Skip to content

Better to be….

August 13, 2008

f

It’s way better to be able to run 5 miles and THEN keep going.  So, thats what i did today.  

First, let me explain my morning.  So, i was blissfully asleep dreaming.  Here’s my dream.  I desperately wanted to take a day off (in my dream of course).  So, i arose and called my running mentor/friend whom i run with daily.  Here’s how it went down:

 

Me:  “Hi, Ilene i’m taking today off, just wanted to let you know”

Her:  What?? It’s 61 degrees and sunny my friend.  Hang up, get dressed and get out here!

Me: Hmmm, sure OK!!  

CLICK!!

Then i wake up, turn on the TV and see that it is 61 degrees and sunny!!  I’m all like WTF just happened?  Was i indeed dreaming?  Did i really make that phone call??  It felt so damn real.  Like freaky real!!  TED??  Was that you??  I’m so confused!

So, that all happened before i set foot out the door.  But, i did it!  16 consecutive days of running!  Today, i believe i did about 5 1/2 miles give or take.  You can all see my backwards time up there right?  58.04.  I ran a mile in 10 minutes somewhere inbetween.  I did not come home sweating profusely.  This tells me i made the right decision to NOT NOT NOT take a day off.  Can you imagine how utterly defeated i may have felt?

Plus, and this is the important part.  I am the chick doing this.  I have a reputation to uphold for all of my running chick friends.  Running chicks are an amazing bunch.  We all, every single one of us ROCK!!  Big fucking time!!!

Now, Michelle needs to settle in for some Olympic watching and perhaps some dreams???

Do not worry, these are NOT my running socks!!!

Gotta mention this because it pisses me off.  Please folks give me some feedback, not only on the fact that i so ROCK, but on this article too!!  Buck teeth???  WTF??

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2008 10:41 am

    WTF! I was hoping that was your socks! Dang it, I wish Ilene has talk out of you to get your much needed rest. 😉 Overall, you sure do ROCK. I got some business stuff to take care of in the morning but don’t you worry. I shall hit the road in the mid morning to take care of our “streaking” business. Hey, is Rahn joining us???

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 13, 2008 1:41 pm

    I don’t know about Rahn, I sure hope he is not mad as us!! I say anybody who wants to join us, just DO IT!!! We (ted and myself) love people, especially runners!!! They are the best!!

  3. August 13, 2008 5:33 pm

    No, not mad…disappointed that those aren’t your running socks though.
    I have toe socks for running, but they’re just while. Well, more like a dull grey at this point, since they are so worn out. But they’re my favorite.

    I’m joining Ted in his effort to get chicked.
    (But I won’t write about it every day.)

  4. J-mom permalink
    August 14, 2008 10:17 pm

    Not only am I upset that they switched the girl singers BUT I don’t believe that the gymnasts are 16 either. GRRRRR

    You rock btw. :>D

Leave a Reply

