Skip to content

NYC Marathon Sunday – 2008

November 2, 2008

Today is the day folks.  It’s Marathon Sunday.  It’s an exciting and special day here in NYC!  As a runner, living in the city, i always feel a special bond with every single person running.  Yes, even those elite runners who can run a 5 min mile.  That can be me.  Well, it can.  In my own mind.  Only in my own mind.

The weather is stellar today.  The sun is shining and it is 38 degrees.  Yikes, i thought it was in the 80’s.  Again, only in my mind.  

The entire city comes out today.  To watch, cheer and trip a runner.  Yikes.  Only in my mind folks.  There will be no tripping of runners today.  No falling and having to stop the garmin.  Just pure amazing crazy ass running.  All shapes and sizes too.  How wonderful is that?  

I love this day.  I always have and always will.  I feel encouraged and proud that i can call myself a runner.  So, lets all root for the runners and bring them to the finish line healthy and proud.  Laura over at Absolutey Fit included this amazing quote on her blog!

 “Run the first 10 miles with your head, the next 10 with your legs, and the last 6.2 with your heart.” 

I will go on my run now.  A 6 miler perhaps?  Today, i am running my marathon!!

Here are my splits from yesterdays run:  I think its my fastest 5 miler so far!

Splits Times 1 Mile 00:09:18.79 2 Mile 00:18:37.59 3 Mile 00:27:56.39 4 Mile 00:37:15.19 5 Mile 00:46:34

GO RUNNERS GO!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2008 6:42 pm

    Nice run!
    I watched the marathon on TV, after my 22+ mile run.
    It is amazing to see us ordinary runners, run in the footprints of the elite!

  2. November 2, 2008 8:06 pm

    I read many blog about the NY marathon … I think it’s a fantastic race. I hope to run it one day in my life. It’s my runner’s dream. I hope and now I must only run.

    I think it’s also fantastic to see … and not only to run 🙂

  3. November 3, 2008 12:06 am

    I don’t see it in Ialy … 😦

  4. November 3, 2008 12:14 am

    Holy crap! That’s a fast 5 miler..
    I seen Radcliffe and Santos win it again. Damn they are fast!!!

  5. November 3, 2008 12:50 am

    Cool! Did you watch the marathoners?!

  6. J-mom permalink
    November 5, 2008 3:58 am

    Great run!!

  7. November 7, 2008 9:56 pm

    You have no idea how I was a happy camper last Sunday. I had to race back to the hotel last Sunday just in time to see the recap of Marathon on TV. Whew !!! It was fantastic. Actually, I was rooting for Kara but Paula won again. Great race !!!!

Leave a Reply

