Skip to content

A letter to my body…

August 24, 2008

Yeah, lets annoy runners!!!  Thing is us runner’s don’t get annoyed easily do we???

Dear Body,

I am not quite sure how to put this but i will try!  I used to look at you and think that i wish i had a better, stronger, more attractive body.  I used to think that i got screwed with the body i have.  I mean that flabby tummy really has to go!!  

Then July 28th came.  It was a monday and i ran.  Then i ran the next day.  And the next.  Then i started thinking about how my body is really cooperating with me, for a change.  It was starting to become fun to get up and complete my run everyday.

Then somehow a running streak was born.  Body, i think you know Ted don’t you?  He’s doing this with me.  Not only that but he taught me how to use paash with step by step directions and he encourages me every step of the way.

Body, i don’t know what else to say to you.  You are a bit sick now.  Some sort of chest cough.  You made me choke last night and i almost lost my dinner too.  I know body, you are rebelling against me.  You are telling me i should be done and i almost was.  Done, i mean!!

Today i ran body.  But you know that already.  You were right there with me.  Wanna see what you did??  Yes it’s right there for you to see and revel in!!!  

So, all i could say at this point is body you are coming through for me and allowing me to achieve this little thing in my big running career!  I thank you and love you!!!

Total Time:
00:25:16
Distance:
2.34 mi
Avg Speed:
5.5 mph
Avg HR:
Elevation Gain/Loss:
1,276 ft / -1,244 ft

Here’s what else i love!  You guys!!  Every single one of you are so inspirational to me.  You all make me want to be a better, faster runner!   Thanks!!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. suzie permalink
    August 24, 2008 8:29 pm

    Michelle running every day no matter if you are in a contest is not a smart thing to do. I am sure you have read books on running, if not you should. You are sooo not going to improve your times by running every single day and by the time the day your race comes you are going to bonk. Everything you are doing points to failure.

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 24, 2008 9:09 pm

    Thanks Suzie for your concern! It is not really a contest more of a challenge if you will. I will certainly make sure that there is absolutely no room for failure as i plan to start training properly in september!!!

    Thanks
    M

  3. August 24, 2008 10:19 pm

    If you are coughing, you really need to rest and heal. I was tought that whole thing about above vs below the neck. Above the neck (sniffles, congestion, etc) and you can train at 50% intensity, but below the neck (coughing, chills, etc) and you need to rest. Be careful!

  4. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 24, 2008 10:24 pm

    Oy Vey!!! This is getting hard! I know the right thing to do, yet i am conflicted to really want to finish this thing off. The coughing was less today but still there. I did cut my mileage down to only 2-3 miles. Thank you Lisa i know you are concerned and i appreciate it very much!!! I will think tonight!!! UGH! This is hard!!!

    HELP!!!

    M

  5. suzie permalink
    August 25, 2008 12:03 pm

    Michelle Lisa is right above the neck you can run, below the neck (chest) take some time to recuperate. Good luck

  6. August 25, 2008 12:48 pm

    Oy Vey is right. Don’t listen to the meshugina that kvetch at you to stop. Have some chicken soup, a matzo ball or two, and carry on.

    (Dang, I think I’ve almost used up my yiddish, since telling you to go bang your head against a wall doesn’t seem appropriate.)

  7. suzie permalink
    August 25, 2008 3:29 pm

    Rahn you are soooo wrong.

  8. August 25, 2008 4:49 pm

    Great job. I read on Ted’s blog about your running every day, and that is great. If your body won’t let you because it is broken, then that’s one thing. But to gut it out like you did and make it happen is commendable!

    Excellent work. I find that by running, I can relieve my stresses and work towards my goals that I have set for myself. So I find myself running everyday. Sometimes twice. It’s not a goal of mine, but I just end up out where the rubber meets the road.

    Happy running.

  9. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 25, 2008 5:08 pm

    Oh come on guys! Let’s all be running friends OK???

    I only have 6 days to go AND i just came from the doctor, he heard some wheezing and said something is definitely going around! I have some cough stuff to take and i do feel a little better!!!

    Rahn, you crack me up dude!!!

    Suzie are you a runner? I realize you are trying to help but i will not do anything stupid!!!

    6 days!!!

    Michelle

  10. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 25, 2008 5:10 pm

    Hey Spartan7 thanks for your kind words! I appreciate hearing from other runners out there. It helps me to know i’m not too crazy!!! :O)

    M

  11. suzie permalink
    August 25, 2008 7:04 pm

    yes i am a runner, I do every New York Road runners race including the NYC Marathon 5 times.

  12. August 26, 2008 1:01 am

    I have the cold crap too. It’s hanging on but I am fighting it like a mother! 😀 I did run 2.5 during it but it felt like a marathon. Take it easy. KUDOS on the streak!!

  13. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 26, 2008 1:08 am

    Hi Nancy, great girlie on the 2.5! It sure is hard to run with a crappy cold huh? I just took some stuff so i am a bit sleepppppyyyy!!!

    M

  14. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 26, 2008 1:48 am

    Suzie, i didn’t know you live in NY! Hey, maybe we can meet sometime for a run??

    M

  15. suzie permalink
    August 26, 2008 12:23 pm

    don’t think so Michelle, I don’t meet anyone from the internet. I am a lone wolf runner.

Leave a Reply

