Skip to content

A Prediction & A Goal….Dare I?

January 25, 2009

M.I.A. – Paper Planes.  This video is from my favorite movie of 2008!  Slumdog Millionaire!  Go see it!

Back to running and stuff.  First the stuff.

So, yesterday i wanted/needed to take a shower.  I found 2 plastic bags and put them over my foot/toe secured with rubber bands.  Cool.  Got into the shower and apparently I was in a weird position desperately trying to make sure my foot didn’t get wet.  Well, it worked.  My foot was dry.  When i got out of the shower i felt a tinge in my back which got worse as the day progressed.  So, in the process of keeping my broken toe dry, i pulled my back.  Yeah, only me right??

Last night i took 2 aleve and both my back and toe felt better.  Ted, trying to cheer me up told me he thinks i need to use a walker on my next run.  And he said i should wear a hard hat with a head light and reflective stickers so people know to get out of my way.  I think there was mention of a pillow for my butt in case i fall.  Dude, i don’t fall.  Yikes, i do fall.  Thanks Ted for the suggestions.  

Now the running:

So, today was the Manhattan Half Marathon.  MY half marathon.  Well, not mine but the start of my 2009 goals.  So, since that was not meant to be,I decided to change up my goals a bit.   I will start with a prediction first:

Well before the prediction i just want to give a shout out to my friend Chris.  If you remember i wrote about him in my December 27th post.  He not only rocked the Half marathon today, he finished the race without running for 2 weeks prior to the race.  He is one determined man and i am proud to call him a friend….YO CHRIS YOU ROCK!!!! And, yes enjoy those cocoa almonds!!  

Prediction #1 – I will be back to running in 1 (one) month.  So, i am thinking March 1, 2009 i will run a couple of miles.  As long as there is no toe pain.  

Now for my goal:

#1 – Brooklyn Half Marathon – May 30th 2009

AND

NYRRC Mini 10K June 7th, 2009

These two races will give me my focus back.   I am thinking in my mind about  whether I will commit to running the Queens and Staten Island Halfs, August 9th and October 11th respectively.  

All of a sudden, it doesn’t seem all that important to me.  Perhaps, i was approaching it all wrong.  Instead of running a Half willy nilly and not sufficiently trained, why not seriously train for a race a few months down the line and feel ready.  And not only feel ready, but set a goal for time.  Then when i achieve that time, i will know i did it right.

Also, just to make sure it’s out there, i still want to run a marathon.  I have no clue which one or if i will even be ready for one.  But, it’s in my head as a possible goal for the end of 2009!!!

Fracturing my toe, while upsetting, may have been the best thing that happened to me.  OK, not the best but in a sense, it was a wake up call.  My approach to running was just get out there and run.  I never really had a purpose.  Now i do.  

Sure, i love just getting out there and running a 5 miler.  I do.  But, i want a little more from my running.  Just a little.  I am not greedy.  So, this is my plan.

Heal and then train for the Brooklyn Half.  What is really cool about the Brooklyn Half Marathon is that is literally starts 5 minutes from my home.  How cool is that??  So, i am psyched.  My mind is in a much better place now.

I want to thank you guys for your support.  It really means a lot to me.  I love you all.  Your amazing and great people.

funny-pictures-cat-is-confused-by-rolling-around

No, it isn’t right!!!

photo-157

Peace out homies!!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 1:33 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Glad to meet another satisfied Mac user. I hope the toe, and now your back, heals quickly. So sorry but I’m glad you’ve had the chance to rethink your running.

  2. January 26, 2009 1:37 am

    Awesome goals! And it’s so great that the Brooklyn HM is so close to home. I know what you mean about injuries and other setbacks making your rethink your goals, glad you did, and I can’t wait to see you ROCK ALL OF THEM! 😀

  3. Meechellee permalink
    January 26, 2009 2:03 am

    Cool goals! Stay focused and conquer those goals! See you in May! 🙂

  4. January 26, 2009 2:40 am

    Awesome goals! Wish I was a runner, i would LOVE to come do the Brooklyn half with you at the end of May. I need an excuse to get back home for a visit 🙂

    Take care of that toe and take care of you. One day at a time sister.

    hugs!

  5. January 26, 2009 2:44 am

    Excellent selflection! Maybe I’ll hop on over the states and run Brooklyn with you. 😀

  6. January 26, 2009 3:45 am

    I’m really glad you’re feeling better about things. Now I’m sending you good vibes so you can heal quickly. And then maybe we can run the BK Half together.

  7. January 26, 2009 7:12 pm

    Hey, Thank’s for stopping by. Cris is a pretty amazing guy isn’t he?

    I wish you tons of luck on your upcoming race plans!

  8. January 27, 2009 2:33 am

    Sounds like a pretty good plan. Hope that toe gets better!

  9. January 29, 2009 12:32 am

    It’s always good when you can find the positive in a situation. I feel that way now about my knee. Best thing that happened to me. It help meput things in perspective. When you’re back to running, and running with a goal, and probably appreciating it more, I predict you will REALLY enjoy it and do better than you could have imagined. 🙂

  10. January 29, 2009 1:11 am

    Sounds like a terrific plan! I would love to run in a race with you this year. Maybe this summer!!!

    This is an excellent opportunity for you to catch up on reading and watching all the wonderful stuff about running. This will get you psyched when you are done with the healing process.

Leave a Reply

