Skip to content

Dirty thirty days….and counting!!!

August 26, 2008

Total Time: 00:58:01
Distance: 5.33 mi
Elevation Gain/Loss: 1,594 ft / 1,691 ft
Calories: 565 C

It’s day 30 of my running streak!  Today was 62 degrees and sunny!  I remarked to my running friend that “I can run for a long time in this weather”.  It was remarkable!   My cold is nearly gone and i feel really good.  Any aches and pains i had last week are completely gone. 

I am running pain free.  I am running mentally clear and i feel as though i can run forever and ever!! 

I need some help though.  So, both Ted and I agree that neither of us really need a training program.  I started thinking a bit about this and i think that i can (we can) benefit from some sort of “training” program to follow into the fall months.

I am doing a 10K on Sept 20th.  I know i can run the distance but not fast.  At least not as fast as i’d like.  So, my RBF can someone point me in the right direction as to how to train?  I’d love to go on to a half at some point and even (dare i say it) a marathon!!!  Can a marathon even be in my running future?  I simply don’t know!!

I read numerous blogs about long runs and training and 21 milers.  It’s all so foreign to me, yet tempting!  It’s like the forbidden fruit, you know its there and you want it so bad, yet its just not ripe enough yet!!! 

So, help!!!????

Also, a word to Suzie:

Just wanna say thanks for the tips on taking days off.  It’s been a while since i did take a day off, but i will.  Soon!

Rahn, dude you crack me up!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. J-mom permalink
    August 26, 2008 11:26 pm

    I would say that you have such a strong base built up that running a half or even a full someday would be no problem. There are tons of plans out there…I usually just go by the 10% rule and add a little mileage each week until I get to the right spot.

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 27, 2008 12:55 am

    Yes, J-mom that sounds right! I worry though because the fall weather is ideal for running and then you run some more!!! I’ll be smart though! I want a marathon in my future!!!

    M

  3. August 27, 2008 4:37 am

    Last December, my long runs were 8 miles. I ramped it up to do my first half at the end of January, and my first full at the end of May (didn’t decide to start going for a full until April though). For the half, I just always did a long run on weekends, and added a mile every week until I hit 12. Then I figured I’d be fine to do the marathon. Really simple plan, but it worked!

  4. suzie permalink
    August 27, 2008 10:40 am

    tons of plans out there, just google training. BUT I am assuming your silliness of running every day will cease once you actually start training for an actual race. NO plan calls for running every day unless you want to get injured especially half and marathon plans. You need either to cross train on off days or not run on off days. As you ramp up the mileage days off for recovery are crucial. Good luck.

  5. August 27, 2008 1:46 pm

    There are many plans out there. I’m currently following something like the following:

    Sun – off or cross train
    Mon – short easy run
    Tue – core + speed work
    Wed – off or cross train
    Thu – core + speed work
    Fri – off or cross train
    Sat – long run

    My long runs have been increasing by 1 miles per week getting up to the half marathon and won’t ever go over 12. Every 4 weeks or so, I cut back before moving on.

    My short runs are somewhere between 3 and 5 miles. I cross train by doing strength work at the gym, swimming, or cycling.

    Keep in mind that Rest is just as important as running.

  6. August 27, 2008 6:20 pm

    As others have mentioned, there are plenty of training plans out there: FIRST, Higdon, Galloway, Runner’s World Smart Coach. Of course, you can run a half and full marathon. Not trick to it if you are willing to put in the time and dedication. That’s all there is to it. No special talent needed.

    As far as running fast, you have to TRAIN faster. Do pick-ups, intervals, fartleks…something like this periodically to get used to a faster speed. It ain’t gonna come by running the same ole pace every run.

  7. michjoy61 permalink*
    August 27, 2008 7:20 pm

    Thanks guys! I think with all the info here and what i read online i will be set for a marathon in 09!!! As far as running fast, i don’t even know what fartleks are YET!!! More reseach for Michelle!!!

    Thanks again!!!

  8. August 27, 2008 11:06 pm

    Sorry, I’m useless…I can get you through a full with no problem, but as far as speed? hahahaha.
    But you know, the people in the back are usually having a good time, so it doesn’t bug me.

    Heck, my favorite marathon so far was NYC, where I walked the whole thing. Had a blast.

    Talk to me mid-October, I should be able to tell you how this daily thing gets me through a long race.

Leave a Reply

