Skip to content

I Told You So…Don’t Tell Me That Please….

December 9, 2008

itoldyouso2

Perhaps, i am a moron.  Perhaps, i should have listened.  Perhaps.  I knew something was wrong when i couldn’t get Seth to work this morning.  Darn bezel was locked.  So, i ran for the first time without a timer or pacer or anything.  That was my first inkling right there.  Then i felt the pain.

But, i didn’t listen to my body and now my streak is over.  So is running.  For a while.  Seems i have an injured shin on my right foot.  I researched the internet and came up with either shin splints or a stress fracture.  Either way, it sucks.

I feel like a very stupid person who should have known better.  I told Ted that i thought i was super woman.  I thought i was invincible and would never get hurt.  Nope, not me.   

I was told i have an addictive personality.  So, i am addicted to running.  Nothing wrong with that, i thought.  Guess i thought wrong huh?  Now, it even hurts to walk on it.  But, walk i must.  

I cannot simply become a hermit who sits home and stares out of the window longingly as the world moves forward.   I don’t even have any cross training to fall back on.  Because i put all my efforts into my running.  

So, streak is over.  Over and out.  Done!  I will never attempt another streak either.  

I want to heal fast.  Then i can concentrate on training the right way.  With recovery days.  Lots of them too!  Perhaps, another type of exercise too!!  This cannot happen again.  It shouldn’t have happened this time.  

I want to run a marathon next year for goodness sakes.  Believe me, i know now that i was doing it all wrong.  ALL WRONG.  Now all i have is my Runner’s World magazine to confirm how very stupid i am!   Oh and all the running forums that would have told me to take a day off.  Don’t run a streak.  Oh and some of you here.  Lisa, i should have listened to you!  Thanks for the good advice.  I will take it next time, i promise!!

Dave, man keep it going if you can!  Only without pain and exhaustion.  Do it if you feel totally fine every single run.  If not, dude its OK!  You are a great person no matter what you decide to do!

So, i will keep updating here.  This is my blog, my peeps are here, my homies!!!  I will use this time to learn and read and do other things.  I just hope i do not gain weight.  Chocolate is my love.  Well besides all of you and running, then i love chocolate!!!

interesting_life

All my balloons are popping!!!  Thats a good thing folks!!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. J-mom permalink
    December 9, 2008 5:41 am

    Ahh girl I am sorry to hear that you are injured. I hope it heals up super quick! Don’t punish yourself, just move on! What was it? Keep calm and carry on?

  2. December 9, 2008 5:49 am

    😦
    I’m sorry.
    All is not lost. You still have well over a month to get this thing healed, but if it is not. Who cares? Holy crap there is a gazillion races out there, just pick another a little farther down the line. Well intentioned you were. Chill for a few days and enjoy it!
    Ice that baby and maybe even put a wrap on it.
    Eat some chocolate and fo-get-abo-dit!
    Hang in there chic!

  3. suzie permalink
    December 9, 2008 11:51 am

    well told you so does not mean much. You have learned something very important (I hope). this is not the end of the world, EVERY runner gets injured at some point. RICE, rest ice, compression, elevation. NSAIDS. If it is does not get better in a week see a doctor, stress fractures are nothing to fool with.

    It will get better and you will run again but do it smart and do it well. Streaking is for amateurs.

  4. December 9, 2008 4:49 pm

    Ahhh… Nestle… Godiva… Ghiradelli… M&M… Dove… Hershey…. *slapping my face* Like you, I am a chocolaholic, too !!! Lo and behold, it won’t hurt a bit if you indulge a little bit into chocolate while you are in recovery.

    Look at the bright side, my friend… it will get better. As soon as you are fully recover, you can start to train for marathon next year. While you are recovering, there are plenty of terrific books for you to read on different training programs. You can “tailor” your own training program after looking at different examples. This way, you can learn how to have an “injury-free” running seasons. It’s all trial and error. You and the only you can learn what working and what’s not working. I was in a huge mess and been making a lot of mistakes during my first year of running. Now, I know what I need to do to enjoy myself in the long run.

    If you like, I will be happy to email you the list of recommended books while you are resting.

  5. December 9, 2008 6:15 pm

    Awwwwhhh Im sorry you’re injured chica! I agree with Dave! There are sooo many races out there! Heal up and start training when you’re ready 😉

  6. michjoy61 permalink*
    December 10, 2008 1:17 am

    Thanks to you all!!!

    I love ya!

    Today, my shin seems to hurt a lot less!!!

    NO MORE STREAKING FOR ME!!!

  7. December 10, 2008 1:29 pm

    Oh nooooooooo! I was worried that might happen. 😦

  8. December 12, 2008 1:33 am

    Good luck bouncing back from the injury. Those are never fun. And, it’s very smart to think of taking more rest days when you come back. They’re as important as the running days!

  9. December 20, 2008 9:42 pm

    Better to have streaked and failed, then not streaked at all.
    Eh, that doesn’t quite have a ring to it, does it? Oh well.

    Probably a intelligent decision to take a break. We’ll see if you feel like doing one again at some other point.

Leave a Reply

