Skip to content

I’ve Got Two….And their both the same size….

January 4, 2009

I don’t know about you, but this cracks me up.  In a good way.  This is from the 2nd season of Sesame Street 1971.  You must must check out at 2.22 Susan’s footwork is sublime and in my opinion some of the best dancing i’ve seen in years!!!   

So, yes i’ve got two feet.  They work, i think.  Happy New Year.  Wishing Happy New Year on January 3rd is so last year, i think so lets just get on with it!

Running.  Yeah i still do it.  I had a fall last week on the boardwalk.  Second fall in 2 weeks.   I have no idea why i fell.  It was a brilliant fall, i was told.  Just perfect…Ummm yeah ok.  I tripped and fell right on my left knee then i slid as if i was sliding into home plate.  Then i laid there on my tummy for a second or two saying FUCKITY FUCKITY FUCK!!!  To myself, then outloud.  Then i realized that Seth had flown off of my wrist and was on the floor next to me.  Broken!!  Just the strap but still.  I got up, shook myself off and continued on, but i feel like a foolish fool Clutz!!!  You can call me McClutz.

So, i took 3 days off because the next day my body felt as though it was hit by a Mack truck.  Ok, perhaps not a Mack but a milk truck…IDK!!  I just hurt all over.  Then i really wanted to run on January 1st but somehow that didn’t come to pass.

So, i ran today.  Without Seth because Seth was sent back to Garmin for a replacement or repair whichever comes first.  So i ran approximately 5 1/2 miles.  Or something like that!

Here is what i am going to be doing and all i ask is for some constructive criticism or advice or both or none.  So here it is da da da da ta da!!!!   NYRRC Grand Prix.

I already signed up for the Manhattan Half Marathon.  I will be running it for fun.  That is it.  Not for time.  I do not care about that right now.  I just want to get my TWO feet that are both the same used to running that distance and have fun with it.  I think i am at the point in my running where i CAN run a half mary for FUN!!!  Then as i progress through the other Half Marys i will perhaps go for time.  Perhaps!!

Oh also, there is some sort of challenge going on out there from this man Rahn.

His most recent blog post is titled 2009 Starting off right, With Mouth Speaking Before Brain Thinks!!!  Yep, gotta agree there guy!!!  But, if your up for it LET THE HALF MARY’S BEGIN and MAY THE BEST CHICK WIN!!!!  

So, i need to get back to watching the video and getting those dance moves down.  For real, she is ultra cool.  Her outfit alone makes watching that video over and over again a real treat!!!

photo-180

I need to get into my sushi pajamas and hit the hay.  Yes i have pajamas with sushi all over them.  So???  I think they are cool!!!

“The way I see it, if you want the rainbow, you gotta put up
with the rain.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2009 2:56 am

    I have nothing constructive to add. I hope Seth is returned to you soon. I’d be so lost without my Garmin. I like to measure how far I’ve come. And a stop watch or whatever just doesn’t cut it for me. Anyway, I’m glad you’re feeling well enough to run and that you’re doing the Half Mary for fun. You can get all serious about the others once you get this one under your belt.

  2. January 4, 2009 7:19 pm

    First off, I’m actually old enough to have watched Sesame Street from when it first started! That video is like reliving my childhood. LOL.

    Running the half mary for fun – that’s my kinda thinking!

    Best wishes on a speedy Garmin repair/replacement.

  3. January 4, 2009 9:07 pm

    I loved the video and since I am an avid Sesame Street fan that was a real treat! hehe
    I’m sorry about your fall (Again) *Dave secretly thinks that she has been drinking too much of the bubbly before her runs*
    You are beating the shit out of Seth – you already killed one watch. You got something against watches?
    I think it is a great idea that you are running the half for fun. It’ll be so much more enjoyable and it will give you a good sense of “real” running times for your next half later in the year. You have a great oppurtunity with the Grand Prix. Take advantage of it..

    And be careful……plz

  4. January 4, 2009 11:34 pm

    WTH?? Sushi PJ ?? Never heard of it. Can you take a snapshot of your sushi PJ?? Would that be awesome if you run the half mary in your sushi PJ ?? Wooooohoooo !!! Maybe someday you will grace the cover of Runner’s World magazine with you running your sushi pj.

    Glad you are okay after the fall. It could have been worst. Hope Seth comes back to you very soon.

  5. January 4, 2009 11:41 pm

    LMAO! That vid makes me laugh! You’re right, in a good way though 😉 Man Sesame Street sure has changed since then 😛 Unfortunately nowadays I HAVE to watch it since I have mini ones in the house hehe.

    YIKES about the fall 😦 Take care of yourself chica! Sounded bad!

  6. January 6, 2009 3:22 am

    OK … I’m too old to have watched Sesame Street when I was growing up. I was a high school junior, then senior in 1971. But, a few years later, I did watch SS with my kids.

    Sorry ’bout the fall. I’ve been very fortunate in 5 1/2 years of running to have only fallen once — hit my knee and it was stiff for a few days.

Leave a Reply

