Skip to content

11-23-08 Turkey Trot 5K – It Was So Easy, Yet So Very Hard..

November 24, 2008

 

Just a quickie.  I ran my very much anticipated (by me) 5K race yesterday.  It was a lot of fun.  At first.  

I am so not used to racing so i made the big mistake right off the bat by starting out way to fast.  I simply thought i could do this and do it fast.  Umm, yeah big mistake.  As i was running, i felt like EVERYBODY else was passing me.  I really thought i was the last runner.  That made me run even faster or try to anyway.

The thing about a 5K, that i am sure you all know is it is an easy distance to run, but an extremely hard distance to run as well.  You think just how easy it is, BEFORE the race starts.  Then it started and i was all like OY VEY!!!  I was panting like a dog!!  Even with my ipod pounding in my ears, i heard myself trying to breathe.  

I am not complaining.  I just need to learn how to get into a groove when racing.  I cannot let the crowd dictate how fast or slow i will run.  I wish i could give you a mile by mile race report but it is all a blur to me.  

I am very very happy with my time.  Sub 30 minute 5K is what i wanted to do.  27.55.  I’m happy.

After i finished the race and stopped running, i had a coughing fit.  Then, for the rest of the day and even today i am coughing and wheezing.  My chest feels very heavy.  I think i ran faster than i am used to and it being really cold affected the lining of my lungs and nostrils.  I think!  Any thoughts?  

This coming Thursday, Thanksgiving day i will be running a 5 miler.  I have decided to just run it for fun.  Yeah right!!!  My concerns are cold weather and a hilly course!  Those two things right there could put me in about a 48-50 5 miles.  I’ll take it!

The world according to Seth:  (sorry Ted, i copied you :O)

 

 

Performance
Distance: 3.11 miles  
Time: 0:27:55
Speed: 6.7 mph  
Pace: 8′ 59 /mi  
Calories: 366  
Map

 
Pace (min/mile)

 
Splits
Mile Pace (min/mile) Speed (mph) Elevation
Gain
actual +/- avg actual +/- avg
1 8′ 35 -0′ 24 7.0 +0.3 +3 ft
2 9′ 04 +0′ 05 6.6 -0.1 -3 ft
3 9′ 25 +0′ 26 6.4 -0.3 0 ft
end 7′ 20 -1′ 39 8.2 +1.5 0 ft
Versus average of 8′ 59 min/mile

 

Posted from bimactive.com

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2008 11:06 pm

    YAYYYYYYY !!! I am so mighty proud of you. Way to go !!! See you can do it. Now now now, I am very concern about your coughing and so on. You might want to see the doctor about this and get to the root of this.

    Once again, Congrats on getting the job done with your 5K.

  2. November 25, 2008 12:33 am

    That’s a fantastic time! I don’t know where the coughing came from, unless you just pushed your lungs too hard. I agree that’s its easy to get caught up in other people’s pace. You have to just block them out and run your own race. Easier said than done, but it’s a good goal.

    Yeah for Racing!

  3. michjoy61 permalink*
    November 25, 2008 1:03 am

    Thanks guys!!

    I feel good knowing you guys are behind me!!!

    Someday, we have to arrange for a massive runners blogging meet up!!!

    :O)

  4. November 25, 2008 2:16 am

    We are so close on our times that it is scary. My recent 5K was 27:52 – which was a PR. One of these days I am going to make a trip to the big apple and we will have to run together.
    You wanted sub 30 and you ran sub 28! Sub 9 pace is sweeeetttttttt.
    Please take it easy in Turkey day, don’t run if you are still feeling tight in your chest.
    I plan on running a Turkey 5 miler myself on TD if I can work out my soreness before then.

  5. November 25, 2008 4:23 am

    Yep, you showed that 5k who’s boss. So how’s your chest/breathing today?

  6. November 25, 2008 1:34 pm

    Way to go!
    That’s a great pace, breathing not-withstanding.

    Personally, I like to start at the back of the pack. Then I know I’m leading from behind, and don’t need to worry about being passed by everyone. 🙂
    (In a race last March, I was mid-pack for a while, and utterly confused by having people all around me. That really screwed me up.)

    Hope you feel better.

  7. November 28, 2008 2:29 am

    congrats! that’s a great 5K time.

    Happy Thanksgiving. 🙂

  8. J-mom permalink
    December 1, 2008 5:48 am

    I am drooling all over that time!! Great job!!

Leave a Reply

