will.

Once again i wanna take this and a lot of it:

I’m so reluctant to share things here for fear of the wrong person reading it but i know my running buddies here will always understand.  Thats BIG!!  I think i am inadequate in trying to express my feelings sometimes.   Or sometimes, maybe too much sharing? 

I have a lot on my mind and it’s hurting almost.  Intense is maybe a better word.  It’s OK, i’ll be fine, i’m sure.

It’s just right now, i want to say FUCK it all!  I want to shout it out loud.  I may do that later!!  :O)

Weekend is approaching fast.  No plans.  Running of course.  Thats a given.  I’ll see!  Love you all once again!

 

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Romans 15:13 

New Rule: The more complicated the Starbucks order, the bigger the asshole. If you walk into a Starbucks and order a ‘decaf grandee, half-soy, half-low fat, iced vanilla, double-shot, gingerbread cappuccino, extra dry, light ice, with one Sweet-n’-Low, and One NutraSweet,’ ooooh, you’re a huge asshole.

New Rule: Just because your tattoo has Chinese characters in it doesn’t make you Spiritual. It’s right above the crack of your ass. And it translates to ‘beef with broccoli.’ The last time you did anything spiritual, you were praying to God you weren’t pregnant. You’re not spiritual. You’re just high.

New Rule: If you ever hope to be a credible adult and want a job that pays better than Minimum wage, then for God’s sake don’t pierce or tattoo every available piece of flesh. If so, then plan your future around saying, ‘Do you want fries with that?’

Yeah i would be the only one who blogs, that ends a post with a nice scripture, then adds on some new rules for 2008 from George Carlin!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2008 11:23 pm

    Oh man… I am getting a huge laughter cramp at this moment. I love it. First of all, I am going to really say this. Fuck the word – Orthorexia. Whoever coined the term “Orthorexia” is one huge fucking oxymoron who probably digs coconut-fat laden food for a living. Screw ’em! I dig organic foods and truly loves it. You are what you eat, period. Now they can go and shove it up their ass.
    Secondly – I love the new rule about Starbucks order. This is the one I really cracked up. Remind me of a snobbish lady at Starbucks who gave about two pages long order for one specific drink. What an asshole!
    Now, I am heading to Starbucks for a simple Strawberry Creme frappachino. How simple is that to order it?
    I am excited about your upcoming trip to Oregon. It will be an eye-opener for you.
    Lastly, you are doing a phenomenal job on your running. Keep it up.

  2. July 13, 2008 11:25 pm

    As far as I can tell, there is one doctor that made up this orthoexia thing and he’s the only one that seems to write about it. Hmmmmmm.

  3. michjoy61 permalink*
    July 14, 2008 1:07 am

    fucking oxymoron…Ted, i think i love you right now!!! You would be a hoot to run with for sure!!!

    Never had a strawberry creme frapp!! You bet your ass i’m going to try that next time i’m in Starbucks!!

    Lisa, your right about that!!! It’s quite ridiculous don’t ya think? I think i’m going to eat a yodel now!!!

Leave a Reply

