Skip to content

Don’t You Want To Feel My Bones??

January 23, 2009

The Killers – Bones

 After this post i am taking a break. In more ways than one. I fractured the big toe on my right foot. In real life it’s called a phalangeal fracture and it sucks. It is a bad break because it’s close to the joint, i was told. I am wrapped up like a mummy. Tape and more tape, then a soft cast and over that an ace bandage. It hurts and i hurt. This sucks.

I was told no running for 4-6 weeks or longer. This is horrible news. The worst case senario is it not healing properly and having to possibly have some sort of surgery to put a pin in my bone. Again, this sucks.

dsc00112

I am not trying to sound like a cry-baby but it seems that whenever i am doing great, something bad happens in my life to bring me down. I will be fine, not to worry. I just need some time to concentrate on other things.

I will continue to read all of your amazing blogs and comment and being that this is my running blog i really won’t have much to blog about until i resume my running.

I know you all get me and understand. It’s a big let down. I was so ready for the Half Marathon this coming weekend. When i told the doctor this bit of news and by the way he is a long time friend of mine and a runner, he said “thats ok, you can run the other half”. He also offered to give me free sponge baths. I didn’t laugh at either of these attempts to make me laugh. Instead i gave him a dirty look. It seems as though he used every single bit of tape and bandages on my toe. Just my imagination i guess. Oh, he also gave me this groovy black shoe to wear. It actually feels good to wear the shoe. It lessens the pain a bit. I will try to control the pain with aleve or advil. Lots of it. It’s a throbbing pain. Dull but intense.

I won’t lie to you guys.  I feel horrible that this happened NOW!!  WHY NOW??  January 29th would have been my 1 year anniversary of starting running yet again!!  I wanted to run 1000 miles this year.  I wanted to run five half marathons and 1 marathon this year.  I suppose i will have to rework all of those goals huh?

BUT, it’s only a TOE!!  There are so many people out there with way worse shit than a TOE!!  I simply cannot complain.  It sucks that it happened but its a TOE!!!  I will do my best not to become fat and lazy!  I will do my best to do things that i never have the time to do.  Finish all the books i’m reading.  Read all your blogs and comment.  Take care of my mind.  Root for all of you doing races each weekend.  Plus tons of other stuff!!  It’s all good, i promise!!!

Love you guys.  I will be back soon!!

Happy trails to you, until we meet again. 

Don’t be dismayed at good-byes. A farewell is necessary before we can meet again and meeting again, after moments or a lifetime, is certain for those who are friends.

You are the weakest link – goodbye!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    January 23, 2009 5:24 pm

    Hi there, I got your site off of Steve’s and I was in the pool with Steve in a previous post so you know i am legit. Just wanted to say BUMMER. I am so sorry that happened to you. But Nobody needs a champion in january, so as much as it sucks you are going to be SO OK for spring if you let it heal.

    I bet you can get in the pool soon and spin on the bike soon as well.
    Take care and get lots of good DVD’s to watch. We can both watch Steve suffer outdoors for now:)

    Take care,
    GoBigGreen

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    January 23, 2009 5:28 pm

    Hi Julia,
    Thank you so much!!! Your words mean a lot to me!! I do appreciate you coming here and leaving such a nice sweet comment!!!

    Steve is pretty amazing!! A good guy too!!

    Have a great weekend and thanks again!!!

  3. January 23, 2009 10:53 pm

    I am so so sorry that this happened!!! I know how you feel just from the toe injury that I had which wasn’t even that bad!!!!!!!!! I totally agree that you should try to spin or figure out a different cross train while your toe heals!!! ((((HUGS))))!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. January 23, 2009 11:32 pm

    Eeee gads! I’m so sorry about this.

    You can take the time to find something else to do to stay in shape. And blog about it!

    Best wishes for healing. and happiness. 🙂

  5. January 24, 2009 12:28 am

    Hmmm… you should take up the offer from this guy to give you a sponge bath. That’s not a bad idea. I think that is friggin awesome.

    I *heart* you. I am so sorry to hear of this kind of setback you have. I agree with Julia’s comment. You might want to think about doing cross training like using the pool or spinning. This will definitely help you while your precious toe is in recovery mode.

    Good Luck and keep emailing me whenever you need support. I will be here to respond to you 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

  6. January 24, 2009 2:21 am

    Thanks for stopping by my site Michelle, but I’m so sorry to read about your toe. 😦 Major bummer. I just got back to running in October after a stress fracture in my tibia (well, more than one), so I totally understand your frustration. Sorry, but I have to admit that i kinda chuckled at the sponge bath bit. There is a lot of cross-training that you can do in the meantime… but I know it still sucks. {hugs}

  7. January 24, 2009 4:15 am

    What the hell happened??? I missed, how did this happen?
    Holy crap, I am so sry..
    Girl you have had some shitty luck lately, but that means that good luck is coming your way. I said this before.. If you are gonna have a injury make it in the winter. So feel good that you won’t be in the frigid air.
    Maybe I’m not doing so good at cheering you up, but we are all here for you.. I can honestly say that I feel your grief. As soon as you are able, hit the bike and keep that cardio up so that you won’t lose your stamina.
    Do you think Seth is paying you back for slamming him into the ground twice? just kiddin.
    Hang in there girlie and keep us updated..
    😦

  8. January 24, 2009 4:58 pm

    While you may be forced to not run for 6 weeks, your training will stick with you. Once you get back out there, I think you’ll find that you can handle things pretty well. Don’t give up on your goals – just readjust them. Pick another half marathon for this summer or early fall and set your mind to it. And you can still certainly run a marathon if that’s what you want to do. You should talk to your doctor about non-contact activity in a few weeks. An elliptical machine and a bike can help you keep up or build back up your endurance.

  9. January 24, 2009 7:00 pm

    Wow! So sorry. Can you, will you do cross-training for the next 4-6 months — bike or swimming?

  10. January 24, 2009 7:03 pm

    Oh no!! That stinks!! But you TOTALLY have the right attitude – it’s just a toe and it could be SO much worse! (that’s the same thing I’d be telling myself too.) Take the next few weeks to get better, and you’ll get some perspective on things too. BEST OF LUCK!!!

    p.s. Thanks for commenting and including your blog address – I thought I had lost it and I couldn’t find your blog!!

  11. February 8, 2009 5:44 am

    Some friend I am! I didn’t even realize this had happened. I’m so sorry to hear that. I’ve been battling a knee injury again, so I haven’t been running much and therefore not blogging much, and not reading much either. I’m glad to see your positivity, though. Take care of that toe!

Leave a Reply

