Skip to content

Here i am…Post Streak….

September 3, 2008

“Cherish your visions and your dreams, as they are the children of your soul, the blueprints of your ultimate achievements. ~ Napoleon Hill

Mentors are important to have …and there are different types of mentors. Some mentors are the type that you personally know & who give you advice and information to help you.

Other mentors are people who inspire you in some way, they can be either living, your contemporaries, or people who lived before you.. many people are inspired by people from history.

If you pay attention to how they lived and acted, you can take on the qualities that impress you most, that that person has or had. Think of what that person would do in a certain situation and it can influence you to act that way and you will start to take on those attributes which you most admire.

 

Now that my first running streak is over, i need to start focusing my thoughts and my running elsewhere.  I mean i certainly will still be out there, pounding the pavement, doing what i love, but i think i need to focus a bit.  I know i joke around a lot but in reality i am seriously trying to determine the best training for me.

Many people have suggested to me various training methods, but i think for me the best thing to do is just run.  Sprinkle in some speed work perhaps, but just get out there and enjoy myself. 

I am simple.  Simple in my running, i mean.  I have no fancy tricks up my sleeve.  It’s just me, Paash and my ipod!  Some days its just me and Paash.  Some days its Paash and my ipod.  Those are the days i oversleep!! 

My concern is my mind.  I have way to many thoughts roaming around at all times.  It never shuts off.  So even when i am sleeping, i am thinking.  I am moving.  I am running.   I am thinking. 

I like to analyze everything.  Why did i say that to him???  Should i have run that extra mile today???  Oh shit, why did i just eat that chocolate chip cookie??  Too much……….I need a break!

Now, its politics on my mind, but that is a whole other post for another time. 

Don’t get me wrong, i love the fact that i am inquisitive but it gets to me sometimes.  Maybe, i am too curious.  Maybe, i need to tone it down just a bit.   I simply don’t know.

All i do know is that my love of running goes deep.  It’s in my soul.  My streaking days are certainly not over.  Not by a long shot.  I have to beat 36 days you know? 

I’m a special and unique individual, yet there is nothing special or unique about me. Cool thing, because I can use my mentors’ maps to find my own path. No need to reinvent the wheel, just have to shape it to fit my vehicle.

So, here i am….Post Streak!!

Activity: Run
Date: 09/03/08  06:51 AM
Distance: 5.22 miles
Time: 0:55:18
Speed: 5.7 mph
Pace: 10′ 36 min/mile
Calories: 618
Heart Rate:
Activity Goal: None
Weather:
  Mostly Cloudy
Temp: 71 F
Humidity: 68
Heat Index: 71 F
Wind: SE 3
Difficulty: 1.8  

No Excuses – Alice in Chains unplugged

Its alright
There comes a time
Got no patience to search
For peace of mind
Layin low
Want to take it slow
No more hiding or
Disguising truths Ive sold

Everyday its something
Hits me all so cold
Find me sittin by myself
No excuses, then I know

Its okay
Had a bad day
Hands are bruised from
Breaking rocks all day
Drained and blue
I bleed for you
You think its funny, well
Youre drowning in it too

Everyday its something
Hits me all so cold
Find me sittin by myself
No excuses, then I know

Yeah, its fine
Well walk down the line
Leave our rain, a cold
Trade for warm sunshine
You my friend
I will defend
And if we change, well i
Love you anyway

Everyday its something
Hits me all so cold
Find me sittin by myself
No excuses, then I know

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin Leigh permalink
    September 3, 2008 9:51 pm

    Your brain sounds a lot like mine. I guess it is better to be like that then to have nothing going on in there 😉

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    September 3, 2008 10:10 pm

    Erin:
    I concur!!!

    M

  3. September 4, 2008 12:46 am

    You are awesome. I’m sure something on me would have broken down way before reaching 36 days.

  4. michjoy61 permalink*
    September 4, 2008 12:48 am

    Christie you know besides my cold that i got 2 weeks left i felt fine…well actually i was really tired but my body did not hurt. No pain. I was so grateful about that part!!! I will do another streak towards the end of the year!!! It’s kinda fun!!!

    M

  5. September 4, 2008 6:23 pm

    Sometimes I just turn everything off and concentrate on what I can hear…birds, wind in the trees, watch the clouds drift along…sometimes it is a quiet relief to get out of your head…

    But still, it is better to have ramblings and musing rather than not!

    Keeping it simple is the best way to run…

  6. Jenn permalink
    September 4, 2008 8:03 pm

    Let me know when you learn the trick to quieting your mind! I’m searching like a mad-woman over here! 🙂

  7. michjoy61 permalink*
    September 4, 2008 8:09 pm

    Lily yes i agree…i do love to listen to the sounds of the ocean as i’m running, thats really nice actually!!! Keep it simple!! I like that!!

    Jenn jenn, lets search together eh???

    M

  8. September 6, 2008 12:16 am

    i do a lot of thinking when I run also, but I like a plan.

  9. September 11, 2008 7:47 pm

    My husband is the inquisitive one. I’m pretty much the fly by the seat of my pants one. 😀 He drives me crazy sometimes but we do make very good very informed decisions….eventually! ha. I’m sure God brought us together to help me think a little more and he to be a little more spontaneous! 😀

    Great job on the miles. You are doing so well. I am gimping around for 3 or 4 is all. Back to the PT on Monday. I haven’t been talking about it on the blog but the hip and back pain has been getting worse. BLAH. I supposed it is old age.

Leave a Reply

