Skip to content

Who is your gorilla??

September 13, 2008

You cannot piss off anybody these days it seems.  You walk outside and look at somebody the wrong way, boom your dead.  You yell at the guy who just cut you off on the highway, again boom, your dead.  What else?  If you run funny, boom, well ok your not dead but people may stop, stare, laugh…then your dead.

So, what is consideration?  

thoughtful and sympathetic regard thoughtfulness for others: 

I’m in a shitty mood.  I don’t even know why.  Today, i ran my fastest mile.  9.19.  5 seconds faster than my virtual 1 mile race.  But, yeah so what???  Who really cares?  

I get this way sometimes.  Melancholy.  I reflect on the day, week, month, year.  Maybe, because its coming close to the new year?  Not sure really.  It’s like where am I in this life?  Should i move forward or take a step back??  

Do i really have it so bad?  Sometimes i think i do.  My running can be so much better but i don’t work hard enough.  Like all you guys…training for something.  A 5K, 10K, half or marathon.  Ok, well i am doing a 10K next week but i am in no way trained for it.  Can i run it in 1 hour???  I doubt it.  But 1 hour is in the back of my mind.  It is an unrealistic goal i set for myself.  Ridiculous really.  I haven’t raced in years.  Who knows, maybe i’ll chicken out and stay under the covers.

Anyway, i need a new pair of kicks.  Here is what i may get:

  

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 8.  Any thoughts??  Any suggestions?  I have a pretty normal gait.  I am not sure if i over pronate or under pronate or don’t pronate at all.  But, when i run i notice my feet point out if that makes sense!

This weekend will be spent working on a resume, possibly seeing a film and of course running!!

I think you all know that today is Ted’s birthday!!  Go to his blog and wish him a happy 44th!!  He is a wonderful man and a good friend to me.

I am really!  I promise!!  Come back!  Please!!  After my run tomorrow and after my bagel i will be a totally different person!!!  :O)  Here is a rockin quote Ted sent me today!!!  I concur!!!

“We may train or peak for a certain race, but running is a lifetime sport.”   

Alberto Salazar

 

I’m quite sure you have all seen this video already but it makes me laugh.  I think you may laugh too!!!  OUCH CHARLIE!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2008 2:32 am

    The Brooks Adrenaline are excellent shoes and are a great neutral/stability shoe. I’m a bad over-pronator, so I had to step up to the Brooks Trance. You can’t go wrong with Brooks, and I say this after trying just about every brand out there.

    Also, enter that 10k and run it! You are ready for it 🙂

  2. September 13, 2008 12:14 pm

    I’ll be very upset with you if you don’t do that 10K. Whether you do it in 60 minutes or not makes no f’ing difference. You’ll be surrounded by other people running the same speed, enjoy the company and enjoy the day. Please read my latest post, I hope it may help inspire you.

  3. Erin Leigh permalink
    September 13, 2008 12:48 pm

    You are totally ready to run that race. If you haven’t run one in years you shouldn’t even be thinking about times. You should just think, damn I haven’ t run a race in years and just see how it goes…

    Have fun with it!!!

    Oh and I think we were having the same kind of day 😉

  4. September 13, 2008 6:00 pm

    I really like Brooks. Ran my first marathon in them, and they did great.

    I suggest hitting a running store to buy your next pair. They can make sure you get appropriate shoes based on your running style. Yeah, I used to think I could buy whatever, but it was a hard learned lesson.

    Nice on your best mile.

  5. September 14, 2008 1:01 pm

    Those are the shoes I own and they’re great. Go for it.

  6. September 15, 2008 11:06 pm

    Look pal… I will be really pissed off if you don’t get into the 10K race. If you don’t… boom.. you are dead. Just kidding. Listen to me, get up there and run in that 10K race. Don’t even think about the time. (No question, you will make it in 1 hour range.) After you run the 10K, you will need to set your benchmark from there. That is the fun part. This will give you the opportunity to see what went right and what went wrong. This will encourage you to re-think how you want to do it the next time. Its all trial and error. Most importantly,you will have a lot of fun meeting cool people at the race.

Leave a Reply

