Skip to content

Goal setting and stuff…..

December 3, 2008

1153909415569ndc1

As this year comes crashing to an end, i find it fitting to talk a bit about goal setting.  

I read a lot about how many miles people have run in 2008.  To be totally honest, i have never once counted my mileage for a year.  Sure, i upload or is it download all my runs from Seth to my computer.  Thats a no brainer.  But, i’ve never counted my yearly mileage.  Nor have i kept track of how many miles i’ve run on the two running kicks i run in.  It just never occurred to me to do this.

But, as i think about it and mull it over in my very muddled brain, i think its a freaking kicking amazing thing to do.  Let’s face it.  We, as runners are extremely OCD and anal about our runs.  We  are people with such attention to detail and times and training and working out.  We actually thrive on it, i think!  Probably very OCD about it too.  But, in a good way!

So, with that said, goal setting is quite important to a runner.  It is to Michelle.  

We all know about my streak.  I am on day 3 of a 32 day streak.  Now i am thinking this:

I ran a 36 day streak back in August.  I should really go 37 days this time to beat my old streak.  Is this nuts?  Probably!  I hate this part about myself.  The part that can’t give in.  The part that is stubborn and somewhat stupid.  The part that doesn’t listen to other runners.  

Another goal of mine is to run a certain amount of miles next year.  2009.  Now i have absolutely no clue what is considered a “normal” amount of miles for someone like myself.  So, i am guessing somewhere around 1000 miles???  Again, i have no clue.  I just know i will start counting my mileage on January 1st and keep going until December 31st 2009.

Also, I like the idea of a shave!  No not with shick but a shave of perhaps a 5K time or even a 5 mile time.  Any thoughts?  Is someone already on the bandwagon with this?  If not, i would be happy to do it!  

ALSO:

December 14th there is a 5K Jingle Bell Run for Arthritis in Prospect Park that i’d like to do.  The best part of this race is…we get jingle bells for our kicks to run the race.  Cool right?

ALSO:

I plan on doing the Manhattan Half Marathon the end of January 09.

So, those are my short term and long term goals.  Am i biting more than i can chew?  Perhaps, but time and my body will tell me.  I’m not so good at determining things like that.  Not good at all actually.  I may need help!!  

Here’s a good one!  Have a good day my running friends!!!

“Formulate and stamp indelibly on your mind a mental picture
of yourself as succeeding. Hold this picture tenaciously.
Never permit it to fade. Your mind will seek to develop the
picture… Do not build up obstacles in your imagination.”

— Norman Vincent Peale

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2008 4:19 pm

    If I were you, I would maybe take a guess at what you’ve done this year and try to increase it by 10-15 percent next year. 1,000 miles is a big goal many runners have and it’s something I would love to do sometime, but always have problems getting there. It’s tough to hit though unless you’re marathon training. Doing the math, 1,000 miles is an average of running 2.74 miles a day, 19.2 miles a week, and 83.3 miles a month.

  2. December 3, 2008 4:26 pm

    Extremely OCD and anal about our runs ???? LMAO !!!! That’s the fact, Jack ! True to form ! Its doable !!! Last January, I did set my sight for 1,500 and I am quite surprised that I have pass the goal and now setting for 1,600 by the end of the year with a bottle of champagne. I have no question in my mind that you can do this kind of feat for 2009.

  3. December 3, 2008 6:33 pm

    I had a few goals for 2008, and did hit them.
    One was to PR my 5k & 10 mile races… did that!
    2nd was to run a marathon, and did that!

    I’ll have to think about what goals to set for 2009 !

    You have also made me think about how many miles I have ran this year.
    I need to figure that out… memo to self…hmmm.. future post on my blog…

  4. elyse permalink
    December 3, 2008 7:01 pm

    I am unclear as to what you are doing. If you are trying to do a “streak” or if you are really “training” for races. They are entirely different things. If you are truly training for a half marathon a streak is a silly thing to do as your body needs to recover. This is nothing new, go look at any training program on hal higdon or cool running. Therefore, although your streak is something frivolous to do for yourself, it is not the SMART thing to do to train.

  5. michjoy61 permalink*
    December 3, 2008 7:38 pm

    Hi Elyse,
    I agree about the streak but i was thinking about doing this streak for the longest time to end the year on a high note!!! So, i will continue!

    As far as race training…well that is very new territory for me. I think i may learn by doing! Well thats hopefully what will happen!! Of course, i will do it sensibly and take rest days!!! I certainly do not want to get injured the beginning of the year!!!

    That would suck!!!

  6. suzie permalink
    December 4, 2008 2:11 am

    do what you must towards doing your streak but member if you have a half marathon scheduled in January you are losing valuable time to train for this race. If you begain to train in January there won’t be enough time. If you are REally serious about doing the 1/2 then yoyu should you start usiing your streak time to train otherwise you lost a month of not training in a productib manner

    My suggestion is if the half is important to you ,you will start training now,. after teh first of the year startinhg to train gfor a half in January won’t work and a recipe for inury

  7. December 4, 2008 1:30 pm

    You can do 1000!! Totally and absolutely! With all this talk about doing 1,000 for 2009 I just might join you 😉

  8. michjoy61 permalink*
    December 4, 2008 11:51 pm

    Yes, Marcy please join me!!! We can track each other all year long!!!

    WOOHOO!!!!

  9. J-mom permalink
    December 9, 2008 5:35 am

    OCD? Me? Wha the? I kid..I kid…I am number crazy!

    I already asked Vanilla to do another Shave the 5K for next year…we will see if he does. I am in FO SHO! It was really motivating for me!

Leave a Reply

