Skip to content

I Got Something – Finally!

January 15, 2009

dsc01528

Ok, i realize that i look like a freak.  A running freak.  That’s right folks.  Yesterday, after 7 days of stewing in my own sorrows and thinking that perhaps i would never run again, I RAN!  A 5 miler.  

It was 17 degrees so i thought layering up was the way to go.  Sure, layering is fine if you don’t wear the equivalent weight-wise, of a kindergarten class! I was sweating when i got home.

 I got out there up on the boardwalk, hoping it wasn’t icy!  It wasn’t!  So, i stretched a bit and just started running.  The sun was shining very brightly and there was very little wind.  It was awesome!!! It seems and correct me if i am drastically wrong here, but i felt as though i lost my speed.  

Somewhere, back there in the 7 days of non-running, Michelle lost the ability to run fast.  Ok, it’s not like i run 7 minute miles but still.  It felt slower to me.  But, i do not care.  I did not fret.  I did not obsess.  I ran.  It felt amazing to my body and mind.  I had just a small twinge of pain in my left thigh.  Nothing to write home about.  Or to be more specific.  Nothing to blog about.

I am so happy that i ran yesterday.  Today, i woke up, peeked outside and saw the snow falling.  Thats ok.  It’s totally gorgeous.  Well, it was totally gorgeous.  It has since stopped.  So, my intention today is to get out there sometime this afternoon for another 5 miler.  It has since started snowing again.

I am amazing aren’t I?  Oh and great news.  Seth is back home with me where he belongs.  I cannot tell if the good folks at Garmin repaired him or replaced him!!  Either way, he is home.  So, if i run later i i will use Seth to start tracking my mileage and stuff!!!!!  YAY!!!

Yael Naim new soul

I’m a new soul
I came to this strange world
Hoping I could learn a bit ’bout how to give and take
But since I came here, felt the joy and the fear
Finding myself making every possible mistake

“It’s not about how fast you go. It’s not about how far you go. It’s a process.” 

So, this is all i got for today!!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2009 7:45 pm

    WooHoo! Do you have any pain after the run?, I hope not..
    I’m so happy for you! Isn’t it funny how we think that 7 days is a long time.. must’ve felt like 7 months. 2 or 3 runs later you’ll get your speed back.
    You look great in your runningn stuff- yep a true runner!
    Damn it Stop breaking Seth! 😉

  2. January 16, 2009 1:31 am

    Yeah, way to get yourself some!

  3. January 17, 2009 5:46 pm

    Welcome back to the roads!

Leave a Reply

