Skip to content

Running like a butterfly…

November 8, 2008

dsc00602

So, today i ran my usual 5 miler.  I ran it in 46.42 about 7 seconds slower than last Saturday’s 5 miler.  Thats perfectly ok with me.  Because i know i have it in me.  I have to dig really deep but its there.

When i finished my run, i was just walking a bit up on the boards and i randomly bumped into an old running friend.  Her name is Monique and she is about 7 years younger than i am.  Her mom is a runner as well.  I remember vividly when i first met her, how much she hated running.  She really did.  Her mom, used to literally push her to finish the run.  Literally.  As the years flew by, she learned to love it.  

She is now a pediatrician with two kids.  Today, for the first time i got to meet her 3 1/2 year old daughter Sarah.  So cute.  When i saw them Sarah was in the middle of Monique and her mom and they were all holding hands running.  How cool is that?  Monique told me that they just ran 1 mile.  I was all like WHAT?? A 3 1/2 year old ran 1 mile?  So, i looked at Sarah and she was just too cute.  She was holding 1 leaf in each hand and she looked up and said to me “I am a butterfly” and she started flapping her arms up and down with the leaves.  Then all four of us took hands and i ran 1/2 mile with them.

It occurred to me how amazing it is to expose a child to the wonders of running.  When i was a child i was chubby and liked to eat yodels on a daily basis.  I do remember enjoying running games.  But, only sometimes.  Other times i wanted to eat a yodel.  

Sarah ran 1 mile today.  Imagine what she may do tomorrow or next week or in 10 years?  She will never (hopefully) have to worry or deal with being overweight.  She will enjoy the outdoors and seek out like minded friends.  She will never smoke a cigarette or crave a yodel.  When i think about her future and the future of all kids, i hope that running will be a part of their lives.  

It enriches every aspect of life.  You are aware of all things around you.  You take it in on each run.  You develop a deep appreciation of setting goals and achieving those goals.  Running teaches you to be respectful of others and it also gives you the opportunity to make associations with incredible people.

I am so very happy for little Sarah.  It did my heart good and made my 5 miler more sweet.  More special.  

Now, enough of the dorkiness for a second.  I just want to mark the date November 4th 2008 as a very historic and wonderful day.

Simple. Historic. Quite amazing actually. And i was a part of it. Not only in the voting, but in working the polls. It was my pleasure and an honor to be able to do that. I loved every second of being there.

I was able to witness the joy of the first time voter. And the joy of a voter that may very well not be around in four years.

I am just really very overwhelmed.  Mr Barack Obama man you did it!!  I can’t wait for January 20th 2009 so we can finally call you Mr. President!

And….

In 1991 i ran a 21.31 5K

In 1994 i ran a 36.22 5 miler

In 1990 i ran a 30.13 4 miler

In 1995 i ran a 45.13 10K

I just wanted to share!

And yes, that is my left shoulder and my butterfly tattoo!!!  I don’t remember if i ever posted that here so i thought today was apropos.

“The man who can drive himself further once the effort gets painful is the man who will win.” 

ROGER BANNISTER 
“My basic philosophy can be summed up by an expression we use in Norwegian: hurry slowly. Get there, but be patient.” 

GRETE WAITZ, Run Your First Marathon

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2008 12:36 am

    Terrific Post !!!! eat yodel ??? I have to try that ! Its terrific that you are keeping your record of your past running. Hmmm.. I should get a butterfly tattoo on my butt. Just kidding !!!! Keep up the good work.

    One last note… I am truly happy for Obama. He’s my man !!! He’s gonna rock the world.

  2. November 10, 2008 1:36 am

    Love the tat! It’s beautiful!

    Wow! A 3 1/2 year old running a mile? I’m *thinking* about putting my 4 y.o in a miler race but don’t know if she could hang?!? LOL

  3. November 11, 2008 6:23 pm

    Now, How am I suppose to keep up with you when you keep getting faster!
    I was a chubby youngster myself, and if it wasn’t for joining the crosscountry team in 6th grade, I don’t think that I would’ve ever realized how great running really is. The earlier the better!
    Love the 3D effect of the buuterfly.

  4. November 14, 2008 1:25 am

    I *heart* the tattoo. I have one on my left shoulder too, a small hummingbird. Yours is much much much much much nicer.

  5. J-mom permalink
    November 15, 2008 4:53 pm

    This post warms my heart. I am trying so hard to get my kiddos into running. Especially my daughter. I wish I had discovered running and the joys at a younger age. Rock on girl!!

Leave a Reply

