Skip to content

My race report 8 on 8-8-08

August 8, 2008

Firstly, i am going to admit how much of an incompetent person i am in the area of writing backwards.  I can’t run backwards, why should i know how to write backwards??  Believe me, its not from lack of trying.  I was at every mirror i own trying to get these signs to be readable.  Then, i thought to myself….”self”  the people reading this race report will, beyond a shadow of a doubt, be able to not only read, but understand the fact that its way to technical to get the words and numbers just right, right?

Nancy, my running friend organized this very cool virtual race called 8 on 8-8-08.  Well, thats what i call it.  It’s a race run by people who like to run.

That said, my mind was willing but my body was like the little engine that could….hmmm could not.  It just wasn’t in the cards for me to run the complete 8 miles today.  Wasn’t the weather.  I just felt tired and a little sluggish so knowing i had 5 miles down yesterday, i focused my attention on completing 3 miles today.  I did.  

My times sucked though.  I was running as fast as my legs could carry me.  Really, i was.  How i ended up with a 54.10 5 mile and a 34.45 3 mile is beyond me.  We are talking 88.55 for 8 miles.  SUCKS!!  

I’m feeling all kinds of frustration kick in.  I feel as if i not only disappointed myself, but i disappointed you guys as well.  Well, you live and learn eh?  

No excuses here but today was day #12 of consecutive running for me.  Maybe, i was a little tired.  Maybe, if i had my garmin, i’d know better how to pace myself.  Or not.  Too many maybes here.  I know there will be other virtual races and i will hopefully be better prepared.

I am doing the Race for the Cure in September.  A 5K.  Easy?  Sure!!!  

So, there you have it.  My race report for 8 on 8-8-08. 

5 miles   54.10

3 miles    34.45

Total        88.55  That is over an 11 min pace per mile.  UGH!!

Quick edit or a P.S. :

Today, (8-9-08) i ran 5 miles in

52.26

Go figure?????

14 Comments leave one →
  1. J-mom permalink
    August 8, 2008 8:14 pm

    What? 12 days in a row? YOU rock!!!

  2. August 9, 2008 2:59 pm

    Hey don’t feel bad, I ran the 8 on the 8th in 88:53 – and even if it is slow, at least it has two 8’s in it!

  3. August 9, 2008 7:49 pm

    Michelle:
    Good work with the 8 miles! The rules totally allow you to split it into two days! 🙂 I can’t believe you’ve run on 12 consecutive days…you must be young and resilient! I replied to your Garmin question on my blog (hopefully you’ll get it by email too). Have fun with the Garmin and good luck in the 5K!
    Kristin

  4. August 9, 2008 9:22 pm

    Michelle, I’m sorry to say, I have no more respect for you. Everyone should be able to write their times backwards, upside down, in zero g, underwater, or anywhere else a run may take you.
    Sheesh.

    Otherwise, good run.

  5. August 9, 2008 11:23 pm

    Good job. My 8 on the 8 (er 2nd) took 96mins, so 88 mins sounds good to me. Besides, it’s the perfect time! 88 mins for 8 on 8/8/08. YOU ROCK!

  6. August 9, 2008 11:31 pm

    You did it !!! What did I tell ya? I knew you can do it. Regardless of the time, you made the effort. Look at this way… its all 88888888s. That is quite phenomenal.

  7. August 9, 2008 11:32 pm

    Don’t be so hard on yourself. We all have bad days. The good thing is that you got through it. You probably just need some rest though. Twelve consecutive days is a lot of running.

  8. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 10, 2008 12:19 am

    Ok, i’m putting this into writing:
    I plan on running 5 miles every single day until the end of August!! That is 22 more days of consecutive running! It’s a goal that i think i can realy accomplish!!!!

    Then in Sept i plan on 2 races:
    The race for the cure in Central Park
    The great cow harbor 10K in Long Island

    anybody wanna join me??

  9. August 10, 2008 12:36 am

    I will be your virtual cheerleader. I am counting on you to pull this feat. You will actually beat my monthly mileage to a pulp. I should do the same thing, too! Let me think on this one……..

  10. August 10, 2008 12:56 am

    The book I am currently reading is about Dean Karnazes’ chronicles of his 50 marathons in 50 states in 50 consecutive days. If he can run 26.2 miles for 50 days in a row, I can run 5+ miles in 22 consecutive days with you as my virtual running partner. Bring it on !!! Let’s pull the feat and record it on daily basis via blog. You are on! Let rock and roll and have FUN !

  11. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 10, 2008 1:01 am

    YAY!! You rock Ted!! Now i see 5+….OK, well i am definitely on board for 5 miles each day, if i can do more i will. I have not done more than 6 miles so far so this is a really big experiment!!!

    YAY YAY YAY!!!!

  12. August 10, 2008 1:14 am

    You will be amaze what you can do for the next 22 days. This is totally unexpected of me to participate in 22 consecutive days. HELL, Why not? I am so accustomed to having 2-3 days off per week. This will be my first attempt to do for 22 consecutive days! I will be recording my first one tomorrow. Rain, snow, sleet, hail, hot, cold… whatever.. BRING IT ON! Let’s have fun and lets show the world what we are made out of.

  13. August 10, 2008 12:31 pm

    Don’t beat yourself up–running 12 days in a row has got to have its negative effects! You finished it, and that’s what’s important!

    I responded to your comment on my blog. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  14. August 11, 2008 5:14 am

    Hey, no worries, Sister. You got 8 done with the rest of us and we don’t care how or how fast. 😀 We care that you did it. Have you seen the Olympic creed? (you will see if in the results post). I think you did awesome. Thanks for playing 😀

Leave a Reply

