Skip to content

My virtually run 1 mile 9-6-08…

September 6, 2008

Today dawned very ugly.  Low 70’s, dense fog and high humidity.  Hurricane Hanna is on her way but had not yet struck at 7AM.  I realized that today is Sept 6th and i needed to complete the Virtual 1 miler.  After reading other blogs and reports on the mile i decided to do a 1 mile warm up and then just go for it.  I thought i would be able to then do a 1 mile cool down but i simply couldn’t.  It was as if the light switch in my brain turned itself off and my legs followed suit.  Plus, i was sweating profusely and i saw up ahead a cute guy that i certainly couldn’t let see the sweat pouring.  I reached in quickly to my underware and that too was soaked.  I swear, if i was a man i would run sans shirt.  Sans everything really.   Hey, i like the word sans.  I did not, however run sans ipod.  After doing the mile i came to realize i am in no way ready for real speed work.  I have a lot of work ahead of me.  I am a little worried about my upcoming 10K race on September 20th.  I suppose i could just do it without any expectations and hopefully i will be pleasantly surprised…hopefully….

Mile 1 – 10.40

Mile 2 – 9.24

I’m a freakin running machine!!  I dare anybody to run with me!!!   

I must thank Reid.

He made this virtual 1 miler happen.  You rock dude!!!  I also must thank Paash.  Without her i may have flaked at this 1 mile.  Without Paash on my left arm, i would have felt naked and vulnerable.  Thanks Paash.

Splits
MILE PACE (MIN/MILE) SPEED (MPH) ELEVATION
GAIN
ACTUAL +/- AVG ACTUAL +/- AVG
1 10′ 40 +0′ 37 5.6 -0.4 +3 ft
2 9′ 24 -0′ 39 6.4 +0.4 -4 ft
end 16′ 40 +6′ 37 3.6 -2.4 0 ft
Versus average of 10′ 03 min/mile:       Slower     Faster  

 


14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2008 5:09 pm

    Great job Michelle! I’m so glad you were able to get your mile in with me. It really means a lot to have such great support out there. Good luck with your 10k. You’ll do great!

  2. September 6, 2008 5:57 pm

    Great job on the 1 mile. It is really cool to read about so many people doing the mile challenge.

    Keep up the good work and don’t worry about the 10K now, because it is a proven fact that all runners worry about the race on race day!

  3. michjoy61 permalink*
    September 6, 2008 6:22 pm

    Thanks guys!!!

    You both rock!!

    M

  4. September 7, 2008 6:00 am

    Not to worry, everyone has those crappy running days. Excellent job as you pushed through it! You are ready for that 10k Michelle.

  5. michjoy61 permalink*
    September 7, 2008 12:07 pm

    Thank you Jenny! I appreciate your support!!

    I am here for you too!! I hope you have some great runs!!

    M

  6. September 7, 2008 7:18 pm

    Good job on your mile. 🙂

  7. September 7, 2008 10:02 pm

    AWESOME JOB chica!! You rock! ;D

  8. September 7, 2008 10:48 pm

    You just ran 36 straight days and you are nervous about your 10K race!
    hehe
    Hey Michelle isn’t it funny how runners blogs just seem to get around?
    Didn’t even know that you had this one.
    I talked to you last on Raw Cool.. You said you were a runner, but I didn’t know just how much of one you were. You are my HERO 😉

  9. September 7, 2008 11:03 pm

    Did the cute guy happens to see you sweating so much around your boobs? Be careful! I know the word “sans” is nice. I know the weather yesterday was miserable especially with the humidity. Were you able to solve the problems with the sweating around your boobs? 😉

  10. michjoy61 permalink*
    September 7, 2008 11:46 pm

    Dave:
    Hi, i am glad you found me so now i found you back!!! I would like to put your blog on my blog roll, is that cool???

    Ted you crack me up! And no i did not solve that problem. Well actually i did, its called Winter!!!

    M

  11. Erin Leigh permalink
    September 8, 2008 5:37 pm

    I was gone for the weekend but hear it was yucky. Good job getting out there!!

  12. J-mom permalink
    September 9, 2008 12:47 am

    Great job on your mile!!

  13. michjoy61 permalink*
    September 9, 2008 12:51 am

    Thank you so much!!!

  14. September 11, 2008 7:51 pm

    Crap, I can’t run with you. You are way too fast. And I was just about to tell that I am coming to NYC.

Leave a Reply

