Skip to content

My fastest most bestest run EVA!!!

October 19, 2008

So, i amazed myself today.  Nah, just kidding.  But, i did have a really nice run. 

Five Miles – 46.48

SplitsTimes
1Mile09:21:35.40
2Mile18:43:10.80
3Mile28:04:46.20
4Mile37:26:21.60
5Mile46:47:57

My goal is to be able to run five miles in 45 minutes.  Is it doable for me??  I don’t even have a clue how to do that?  Do i just run as fast as possible every single run.  Or do i do speed work?  Farklets?  Track workouts?  Running backwards?  What?  I need help!

Also, i’m putting this out there.  I am setting my intentions for my running goals.  I would love to run a marathon.  This time, next year.  Not sure which one, i just know i must do this.  I think i am capable of running a marathon, as long as i don’t get injured during the training.  I want to do it right.  Follow a training schedule.  I am excited at the prospect of running another marathon.  I know i will have a lot of support right here in blogland and that rocks!

Weezer – Trouble Maker

I’m a troublemaker 
Never been a faker 
Doing things my own way 
And never giving up 
I’m a troublemaker 
Not a double taker 
I don’t have 
The patience 
To keep it on the up 

I’m afraid i was a trouble maker today.  I was.  I won’t post about it right now, but next post, you betcha i will tell the story.  It’s crazy shit and fucked up too.  Nothing to do with my running so not to worry.  That will never be fooled with.  EVA!!!

Hope all you racers had great times this weekend.  The weather on the east coast sure was wonderful.  

Love you guys!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2008 11:29 pm

    Year from now? I think I hear the greatest marathon in the world calling you…NYC!
    Yeah, Baby.

  2. October 20, 2008 2:00 am

    5 miles in 45 is COMPLETELY possible for you. Set your goals and blow ’em down. I believe that an increased mileage base and long run is the key to faster a 5 miles, but that is just IMHO.

    Pick a marathon a year out and plan for it. that’s exactly what I did after my half-mary last Christmas. Now I’m less than 85 days til my January marathon! You can do it!

    Happy Running!

  3. October 20, 2008 2:08 am

    What a great pace! It seems that we run fairly close on our paces. I could only hope to get to 45 minutes in 5 miles. I gotta shed the “ole poundage” to even come close to that. Great run!

  4. October 20, 2008 1:35 pm

    Woo-hoo!! Doean’t it feel great to hit a PR!! Missed you at Cow Harbor (I know it’s been forever since I have commented you!) Definitely plan on it for next year.

  5. October 20, 2008 1:50 pm

    Troublemaker ??? Oh no , what did you do this time? I will look forward to your next post on this one. Gotta fill that in !!! It is no question that you can accomplish 5 miles in 45 minutes. No questions !!! An idea for you is to start building base….. 5K…. 10K…. Half Marathon…. and then the Granddaddy of all >>>> MARATHON !!!! Keep it up !!!

  6. October 20, 2008 7:01 pm

    45 is DEF doable!! Get to crackin on that speedwork and you’re golden! ;D ;D

  7. October 20, 2008 8:08 pm

    Michelle! You rock!! Your running just keeps getting better and better! Yes – a marathon by this time next year is very, very doable for you 🙂

  8. J-mom permalink
    October 21, 2008 10:57 pm

    I want to hear the story!! Like that song…I think I need it on my iPod!

  9. October 22, 2008 12:28 pm

    It’s probably doable.

    I’ve tried all kinds of stuff and I think what’s helped the most is a combination of long runs (for stamina) and shorter speed stuff.

  10. October 26, 2008 7:26 pm

    I don’t know how to make you faster except fartleks and speedwork, but 5 miles in 45 minutes looks totally possible. You only have to shave off about 21 seconds per mile to hit that.

    And you can totally do a marathon! The right training program is all you need. It’s such a fun trip to go on, the marathon chase. Can’t wait to hear what you decide and which marathon you choose!

Leave a Reply

