Skip to content

New running friends and a sub 1 hour 10K….

December 27, 2008

dsc01476

On Christmas day i met a new friend.  His name is Chris and you can check out his running blog here.  Make sure to scroll down some to watch the two videos of Chris on the morning show.

Chris has cystic fibrosis and i will admit i do not know much about this disease.  But here is what i do know.  I know Chris has run 2 marathons and numerous races.  I know Chris is a wonderful man full of life and spirit.  He specifically told me before we met that he needs to stop and cough during a run and would i mind that.  I said of course i would not mind that.  Then when we met i tried to put him at ease telling him when i run, i spit and fart so its all good.  I think he thought that was funny.  

We ran 3 miles and just had a nice time.  He has inspired me to do something.  I want to run all 5 half marathons next year from the New York Road Runners Club.  Manhattan/Bronx/Brooklyn/Queens/Bronx.  Chris is doing it so why can’t I?  Oh i also want to run a marathon too.  There may be some other fun stuff along the way such as this Ragnar relay series.  I don’t know too much about it but it was brought to my attention and it sounds kinda fun.

Now on to something so great:

Ready???   Today i ran a sub 1 hour 10K!!!!!!!   WOOHOO!!!  It wasn’t a race.  It was just me and Seth and my ipod out for a run up on the boardwalk.  I was going to run 5 miles then i decided on 6 miles then i decided on a 10K.  Here are my stats:

My Performance

Activity: Run
Date: 12/27/08  09:11 AM
Distance: 6.20 miles
Time: 0:58:52
Speed: 6.3 mph
Pace: 9′ 30 min/mile
Calories: 734
Heart Rate:
Activity Goal: None
Weather:
Difficulty:
 
Splits
Mile Pace (min/mile) Speed (mph) Elevation
Gain
actual +/- avg actual +/- avg
1 9′ 40 +0′ 10 6.2 -0.1 — ft
2 9′ 26 -0′ 04 6.3 +0.0 — ft
3 9′ 12 -0′ 18 6.5 +0.2 — ft
4 9′ 16 -0′ 14 6.5 +0.2 — ft
5 9′ 50 +0′ 20 6.1 -0.2 — ft
6 9′ 35 +0′ 05 6.3 -0.1 — ft
end 9′ 12 -0′ 18 6.5 +0.2 — ft
Versus average of 9′ 30 min/mile:       Slower     Faster
 
Not bad huh???   I admit i feel a bit tired now but tired in a good way!!  Like i accomplished a good thing and now i feel the rewards.  OK, so i am not a 7 minute miler but still.  I just feel good about this run.

January 25th is this:  Manhattan Half Marathon.  OK i don’t know the lingo.  Should i be calling it the Half Mary? I am very psyched to do this race.  I literally have no idea how fast or slow i will run this.  I will set a goal but i won’t stress over it.  I am thinking somewhere around 2 hours?   Is this doable for me folks?  Is there a way to predict my half mary time??  I’d love to know if there is a way.

I also had a great run last week on the beach.  I believe it was Tuesday.  The boardwalk was full of hard frozen snow so my running buddies told me to meet them on the beach right down by the waters edge.  This run was so lovely.  Slow and steady and pretty.  I saw the sunrise right over the water.  I heard the lapping of the waves and all my senses were alive and alert.  We even disturbed a flock of seagulls.  They were hanging out all relaxed and as we ran by, they scattered.  I surely thought i would have seagull poop on my head but luckily i was spared.  Great run.

I am very happy i am enjoying my running.  I did have one run last weekend where i literally hated every single step i took.  I felt as though i was being pulled backwards and i barely banged out a 4 miler.  SLOW!!   But that was just one day of hate.  My love of running has returned.

My new running friend Chris really had me thinking at how fortunate we all are.  Fortunate that we can go out and run and not worry about how many time we have to stop, bend over to cough and catch our breathe before continuing on.  Chris is not a quitter.  If he sets out to run 5 miles Chris will run 5 miles.

I hope each and everyone of you had an amazing Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanza!!!   Love you guys!!!

happyholidayssssskeita

Do all the good you can, by all the means you can,
In all the ways you can, in all the places you can,
At all the times you can!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2008 10:30 pm

    The 10k was definitely a great run. You’re getting better every day. Just take it easy for the first Half Mary. That’s a lot of mileage to build up to in a short period of time. But if you start off slow enough, you will finish and not hate it. You can go all out on the next one though.

  2. J-mom permalink
    December 28, 2008 5:00 am

    Look at you being all inspiring and stuff. ;>) Way to go on that run and thanks for sharing this story with us.

  3. suzie permalink
    December 28, 2008 10:45 am

    I think your goal is lofty of a 2 hour first half marathon. That would mean a 9.09 pace for 13.1 miles. With your 10K times it is not possible YET. If you plan on doing the Grand Prix then left the Manhattan Half be you first with no goal and the other 4 the ones where you try to go faster? You might want to try running in Prospect Park a little instead of on the boardwalks all the time as they are flat. Hills will kill you if you don’t train on them and 4 of the 5 Grand Prix half marathons are very hilly including Central Park.

    Are you using a training program?

  4. michelle permalink*
    December 28, 2008 6:17 pm

    Suzie, thanks for the advice. You are right i won’t be able to complete the half in 2 hours.

    I am not using a training program at this time. Can you recommend something for me?

  5. December 29, 2008 1:50 am

    Michelle, I think with your 5-mile and 10K times you’ve mentioned, you stand a reasonable chance of doing a 2:10 half on FLAT terrain – Queens maybe. Add in the hills of Central Park, though, and maybe a better goal is 2:20. If you break that, then excellent! But if not, don’t sweat it, because you’ll be learning so much about long-distance running by doing that first half-marathon.

    Thanks for running w me. I’m looking forward to Wednesday.

  6. December 29, 2008 2:55 am

    Yes then 2.20 it is!!!

    See, i had no idea really. Perhaps i should just run it and see where it takes me, then train more properly for the next half and take it from there!!!???

    I am not a good racer. I don’t know how to pace myself one bit. But, i am looking forward to it a lot!!!

    Thanks for running w me!!!

  7. suzie permalink
    December 29, 2008 12:59 pm

    not sure where you think Queens is flat. None of the half marathons are flat. Brooklyn would be the flattest as of now as the first 7 miles are flat on Ocean parkway then into Prospect Park. but they are thinking of changing the course I would say of all of them Staten Island is the flattest as it has one HUGE hill and then nothing much to speak of. I think you should just attempt the Manhattan Half and see where it brings you, make no goals, a 2.20 is still lofty. Personally I don’t like racing myself and just go out there and participate which for me works.

  8. December 29, 2008 8:07 pm

    Terrific post ! It is awesome that you had the opportunity to run with Chris. He is really an inspiration.

    I do know that people loves to race and some people don’t. Some think of their own timing as a way to measure his or her success. Some people just love to run with the crowd and not even care about the time. It is always fun to guess what your time will be if you run in a half marathon. Whatever your time is, you can always put a benchmark on it and figure out a way to improve your time for the next half marathon.

    When I first ran my first marathon, my time was like 5:35. Yikes. From there, I have set my benchmark. My last marathon was last month which was my fifth marathon. I have improved to 4:26. Now, I am trying to figure out how to improve to 4:00.

    In the meantime, just enjoy your run to the fullest.

  9. December 30, 2008 6:22 pm

    I know a ton about CF, since many of my patients have CF. He is the first CF person that I know of that runs. Wow!!! I’ll be sure to visit Chris.
    You didn’t just run under 1 hour. You freakin annhialated it!
    You have quite the plans for next year. 5 halfs! Yikes! Of course if you can run 1 you can run 5. Right? I would love to run 1 much less 5.. 🙂
    If you were to manage a 9:45 avg/ mile over 13.1 then that would equalibrate to @ 2:08 finish. I think that 2:15-2:20 is doable. Have you run a 10 miler yet? If you haven’t then I think that 2:20 + sounds more like a proper time. Let the first be about fun/no time/no pressure. That’s what I’m going to do for my first. 🙂

  10. December 31, 2008 1:13 pm

    Sounds like great goals. I wish I could run a sub 1 hr 10K. That’s one of my goals for 2009. We’ll see..

  11. January 2, 2009 12:40 am

    Way to go on that time! That’s hauling.
    5 halves this year. No problem I say.

    I’ll match ya…I’ll do at least 5 half marathons worth of running. How ’bout that?
    Matter of fact, I’ll beat it. I’ll have them done by the end of May. 🙂

    At least one half marathon or greater per month for the next 5 months. Oh yeah, this will be fun. Where’s Ted?

  12. January 2, 2009 12:40 am

    Hey, are you on GMT now? My comment is 5 hours ahead.

  13. michelle permalink*
    January 2, 2009 1:08 am

    Ummm, no it is still January 1st here at 8.07PM!!! What up with that?

    Anyway, dude you are raring to go i see!!! I will take you on!!

    WOOHOO!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Gone Somewhere » 2009 Starting right off, with mouth speaking before brain thinks

Leave a Reply

