Skip to content

Keep Calm & Carry On…..

December 6, 2008

keepcalm_rug

Here it is!  My new mantra.  This is what i will live by for the rest of my life.  It is the only way.  For me.  I want that rug too but its a bit expensive.  It’s cool though!  Really cool.  Imagine walking into someone’s home and seeing that as you enter.   Immediately you feel a sense of calm and relief.  This will be a good visit you think!

So, i am feeling very exhausted.  I have run 6 days in a row now.  I do not know why i feel so very tired yet i do.  Perhaps, i am over thinking this streak.   I should just let my body do the work and my mind will follow.  I’ve gotten some negative comments here regarding the streak.  In a way, they may be right.  

I am not saying i am ending the streak just yet, but it has crossed my mind on numerous occasions.  This concerns me because i am not a quitter.  What i set out to do, i do.  I complete the task at hand.  

It’s just that i want to do a half marathon on January 25th and i need to start training like now.  If i do the streak that will bring me to January 1st.  Then i hardly have the time to get in a couple of longer runs.  I’m up to 6 miles now.  Running 7 more miles just sounds so daunting a task to me.  

I have a lot to learn here.  I am far from knowing anything really about training for a race.  It’s as though i sometimes run on auto pilot.  I just get out there and run.  Never with a thought that i am in “training”.  It’s bad.  

These streaks are just my way of accomplishing something.  But, what if on day 31 i get injured and then can’t run for 6 weeks?  That would truly devastate me.  It would anger me to the point of depression.  I would feel as though i failed and acted without thinking.  

I would also feel as though i disappointed people.  Dave from Superdave has joined me on this streak and i certainly do not want to disappoint him.  He is being courageous and strong and very cool about it all.  

I am not asking for permission to end the streak.  I know what i must do all by myself.  I feel exhausted.  No energy.  Yet i ran 5 miler today in 47.26.  

Fun?  Yes!  But a struggle too!!!  Why should i have to struggle?      

This is what i struggle with!  The struggle!  I don’t want my running to become a struggle.  I want it to continually be something i look forward to.  A part of the day that is enjoyable and makes me feel good.

So, here are my dilemma.   Should probably be a no brainer for a smart non-ocd, non-anal person.  Should i continue on with this streak?  

In the meantime, i am staying calm and carrying on!!!  My mantra for life!!!

This photo freaks me out a bit.  It is like my ghost is hovering over me!!!  FREAKY!!!  

Hope everybody is having a great weekend!  You all rock!!!

dsc01385

 


 


13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2008 9:17 pm

    Of course this decision is totally up to you and you didn’t ask my opinion

    But…

    I don’t think the idea of the streak is a good one. Your body needs the recovery time just as much, if not more, than the effort. I’m concerned that you are risking injury and will end up unhappy.

    And I don’t want you to be unhappy.

    🙂

  2. December 6, 2008 11:10 pm

    Michelle, don’t fret about this – so I think that you should stop. I contemplated stopping on the 4th due to working allday, then I really didn’t want to yesterday again because of work. My worry now is that running may become a chore instead of fun. So there it is. Running is fun! Remember that!
    For myself, I will continue to run until I don’t want to anymore. That doesn’t mean you have to.. 🙂 I have been tired, but I’m not hurt, I’m not running any races for a while, I want to lose a little more weight- this will help for me. So its good now for me.
    This was a well intentioned, very cool idea but again I am definitely not dissapointed. Don’t worry be happy!! 😉
    PS: Today I am good but next week? We’ll see.. I know you won’t get upset if I bow out. 🙂

  3. December 7, 2008 1:11 am

    “No naked photos of myself eating oatmeal in the morning.”

    Is it too late to ask for a recount on this one? I find myself strangely drawn to the idea of someone , er, um, uh, eating oatmeal. Yeah, that’s it: eating oatmeal. Nothing else; just that.

  4. December 7, 2008 1:13 am

    December and January are the hardest month for a lot of runners like us. Like you, I do feel a lot of fatigue right now. Shorter amount of daylight ! Colder temperature ! December is where I tend to act like a neurotic chipmunk. I try to fatten up a little bit as a way to provide myself some insulation from the cold weather. Its a mental thing !!! Let your body and mind dictate as to whether you can go for your run. Sign up for races in spring time since it will perk you up when the weather is warmer. I am thinking of doing a lot of short running and lots of cross training in gym during the cold winter now.

  5. December 7, 2008 2:18 am

    You run for yourself.
    A 1/2 is a great acomplishment, and if ending the streak will enhance your 1/2 marathon, it’s the smart thing to do.
    You can always start another streak in Feb.

  6. michjoy61 permalink*
    December 7, 2008 2:51 am

    Thanks guys!!!

    Right now i am still in the streak!!! It is snowing right now so tomorrow may be a bit of a challenge to get the run in but i am up for it!!!

    Dave, lets keep it going OK?

    Love you all!!!

  7. December 7, 2008 7:49 pm

    Keep on doing what your body tells you.
    If you go out each day, and it means the streak continue, great. If you go out and turn right back around, that’s great too.
    At this point you have enough time to be ready for the 1/2. You can do it and keep the streak going if you incorporate some distances in once a week. (Hard to do, but it is doable.)
    (And then do mock rest days where you run the bare minimum.)

    Either way, don’t stress about it, and keep on keeping on.

  8. suzie permalink
    December 7, 2008 8:56 pm

    but what is the streak proving? If you want to do a half THAT would be something to prove but that is going to be very difficult with running every day. You are already tired after 6 days but again it is your choice. If you have already done a marathon which you have said you have done then you know what training entails and your saying you don’t is disingenuous. There is no way you went into a marathon ill prepared and you could never have done a marathon and a streak at the same time. You are more experienced than you say so own up to it.

    You are going to have very bad half marathon unless you train for it. Trust me I know, going in without doing the mileage and getting the right rest is foolish.

  9. michjoy61 permalink*
    December 7, 2008 9:50 pm

    Ok Suzie thanks!

    The streak is not proving anything to anybody. Just to me! Can i ask you why you are so dead set against a streak?

    I am an experienced runner with some inexperience thrown in too!! I learn as i go!

    My streak is still going and if and when i decided to stop i will surely post it here!!!

    Thanks again!!!

    Rahn thanks my friend!!! How are you doing???

  10. December 8, 2008 12:00 am

    I agree with Ted! It’s SO hard during the winter months. Let your body determine if you want to run or not 😉 That baby never lies!

  11. December 8, 2008 1:06 am

    Just mix it up and you will rock it out.. don’t quit unless your heart is not in it..
    love you
    deb

  12. suzie permalink
    December 8, 2008 11:28 am

    because i agree with Lisa Slow and Steady whose posts you don’t really value it seems or answer. why am I against a streak? what does it prove? it is not training for a particular race it is running every day and ignoring the fact that recovery is AS important as running, it proves nothing, it does not make you a better runner. Sticking to the discipline of a training program makes you a BETTEr runner and a prepared runner. Running every day is just plain stupid.

  13. J-mom permalink
    December 9, 2008 5:39 am

    I got some criticism when I did my exercise streak last June. The key is to listen to your body. If you are pushing an injury then consider ending it. I am wondering if you do different types of runs each day and still count them towards the streak? Like maybe every third day do you back way off the speed?

Leave a Reply

