Skip to content

Baby Your So Fine…

December 13, 2008

inncrowdmichelle45baby

I’m so fine.  I think.  So, after Monday’s post i wanted to have nothing to do with running.  Life forever!!  I hated it so much.  My desire to run went from 100% way down to 0%!….WTF???  One day i loved to run and the next day i despised it.  Running had become my enemy.  My archenemy!!!!   Sorry, i just had to use that word in a sentence.  Archenemy!!!  So cool.  

I simply didn’t want to run anymore.  I was angry at myself.  Except, here’s the thing:

After Monday, the pain in my shin was GONE!!  My injury lasted exactly 1 day.  Yes, its just as perplexing to me as it is to you.   Ok, i am not saying there is no pain but it is nowhere close to how it felt on Monday and the really good news is that by Friday i was feeling antsy.  Antsy as in, i want to run.

So, i did something i never do.  I went for a run at 1PM in the afternoon.  I ran a slow 3 miles in 30.40.  It was really very lovely up on the boardwalk.  I overdressed, though and i was huffing and puffing a bit.  Also, my legs felt rubbery and weak.  Again WTF????   As i was running an older gentleman sped past me wearing nothing more than shorts, socks and sneakers.  Fast he was too.  Damn here i am struggling and older man ran right by me!!!

Then i thought, WHO CARES!!!  The competitive person in me will always be there.  But, i have to train the other less competitive, more laid back runner to make an appearance from time to time.  I need to find a way to run, have fun doing it and not get hurt.  I am going to run 5 days a week, instead of 6.  

No more streaks.  It is just not worth it and in the long run (pun intended) i will end up hurt.  I cannot let that happen.  Am i “Michelle, the runner”  or am i just a person who happens to run??  The age old question huh??

What do you guys think about that??  Do you identify yourself as a runner first then other things or is running just a part of your life, like brushing your teeth every evening?  Think about that??

So, today i went for my run with 3 others.  3 other woman.  We were running nicely, slowly and having a good conversation.  I was running at the far right.  I, being so unaware of things happening around me, didn’t see this but my friend Janet got bit on her butt by a smallish dog as we were running by.  She stopped and started yelling at the man with the dog who was on a leash by the way (the dog, not the man).  He was russian and seemed not to understand.  Although, i think he totally understood every word.  Janet then (literally) pulled her sweatpants down and we all stood there peering down at her butt to see the wound.  It was superficial, no blood.  The man started walking away and we sort of started following him, still yelling at him.  He was laughing at us and said “NOT MY DOG TO BITE HER”….She’s ok but was upset about the whole thing and i don’t blame her.  Sorry, Janet but i am chuckling just a bit right now!!!  Crazy poodles and their even crazier russian owners!!!

So, i ran 4 miles today in 42 min.  SLOW!!!  STEADY!!!  SWEET!!!

dsc01452

HELP!!!  I think i am in need of a peanut butter intervention!!!  It’s bad folks.  I’ve taken to using my fingers to dig in to this luscious concoction of peanut buttery goodness.  There is really no stopping me.  I am seeking help, so not to worry.  If you want to try this amazing food item go to peanut butter and Co. and don’t be angry at me!!!  PLEASE!!!

I just finished watching the IRONMAN TRIATHLON!  My body is all kinds of goosebumps and teary eyed!!   How can i complain???   I simply cannot!!!

They are all IRONMEN!!!!  Damn i love it!!!!

Oh i am thinking of doing this tomorrow:

2008 Jingle Bell Run/Walk 5K

Good cause and cause i can!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2008 12:17 am

    Well hot damn, you are healed. – by the power of greyskull!!!(don’t ask).
    Lesson learned right? I’m too hard-headed myself. You are getting to fast for me to be calling that your running slow!
    That PB looks yummy, much better than Peter Pan.
    Sry Janet, but bit on the ass is funny..
    Damn I missed the Tri, just didn’t have time to watch it.
    Glad you are doing and feeling better! 🙂

  2. suzie permalink
    December 14, 2008 11:54 am

    uhhh why would you do a race when you are coming back from an injury? Sounds like you have a bit of OCD and maybe running should be part of your life instead of running “being your life.” Don’t train stupid just train and not go out there every day with no plan and then do a race. Michelle you are not stupid so be a smart running not an uneducated runner

  3. michjoy61 permalink*
    December 14, 2008 12:22 pm

    I’ve decided against running the race!

    Logic kicked in last night. I will go for a short run up on the boardwalk, my usual route with a friend who runs slow.

    Thanks and OCD? Perhaps!

  4. December 14, 2008 1:06 pm

    You pose an interesting question about identifying yourself as a runner. Running is a major part of my life, but when I meet people for the first time I don’t discuss running. In fact, I rarely discuss running unless I’m around another runner or someone has a question about it. I have race stickers on my vehicle because I’m proud of running one marathon and other halfs, but it doesn’t mean I’m throwing it others faces either.

Leave a Reply

