Skip to content

I Am Free…..

February 15, 2009

5kijkam7g8by4rem1epgl46h_5001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am free!!!!  Up to a point.  Yes, I am free of running right now, but to me, I feel shackled to my non-running self.  Shackled to the very fact that indeed, I can plant my fat ass on the couch and just not move.  I feel almost tied down and heavy with despair.  

Next Saturday is the NYRRC Al Gordon Snowflake 5K!!!

I want to run it.  Would you like to see some horrifying facts??  Sure, I’ll show you!

 

RUN
MONTH NUM TIME
(H:M:S)
DIST
(MI)
PACE
(MIN/MI)
CALORIE
BURN
UPHILL
(FT)
DNHILL
(FT)
ELEV NET
(FT)
DIFFICULTY
AVG
HR AVG
(BPM)
Jan 2009 4 4:31:26 24.16 11′ 14 2,813 +191 -188 +3  1.8
Feb 2009 1 0:35:42 3.00 11′ 54 314 +26 -26 +0  1.9
OVERALL 5 5:07:08 27.16 11′ 18 3,127 +217 -214 +3  1.9 — 

 

Now you tell me?  Should I be horrified??  In the year 2009 I ran 5 times.  For a total of 5 hours 7 min and 8 sec.  27.16 miles.  3127 calories burned, which by the way, I’ve totally eaten my way back.

When I look at those stats, I feel sick to my stomach.  Folks, in 46 days I have run 5 times.  That is truly horrifying.  

I will most probably never reach my goal of running 1000 miles this year.  Nor will i reach my goal of running 5 half marathons. So, of course I have to reestablish and rethink all of my 2009 running goals.

Here they are:

1) Run 4 Half Marathons

Brooklyn, Queens, Staten Island and NYC Half.

2) Run a fall marathon…..perhaps!

3) Get into a groove of running 5 days a week 5 miles a day.  Then when training, up the mileage using a sensible training program where I have enough rest days and enough mileage to help me finish a race in a respectable time.

4) Use Seth wisely.  In other words, I don’t want to be a slave to the numbers.  Makes me too much of a nervous runner.  I want to run freely without the constraints of constantly glancing at the garmin.

5) LiSTEN TO MY BODY!!!  If my body is hurting, I need to rest it and let it heal.  Nuff said there.

6) As far as mileage for the year???  No clue and I don’t care.

7) I would love to PR in a few races.  A 5K and a 10K for sure.  The Halfs are all unfamiliar territory at this point.

8) I want to be a better runner in the way I look.  Technique and form.  

9) I don’t want these new goals written in stone.  Just sand perhaps!!

10) I want to fall in love with running all over again.  This one is a no-brainer.

So, I guess thats it for now.  

I will be going for an X-ray of my TOE this week.  I am crossing my fingers and my TOES that it shows lots of good healing and that perhaps I can run a bit.  Just a bit, is all i ask for!!!

1233043000553

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love this photo!!  Calvin and Hobbs, all happy and giggling.  I can do that to!!!  I can be like that!!!

To all of you racing today GOOD LUCK!!  To all of you that raced yesterday YAY!!!!  Superdave, congrats on your 10K PR!!!

Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind. “Pooh!” he whispered. “Yes, Piglet?” “Nothing,” said Piglet, taking Pooh’s paw. “I just wanted to be sure of you.” A.A. Milne

I am indeed, very sure of all of you!!!!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2009 9:11 pm

    those sound like some great goals, especially 5 … you will do great. I hope that silly toe gives you some love when it gets xray’d. Keeping my fingers crossed for ya 🙂

  2. February 15, 2009 9:30 pm

    That is a great quote!! I AM sure of you!!

  3. February 15, 2009 9:45 pm

    Hang in there, Michelle – it feels horrifying but there are so many things that are so much worse. Get well, and then give it hell. In the meantime, try to enjoy the downtime and do something you have been putting off for a while. I’m still having lots of trouble coming to grips with not ever running again. I actually get sad when I see someone running and the sun is shining. A nice day just about kills me because I think about what I want to be doing. Still, they are so much worse things, I guess. Wait til I’m on cruthes for six weeks. Then I’ll be a real basket case. 😀

    Take care. You’ll be better soon.
    Nanc

  4. February 15, 2009 10:52 pm

    #5!! Is definitely the most important! I also like #6 hehe. That will me my ‘tude as well this year 😉

  5. February 16, 2009 2:39 am

    Yeah, I’m all about #5. If you don’t listen to your body, you’ll have to tweak your goals over and over again. But if it’s written in sand, maybe it’s not a big deal to get your tweak on. Anyway, just go with the flow. In the meantime, I’m sure there’s something that could use your attention during the downtime. I hope your x-ray is brings you good news.

  6. February 16, 2009 2:47 am

    YAY! Love that pic at the top, perfect really. You go girl, you reach for your goals chica… especially #5 🙂

  7. February 16, 2009 2:53 am

    Listening to your body is a great goal. If you make that #1, then the rest will follow. and I hope you do learn to love running all over again. And if not, that you find something else that you love instead.

  8. February 16, 2009 12:35 pm

    Hey–

    Thanks for stopping by! Hope your toe keeping on healing and that you pick up the habit again. It’s a bit hard during the cold months–but you’ll totaly get there.

    -sRod

  9. michjoy61 permalink*
    February 16, 2009 5:05 pm

    Thanks everybody!!!!

    You all rock and i love you!!!!

  10. suzie permalink
    February 16, 2009 8:04 pm

    get a grip on yourself. Every runner goes through injuries, you clearly need to find something else to do with your time and take the focus off of running. Running 5 miles 5 days a week is nuts and you will get injured yet again. Stop putting yourself down and try and have a life OUTSIDE of running and then you will meet your goals.

  11. michelle permalink*
    February 16, 2009 8:29 pm

    It’s a broken toe Suzie!!!

    Not a running injury!!!

  12. elyse permalink
    February 17, 2009 1:38 pm

    it is an injury nonetheless

  13. michjoy61 permalink*
    February 17, 2009 3:18 pm

    Yes Elyse, i agree it is an injury!! What i meant to say is it is not an injury that happened as a direct result of running!!!

    I broke my toe in a non-running related way!!

  14. February 18, 2009 2:59 am

    Damn Suzie, take a chill pill and try to be a little constructive! Anyway, I think you have some good goals here. I do think 5 miles/5 days is a bit much, but who the hell am I to suggest otherwise. If it’s you want to do, then go for it! As for 1,000 miles, someone suggested to me once to try that goal from birthday to birthday or do it in a fiscal year from July 1 to June 30. It’s something to think about. Anyway, once you get back out there, ease back into it, slowly building your mileage back up week to week, using the 10 percent rule of increasing things.

  15. michjoy61 permalink*
    February 18, 2009 3:04 am

    Hey David and thank you!!!

    You know perhaps you are right about the 5 miles 5 days a week thing. After thinking about that, I may have to change it up a bit.

    I am definitely going to go slow and build up mileage for sure. Don’t want any more injuries….

    Great advice David!!!

  16. February 18, 2009 5:44 am

    Oh, Michelle, I can totally relate to how you are feeling. All the goals I had are thrown out the window. Luckily I have a weak throwing arm and they just landed in the back yard. When the knee starts cooperating again, I’ll head on out there and adjust them.

    I’m trying to use this non-running time in other ways to benefit my running. I’ve been doing a lot of core strengthening, and I am considering riding my bike to work. Focusing my energy on this stuff has made it easier to accept this time off.

    Anyways, I hope your x-ray shows some improvement. Good luck!

  17. February 19, 2009 3:01 pm

    Girl you have big dreams! I’m know you are in the dumps. 😦 Everyday is one step closer to running again.
    Sry i haven’t been on this week. 80+ hrs workweek.
    Baby steps. baby steps – You need to take it slow when you come back.
    3 half marathons is still a big jump. Youn heart wants it, but your body may not. Take it slow..
    Hang in there girlie!

  18. February 19, 2009 3:08 pm

    oops thanks for the shout out!!!!
    I promise one of these days when I visit NY – we are going to run a race together or just run.

Leave a Reply

