Skip to content

I am in love….

August 21, 2008

With my garmin!  I tell you this is a love i’ve never felt before!  It’s intense and very reciprocal.  Not only do i love my garmin, but my garmin loves me.  It is always there for me and is very honest.  The thing is, i literally had no idea how to handle my garmin.  He/she was very stubborn and unyielding.   I tried.  I really did.  I held my garmin and soothed it.  I talked to it calmly and then just a tad more harshly!  I caressed it and even slept with it the first night.  Still nothing.  

Then a miracle happened.  The very man i am running with/against/for made me an offer i simply could not refuse.  The man i am talking about is Mr. Ted.  Mr. Ted has and is in love with Joost!  His garmin!  He is very excited about using Joost and will tell anybody about this love.  He told me.  He also offered, very nicely i might add, to literally walk, ooops i mean run through the steps to get my garmin to really show me the love.  He made it easy for this not so smart runner who likes to think she is a tech geek or as i like to say a “geek freak”…

So, yesterday was my first day with garmin on my left hand all charged up full of love.  It was quite a revelation to run with this thing.  While not all that fashionable garmin really held its own on my run.

Ted, dude i thank you and appreciate you!!

So, here’s the stats:

August 20th – Day 24

Total Time:
01:04:43
Distance:
6.30 mi
Elevation Gain/Loss:
998 ft / -1,061 ft
 Here is splits:
653 C

August 21 – Day 25

Total Time:
01:07:50
Distance:
6.14 mi
Elevation Gain/Loss:
1,299 ft / -1,337 ft
Calories:
611 C

 

Forgive me for i do not know how to really put all the cool stuff on my blog…YET!!

Show me the love garmie!!!

The Stills! I first got turned on to them back in 2004 after hearing the wonderfully hypnotic “Still in Love Song” from the highly-praised “Logic Will Break Your Heart” debut. Their new song “Being Here” gets back to basics with a more accessible approach: nothing fancy, just a mid-tempo ditty with a sweet sentiment propelled by smooth-as-a-baby-bottom vocals and a super catchy chorus. After two spins, I guarantee you’ll be crooning aloud “Being here, oh ho oh ho, being here!” over and over and over. I’m doing it right now.  Check out The Stills .  They are pretty freakin cool!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2008 2:23 pm

    Ohh….how I too love my garmie!!! I’ve had mine for awile and still have not downloaded it to my computer… yet…maybe next week while I am on vacation. I am hoping to make the training run next week, so we can try and connect, but there is a chance that I won’t be there..I’ll know more over the weekend.

    Liz

  2. August 21, 2008 2:57 pm

    Swweeeeet… As you build wonderful relationship with your Garmie, you will be getting more out of it. Enjoy every run with Garmie. Make sure you fluff your pillow for Garmie for rest after each run. Your Garmie needs to be pampered on a daily basis.

  3. August 21, 2008 3:57 pm

    Poor me…no fancy garmin. My only one is old yellow, back from 2001.
    Oh well. I suppose it works fine. Will probably give it a whirl this weekend when we go for a run.

  4. August 22, 2008 5:47 pm

    I Love my Garmin. It took my road racing up to a whole new level!

  5. August 23, 2008 12:11 pm

    First of all, I like The Stills, actually never heard them before.

    Nice run, looks like you’re really improving and Garmin is proving it. I think you need to come up with a name for your new friend, how about Pash?

    As for the fancy orange flower shorts my daughter has, I bought them at the local running store in town but I’ve also seen the same design at some race expos. I’ll try to find out what brand they are. They come with extra special running mojo at no extra cost!

Leave a Reply

