Skip to content

46 Freaking seconds…Whats up with that??

November 17, 2008

Yo, so today i set out to run a 10K.  Alone.  Well, not alone really.  I had Seth and ipod with me.  It was really windy.  Not as cold as i thought it would be.  I decided to start running with the wind at my back.  Hmm, this feels good.  

As soon as i turned around i felt the wind.  It was pushing me back as though to say, fuck you michelle, I am stronger than you are!!  Yeah, wind fuck you too!!  Ok, so you are a little stronger than i am.  So what!!

Anyway, i had set out to do a 10K and my goal was to finish in under 1 hour.  I really thought i could do it.  I kept looking at Seth.  Too much perhaps.  It distracted me.  Then at mile 3 i dropped my ipod.  So, i had to stop for a few seconds to regroup and make sure ipod was ok.

I hit 5K in 30.25.  Another goal i screwed up.  I wanted a sub 30 min 5K.  Just keep running, i thought.  So i just ran.  Well, you know the story.  10K in 1 hour 45 seconds.  Shit!  But, all is not lost.  It’s not like i will never run again right?dsc00067

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

See that chair?  That is my therapists chair!!  She sits there and listens to me talk.  For 50 minutes.  Boy, she is going to have her hands full this week huh???  Hey, do you guys think i am too hard on myself?  All day long i was obsessed with 46 seconds.  WTF???  I need to really lighten up.  I am not an elite runner, nor will i ever be.  I need to accept what i can do and work with it right???

So, tomorrow is another day.  Another day to run and another day to practice my Jazz Hands!!!

THANKS FOR LISTENING!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2008 2:28 am

    Considering the weather I’d say you did AWESOME!! Sub 1hr is definitely there when the weather is more favorable. I don’t know how the wind was down there but it’s been whipping really nasty around here.

  2. November 17, 2008 2:58 pm

    10K in under an hour, I’ve only done it once and I think I damn near died. Those 10K’s can be tough – speed and disctance all rolled into 1..

  3. November 18, 2008 1:06 am

    As least the chair is still intact after the chair was listening to you ! 🙂 I am stoked that you are doing phenomenal lately. I wouldn’t dwell on that 45 seconds. It is with a fact that you did went out there and got the job done. Kudos !!! I am really proud of your tremendous effort you put out.

  4. J-mom permalink
    November 20, 2008 11:27 pm

    Ah girl I totally understand! I am my own worse enemy and I don’t give myself many allowances. :<( I think you rock and I would LOVE to run a 10K that fast!!!

  5. November 21, 2008 12:36 am

    It’s not a race, just a training run. Dont’ worry about it!

Leave a Reply

