Skip to content

Woke up new….

September 21, 2008

Marilyn Monroe once said:

I’m selfish, impatient, and a little insecure. I make mistakes. I’m out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.

So, today being the Cow Harbor 10K that i signed up for and wanted to do, i felt lousy not doing it.  Unfortunately, there were some circumstances in my life that didn’t allow me to run the race today.  I felt bad at first, then i realized that i could still run my race.  Up on the boards.

So, i set out to do 5 miles.  When i got up to the boards an old friend was running by and she stopped so we could run together.  Now when i say friend, i mean an older woman with 5 children and 8 grandchildren. Let me paint you a picture.  She is older and wiser and shit…just as fast as she was 15 years ago.  Man, that woman can run.  We ran 2 miles together and i had a nice chat and a fun time.

So, i was left to run 3 miles on my own.  I cranked up the ipod and just ran.  The weather was amazing.  52 degrees, sunny, low humidity and simply stunning.  I ended up running 6 miles and bare with me here…without Paash i ran with an old timex sports watch just to time myself.  1 hour 1 min 56 sec.  I actually may have run a tad over 6 miles.  Quite possibly closer to my 10K.  

I really felt like i pushed it, yet i still can’t break 1 hour for 6 miles.  I am not discouraged though.  I just enjoyed myself and felt the power of what running can do for you.  Lifted my spirits and lifted my slight depression.  

It’s all relative i guess.  Serotonin does wonderful things to your body. In addition to the numerous treatments for depression, exercise has become an appealing new alternative to alter ones mood. Many recent studies have been published supporting the belief that exercise has been proven effective in improving depression and in some cases has been able to prevent it all together.

Most of us know all this already.  It’s old news.  But, it works.  Running has made all the difference in the world to my emotional well being.  I truly believe if i hadn’t started running again, i’d be in a very different place.  It makes my life infinitely better in a myriad of ways.  It would really take me too long to list them all.

Runners are a friendly good natured bunch of people aren’t they?  Most non-runners don’t get it.  It’s boring they say.  Oh how uninformed they are.  Oh how much they miss out on.  To each his own, i suppose, but i will always preach the virtues of running to anyone who will listen.

I know a while back i touted the greatness of eating raw.  Oh so much has transpired in my quest for the perfect diet.  I went from 100% raw to a 1 day juice feast to getting tired of juicing to eating Ben and Jerry’s to where i am now.  I no longer eat a 100% raw diet.  That is not to say i don’t like eating raw.  I do.  It’s just that my lifestyle and cravings no longer enable me to just eat raw.  I do eat an extremely healthy diet.  I no longer eat meat of any kind and that includes chicken.  It’s dead.  It’s dead food.  Just doesn’t sit well with me.  I eat a lot of greens and that includes kale, collards, swiss chard, dandelion greens, spinach, really just about all of them.  I try to drink nut milks instead of cow’s milk.  Almond butter instead of peanut butter.  Flax seeds, hemp seeds, chia seeds..these are staples in my diet as well.  Bee pollen, goji berries, raw honey, coconut oil, fresh figs and dates too.  Try medjool dates, i swear they taste like caramel candy!! Then of course there’s fruit.  I love it all.  Persimmons are coming into season soon.  I can’t get enough of them.  The list can go on and on.

Try this..its easy, fast and sooo good.

2 bananas, almond milk or any nut milk, cinnamon, agave or honey, vanilla extract…blend up until consistency you like and drink that sucker down.  This is a great post run snack or even breakfast!!  Let me know what you think.  There’s really nothing not to like here.

Let’s go a little more hardcore:

Cilantro, Avocado, Lime (or lemon, or both), Oranges, Coconut oil, and honey (or agave). SO GOOD.  It may be an acquired tasted for some but the avocado makes it very creamy and delicious.  

You can make chocolate pudding with avocados too.  I promise its really good stuff.  Anyway, you see how much you can do with food, raw or cooked.  Either way, the promise of taste sensations can be awesome.  Experiment i say.  You can tweak a recipe to make it your own.  If anybody has any questions please feel free to contact me.  I know a lot but i also know where to direct you to get your questions answered.

So, Cow Harbor 2009 here i come!  Tomorrow is certainly another day isn’t it?

And i got ready for the future to arrive….

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2008 3:13 am

    I may have to holla at you for some of those recipes.

  2. September 21, 2008 2:07 pm

    Yes, most of us do know this already. That is what makes it so incredibly difficult for me to *not* run right now.

  3. J-mom permalink
    September 21, 2008 5:40 pm

    I would love some of those recipes!! I hope this is a better week!

  4. Erin Leigh permalink
    September 21, 2008 8:10 pm

    Glad you got to run, even though it wasn’t what you planned you got out there and did it!!

  5. michaeldamico permalink
    September 22, 2008 4:35 pm

    It is good to know there are others like me. I seem to do well with Chia Seeds and Acai when the weather gets hot.

  6. September 24, 2008 6:12 am

    so, you are running some great mileage there, missy. Are you sure you want to run with me? I am totally not worthy. If you still want to submit to my slowness and gimpy hip… I will be there by tomorrow afternoon. Planning to run late afternoon if possible and hopefully the next morning if either of those work for you. If it doesn’t work out for you, please don’t sweat it. No worries!!

    I’ll try to connect with you when I get in.

    Nanc

  7. September 25, 2008 5:24 pm

    you are doing so well…sometimes things work out better later than sooner…

    Now that I am going veggie (over one week, sans alcohol too),

    I’d love some recipes please!!

  8. September 26, 2008 10:14 pm

    You are so right about running and emotional well being. Enjoy every run, because you can.

    Here’s a smoothie I’ve been making lately
    1 mango
    1 banana
    1 avocado
    vanilla yogurt
    cinnamon and nutmeg to taste
    enough ice for the proper consistency

    I’m going to try a couple of your concoctions, they sound awesome

  9. Michelle permalink*
    September 26, 2008 11:14 pm

    Hey dude, that smoothie sounds totally kick ass!! I must try it!! I love mango so much! Also, keep a look out for persimmons!! These are great in smoothies!!!

    M

  10. September 27, 2008 4:35 am

    Wow, those recipes sound so good!
    I’m thinking I’m going to experiment a little bit with that this weekend. And I agree, running is a cure for so much that could ail me… I am so grateful that I can do it.

Leave a Reply

