Skip to content

New kicks in da house….YO!!!

October 4, 2008


TRY THE AWARD WINNING BROOKS DEFYANCE:
EDITOR’S CHOICE AWARD WINNER, RUNNER’S WORLD JUNE 2008.
        

BROOKS® Defyance :: The Brooks® Defyance gives Neutral runners the glovelike fit and smooth heeltotoe transitions of the Adrenaline GTS, Brooks® #1selling Stability shoe. Full-length MoGo gives you incredible cushioning. 9.3 ounces

So, i am terribly excited right now.  Like i said in my previous post, i went to Jack Rabbit today to be evaluated for new running kicks.  For some reason i felt nervous, like a kid in a candy shop, not really knowing what to expect.  Will the candy be sweet or sour??  Will i pick the right piece and will it fit nicely into my mouth??  Ok, i digress.  Anyway, so the treadmill was there in all its glory.  I nervously looked around and was grateful that a woman walked in right after me, so i wasn’t the only person there getting evaluated or asking rather ridiculous questions.          

Nice woman came to help me.  I sort of stuttered and said “Yo, sista i need new running kicks, hmm i mean sneakers, hmm i mean shoes….HELP!!  She gave out this laugh that indicated to me that she thought i was a loser.  Well, in my demented mind this is what i heard.  So, i didn’t hear her when she asked me how much i run, miles, days, weeks, years, all i heard was her laughter, when in reality she stopped laughing like 10 minutes ago.  

I was wearing my Brooks Cascadia trail runners.  I asked her if i could run in them on the treadmill.  No, she said.  I will get you something to run in.  She came out with a pair of Brooks Defyance.  Nice kicks.  I hopped up onto the treadmill and sort of felt as though i was on top of Mount Everest.  Why??  I don’t know.  I just suddenly felt very tall.  She was all business though and started that sucker up real fast.  

Now, here is the strange part.  All of a sudden i started running, but i was landing on my TOES!!!  WTF??  She says “do you always run and land on your toes?”  I’m all like NO!!!!  NOO!!!  NOOO!!!  So, i realized that what i was doing was an attempt to not fucking slide backwards off the damn thing.  I was protecting my ass!!  That said, i settled in and started running my normal gait!  

I stopped, she looked at computer, i looked, and what i saw made me very happy.  I was declared a neutral runner.  No over or under pronation.  Just neutral.  Normal.  Boring.  But i was happy.  So, the shoe i was running in…Brooks Defyance was a choice for me.  As was this: Saucony ProGrid Ride.

Women’s SAUCONY® PROGRID™ RIDE :: Get superior cushioning, flexibility and responsiveness from the smooth ride of the women’s Saucony® ProGrid™ Ride running shoe. Your feet will revel in the new, more comfortable, lightweight upper that hugs your foot like a glove. 10.0 ounces

What’s a woman to do??  So here is my decision.  I purchased the Brooks which you can see above.  They are super comfortable and in my price range.  Although, the Brooks are a present from my sista for my upcoming birthday.  I am now working on my mom to buy me the Saucony’s so i could have 2 pairs of kicks to switch off wearing.  

Any thoughts?  Did i make the right choice?  Remember, i am neutral.  I don’t need a stability shoe.  I will run in my new Brooks tomorrow.  I am very excited and looking forward to it.  Gosh, its the little things in life that make me so happy!!  Maybe, just maybe my right calf pain will magically go away!?!  Ya think??

No Scorpio No Passion – Know Scorpio Know Passion 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2008 1:09 am

    Will your sista buy me a pair or how about mom? hehe
    Runners we like our shoes and we like our watches. I’m giddy for you.
    🙂

  2. October 4, 2008 1:43 am

    Yeah, I got 2 pairs of kicks recently so I can switch off between them and not jack myself up so soon. I’m thinking that with a lil rest and some running in the new kicks, your pain will just go away. That’s what mine did. Now I feel like I never had any pain. It’s funny how it works that way.

  3. October 4, 2008 4:47 am

    Hey, I’m a neutral too! I’m actually thinking of the Defyance. I’ve run in the same model of Asics for several years, but I’m thinking of switching things up a bit. I’ll be looking forward to hearing how the test run goes.

  4. October 4, 2008 9:18 am

    I love your writing style. You really cracked me up!!! You seemed to be a natural writer! Must be your talent! Anyhow, I feel like a little boy on a Christmas Day just to read your post. So you are now neuter runner… opps.. I meant neutral. No question asked, I know in my guts that you are going to fall in love with the Brooks. You are going to be running on air this weekend. I support 1,000% on getting the second kicks. Its great to be switching from time to time. I am in a need for second kicks. Your right calf will melt right out to your new kicks!

  5. October 5, 2008 1:41 am

    New shoes…
    Time for a new streak to break them in. 🙂

  6. Michelle permalink*
    October 5, 2008 2:36 am

    Hey Rahn, you may be right about that streak!!! I was thinking towards the end of the year maybe the whole month of nov and dec or just dec. I’ll see!!!

    How is your streak going???

  7. October 5, 2008 7:03 pm

    I learned that i’m a neutral runner too. Don’t know anything about the shoes you picked, though.

    Hopefully they’ll work for you!

  8. Erin Leigh permalink
    October 6, 2008 3:13 am

    IMO you made a great choice. Haven’t had a pair of Brooks since I was in elementary school but those Saucony ones are the ones that have been putting me through blister hell. They feel great but are chewing up my heels like there is no tomorrow.

    Congrats on the new sneaks. That is always exciting!!

    Oh and I tagged you on my blog 😉

  9. J-mom permalink
    October 7, 2008 1:44 am

    You lucky dog…I wish I was neutral. LOL In my opinion there are so many more choices for the neutral shoe person. SIGH

    Looks like you made a good choice!

Leave a Reply

