Skip to content

FFFK – Freakishly Flexible 5K

February 7, 2009

fffklogo

Yesterday, I read a post on Nonrunner Nancy’s blog that made me stop and pause for a bit.  First, I want to backtrack just a bit.  Nancy has been a very big inspiration to me.  She is the QUEEN of the virtual race.  In fact, I think she invented the virtual race.  When I first started reading Nancy’s blog I thought to myself “no way can I run a 10K!!!  It’s just not gonna happen.

And, it didn’t happen.  I set out to do it, really I did.  I’m so over it is the name of the post on this attempt at a 10K.  Check out Nancy’s nice words to me in the comments.

So, when I read that Nancy is freakishly flexible AND may not be able to run for a while, I knew somebody out there in the blogging community was thinking of something fabulous.  And lo and behold here is what i stumbled into: JogAmericaBlog talking some shit about a Freakishly Flexible 5K on February 14th.

From JogAmerica:

In her honor, I am hereby declaring a Virtual Race. On (or around) Valentine’s Day, 2009, we will run the “Freakishly Flexible 5K”. Run 5K (or longer, or shorter) and dedicate the run to Nancy. Write a post about it, and tell her how much we love her. Send a link to me at bvccollins atsign hotmail dot com, and I will post the collected love here on my blog. 

Now, I don’t know about you guys, but I am so in.  Even with my broken TOE, which by the way is still broken!!!  But, thats another post.  So, if i have to hobble the 5K, your bet I will, in honor of Nancy who I think ROCKS!!!

My Universe told me this today:

Sparks fly, angels talk,
time is bought and mountains walk.
How thoughts become things.
 

Haiku, Michelle. Haiku very much. Haiku. 
    The Universe

Let’s get this FFFK known.  Shout it out to the world!!!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 3:12 pm

    You know, I found out about this race a couple days ago. I was gonna ask you if you wanted to join in and walk if need be with the toe and all.

  2. February 7, 2009 4:06 pm

    I am in!!! Thanks for posting it! I will post it up on my blog as well!!!!

  3. Erin Leigh permalink
    February 7, 2009 7:17 pm

    Sounds great, count me in!!

  4. February 7, 2009 9:19 pm

    If my knee is better, I am in!

  5. February 8, 2009 1:02 am

    I want to say that I’m in, but I don’t know how my hammie will be by then. 😦

  6. February 8, 2009 7:34 pm

    I am in. How could I not be?

  7. February 8, 2009 9:32 pm

    I am so in! 🙂

  8. February 9, 2009 4:05 am

    Thanks for posting this. I’m in!

  9. February 10, 2009 4:31 pm

    Oooohhhh you know I’m there 😉

  10. February 10, 2009 8:09 pm

    Love it!!! I am soooo in!

Leave a Reply

