Skip to content

A New Tradition Has Begun – Turkey Trot 11-27-08 5 Miler

November 28, 2008

 

717 1826 Michelle Jacobs F 47 48:05.60 09:37.1

 

dsc013661

It was delightful.  The Turkey Trot i mean!  I know….paying $20 to run 5 miles on Thanksgiving day may or may not be your thing.  But, it is now officially my thing!  My new tradition.  For me!  It was delightful.

Because of my cough/wheeze thing i was seriously thinking about skipping it.  Sleeping in perhaps and snuggling with my blankey to watch the Macy’s Parade!!  YEAH RIGHT!!!  I knew that really wasn’t possible for me.

So, i drove down to Prospect Park (Brooklyn)…picture Central Park just a little smaller.  It’s really only 5 miles to the park so i could have run there, but then when i did the math, that would mean 15 miles.  YIKES!!!  

It was delightful.  The weather was perfect.  Lots of people all saying good morning to me.  I thought to myself, don’t these people know we are in NY?  People in NY usually don’t say good morning.  Boy was i wrong!!!

The race started at 9AM SHARP!!!  I mean there were tons of people still checking their bags in, when the gun went off.  I, of course was right there at the starting line.  I decided to run with my camera which was possibly a mistake but i really wanted to document the race.  So i stopped about 1 minute into the race to take a few photos.

 

dsc01355

People running (gosh folks i don’t smell)

dsc01357

People running towards me (Yay i don’t smell afterall)

dsc01358

Pretty view…(no i didn’t stop to pee in the lake)

 

Activity: Run
Date: 11/27/08  09:00 AM
Distance: 5.00 miles
Time: 0:48:14
Speed: 6.2 mph
Pace: 9′ 39 min/mile
Calories: 593
   

 

 

Pace (min/mile)

 
Splits
MILE PACE (MIN/MILE) SPEED (MPH) ELEVATION
GAIN
ACTUAL +/- AVG ACTUAL +/- AVG
1 9′ 57 +0′ 18 6.0 -0.2 -30 ft
2 9′ 32 -0′ 07 6.3 +0.1 +33 ft
3 9′ 52 +0′ 13 6.1 -0.1 +66 ft
4 9′ 02 -0′ 37 6.6 +0.4 -85 ft
5 9′ 36 -0′ 03 6.2 +0.0 +7 ft
end ** ** ** ** ** ft
 

 

Please forgive me on the lack of a proper race report.  All i can really remember is hitting mile 3.  At mile 3 it was about 1/2 mile of uphill running.  You know like running up Mount Everest only smaller.  It was hard. But, it was delightful.

I did not go into this race with a goal in mind.  I just wanted to have fun.  So, Seth said 48.14.  I have yet to see the official race report.  It was chip timed.  I did not know how to put the chip on my shoulder, oops i mean sneaker.  Somebody helped me.

dsc01342

That was nice of him.  I didn’t have change to tip him.  He was nice.

So, thats my race report.  It was delightful.  

Oh, one more thing.  I got lost trying to find my car.  I walked 1/2 mile in the wrong direction to the wrong parking lot.  My car wasn’t there.  So, i had to walk 1/2 mile back along the course.  There i got to cheer on some of the slower runners and walkers.  They seemed to appreciate my WOOHOO’s and YOU GO GIRL!!  I seemed to have called all of the people girls.  They smiled.  All was good.

It was delightful.  And being that today is also TGIF PHOTO FRIDAY i will model my new winter coat and hat!!!   

dsc01327

I know, i’m too adorable for words, so none needed.  Unless, of course if you feel the need to comment!!!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING TO YOU ALL!!!  I LOVE YOU GUYS!!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2008 9:53 pm

    Good job!!

  2. November 28, 2008 10:09 pm

    Nice race report, I love people who run with cameras (oh, and like the new hat)

  3. November 28, 2008 11:15 pm

    NICE JOB!! I’m glad you didn’t skip it!! You had said you had hoped to break 50, so WAY TO GO!! (and they were all under 10!)

    I hate being late for a race – SO stressfull!

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

  4. November 29, 2008 12:36 am

    That is a cute picture. And I like that coat.

    Great job on the race. Maybe you need to see a doctor about that cough though.

  5. November 29, 2008 4:10 am

    I love the fact that you brought your camera. I wish my camera was smaller so that I can run with it.
    We were running at the same time just in different areas same time zone.
    Oops your shoe is untied. Cool shoes!
    Another close running time, but you had tougher hills than I! BTW, good for you running back to back races. Tough!
    There is nothing better than being cheered on during races. If you are stuggling and someones gives you a WooHoo, it’s like adrenaline.
    You are too adorable for words.. 🙂
    Can I get a WOOT! WOOT!

  6. November 29, 2008 1:35 pm

    I have never seen that kind of timing chip in my life. That is one weird clear plastic chip I ever seen. Anyhow, you ROCK !!! The race report was sensational. I was wondering if that lake was your pit stop. LOLLL !!! Way to go, dudette. I am glad you are making this as a tradition.

  7. November 30, 2008 8:36 pm

    GREAT JOB CHICA!! I love how you stopped to take pics hehe!

  8. J-mom permalink
    December 1, 2008 5:47 am

    What is this winter coat you speak of? I know not what that is! ;>)

    SUPAH job on the race!! ! You rocked it!

  9. Erin permalink
    December 1, 2008 6:23 pm

    Love the hat, I have a bunch like that cause I am a pansy about my ears getting cold!!

    Great job out there!!! Glad someone helped you with your chip. I would have no idea either.

  10. December 4, 2008 1:24 am

    Thanks for your participation in the Prospect Park Track Club Turkey Trot.

    You are famous

    http://pptcblog.blogspot.com/2008/12/turkey-trot-blogisphere.html

Trackbacks

  1. The Turkey Trot Blogisphere… - Prospect Park Track Club

Leave a Reply

