Skip to content

You Were Flying Free….

February 9, 2009

nike1

 

 

I had to get in a 3 miler today.  I dedicated it to my great friend Ted‘s brother who passed away on this very date.  Feb 9th.  I promised Ted I would do it, and I did.   I walked the first mile in 15.23.  Go me.  But, the walking just wasn’t doing it for me so I started running.  I thought I’d get in a mile perhaps.  Second mile 10.23.  I kept going.  Just had to.  Third mile 9.55.  

Total 3 miles:  35.42  GO ME!!!

When I came home and entered my lobby, the very wonderful gray haired security guard greeted me as he always does when I come home from a run.  Only this time, it was the first walk/run i’ve done in almost 3 weeks.  So, he was surprised to see me. Here is what he said.  “Hiya, are you OK?  Are you healed??  “No” I said, not healed, but I am very OK!!!  He then went on to say “you know when you wear that shoe of yours, its like a shackle holding you back, but today my dear you were flying free”…..

Damn, I love that man.

My stats below.  My toe is no worse for the run.  Really, it feels fine.  No pain.  No additional pain OR swelling.  And, I must say this “it felt so fucking amazing to be out there with the warmish sun shining.  I felt free, just for a little while.  

 

“Are you truly dirty if you don’t take a shower every day? No, but you feel that way. It’s the same with running. Just like a shower, running is part of my daily life.” 

 

Activity
Route: Elev. Avg: 4 ft
Location: Breezy Point, NJ Elev. Gain: +0 ft
Date: 02/09/09 Up/Downhill: [+26/-26]
Time: 07:41 AM Difficulty: 1.9 / 5.0
 
Weather: Fair
  34 F temp; 51% humidity
  34 F heat index; winds W 10
Performance
Distance: 3.00 miles  
Time: 0:35:42
Speed: 5.0 mph  
Pace: 11′ 54 /mi  
Calories: 314  
 
Pace (min/mile)

 
Splits
Mile Pace (min/mile) Speed (mph) Elevation
Gain
actual +/- avg actual +/- avg
1 15′ 23 +3′ 29 3.9 -1.1 0 ft
2 10′ 23 -1′ 31 5.8 +0.7 0 ft
end 9′ 55 -1′ 59 6.0 +1.0 0 ft
Versus average of 11′ 54 min/mile

 

EDIT:  I will not be running anymore.   UNTIL I HAVE ANOTHER XRAY AND THERE IS ACTUAL HEALING SEEN!!!! I just spoke to my running/doctor friend and she yelled at me.  *hanging my head and sighing*  I do not regret what I did today.  I flew free and I would do it again in a heartbeat!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   
9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 12:18 am

    Glad to see you running again! Hope the toe keeps staying pain free 🙂 Nice that you dedicated the run to 🙂

  2. February 10, 2009 12:56 am

    It means so much to me that you ran in honor of my brother. I am just in awe of your dedication today. You never cease to amaze that you did manage to get into a good run while your toe is in recovery. Amazing !!! Thanks once again and I am proud to call you my good friend.

  3. February 10, 2009 1:03 am

    Fit in indeed 🙂

  4. February 10, 2009 1:16 am

    YAY! Glad you could get out there and be free!

  5. February 10, 2009 1:20 am

    I’m proud of you. And I’m glad you didn’t aggravate anything. I’m hoping for good news on your next doctor’s visit.

  6. February 10, 2009 2:05 am

    Awesome job. You’ll be back to your old running ways in no time! (can you send some of that mojo my way!)

    Keep up the great work and stay motivated.

  7. beachrunner411 permalink
    February 10, 2009 4:19 pm

    Bravo. Nicely done.

  8. February 11, 2009 3:06 am

    Great job … but you should wait til the X ray to do it again. 🙂 Great thing is you know you can do it. Hope you can pick up close to where you left off!

  9. Erin Leigh permalink
    February 11, 2009 6:24 am

    Isn’t Ted amazing?? He started this for his brother and now because of his brother we all have this great person to inspire and motivate us daily.

    You rock for getting out there today. Now take it easy why don’t you 😉

Leave a Reply

